We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Excellent!”
other travelers have booked this property
Cottage Complex
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Cottage Complex
Double Bedroom Seating Area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
22 reviews
Cottage Complex
Double Bedroom
Seating Area
Bathroom
Twin Bedroom
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Scarborough, Scarborough District, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 22 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
ABCB82
1 review
“Excellent!”
Reviewed August 26, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

We stayed here for a Monday to Friday break in the 6 week holidays. It was in a beautiful location and the accommodation was spot on. Very clean, welcoming and to a high standard. The owners have dogs which are very well behaved and my 2 daughters loved playing with them! The only issue we had was that there was no signal on our phones so no-one could contact us...however this is not down to the owners at all and I was happy that work couldn't contact my husband anyway! I would definitely recommend to anyone, we thoroughly enjoyed it and would certainly come again. Thank you for making our stay so nice! :-)

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
159tim10
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Short break”
Reviewed July 11, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

Just been for your second visit this year and once again found everything as pleasing and comfortable as we did on the first visit. The cottage is large and well maintained with everything you need the owners are very friendly and helpful. Peace and quite surrounds you from the moment you arrive, you happily recommend for a very peaceful relax. Thank you once again for a good break.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 14, 2016
Thanks for your lovely comments.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kittycatB...
Brum. UK
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Beautiful location and a well presented cottage”
Reviewed November 4, 2015 for a stay in October 2015

The location near Scarborough and in beautiful countryside was exactly what we were looking for. The cottage was handy for our 2 children (both under 5) as it had only 2 shallow steps and the play area is great - both children loved the swing and slide and the views for parents watching them were lovely (cows, pig, hills, fields, lake with geese etc). The courtyard area that the accommodation is based around was very well kept and the interior of the cottage was well presented. The resident dogs were very friendly.
I would have rated our stay much higher except that there were niggles with the accommodation that appeared to be long-standing judging by visitor comments on the same topic over several months previously. The grill and one of the hobs didn't work at all, most of the time the toilet didn't flush and some basic equipment was missing from the kitchen.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and scenery
Liked least: kitchen - some useful things missing, utensils dirty
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 7, 2016
Thanks for the comments, new cookers now fitted and kitchen utensils replaced.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Margaret...
Preston, United Kingdom
1 review
“Wykeham cottage was lovely and comfortable, with everything we needed for a self catering holiday.”
Reviewed July 11, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

Part of a small holiday complex, Wykeham cottage was just the comfort we needed. It was big and roomy for us 3 adults. It has everything in the kitchen to make it a great self catering break. It is in beautiful surroundings, the scenery is breathtaking and it is just 8 miles outside Scarborough. We would definitely stay here again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The cottage and the surrounding area.
Liked least: Everything was great.
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 24, 2015
Thanks for lovely comments
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LauraTier...
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great place to stay!!!”
Reviewed June 13, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

This is the second time we have stayed at these cottages, came with my 1 year old son and mam, cottage and surroundings is just beautiful, great location to explore nearby attractions
Will 100% be returning for our yearly visit in 2016!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 24, 2015
Lovely comments thank you
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pebblesro...
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic!”
Reviewed February 24, 2015 for a stay in February 2015

We had a fantastic short break, and want to return for more. Our accommodation was excellent, clean and comfortable, the directions to get there were very clear, and the property owner was friendly and helpful.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: The space
Liked least: Could have done with more utensils etc in the kitchen
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 24, 2015
Thanks for your lovely comments
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
662LauraL...
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Just what we needed.”
Reviewed January 25, 2015 for a stay in August 2014

We stayed in the cottage next door the previous summer and knew this would be just as good. We were not disappointed, great base to explore the area with little ones. The cottage is so spacious and clean! Everything you could need is there and the friendly owners are just across the courtyard if you have any problems. Lovely little park onsite which the kids enjoyed and they especially loved the farm dog who came across to play most days :-) going to book again for the coming summer holidays.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Peace and quiet, space and cleanliness
Liked least: Double bed mattress was a little hard for my liking.
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 26, 2015
Thanks for your lovely comments, look forward to seeing you back again this summer.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing