We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Just what we wanted.”
other travelers have booked this property
Holiday Cottage Complex
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Holiday Cottage Complex
The Cottages from the outside - the cottages are in a L Shape with a courtyard in the middle Kitchen area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
21 reviews
Holiday Cottage Complex
The Cottages from the outside - the cottages are in a L Shape with a courtyard in the middle
Kitchen area
Breakfast Bar
Bathroom
Twin Bedroom
Sitting Area
Master Bedroom
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Scarborough, Scarborough District, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 21 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
timbosys
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
37 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Just what we wanted.”
Reviewed May 30, 2017 for a stay in May 2017
2
people found this review helpful

Set in a beautiful location the accommodation was just what we wanted. Beauty, quietness, wildlife. House Martin's flying just over your head, the distant honk of geese. You will be greeted on occasions by the owners dogs who are lovely and gentle. We booked the outdoor hot tub this was amazing and relaxing with a great view. The accommodation was great. TV, dishwasher,fridge, washing machine/dryer. The exposed beams have the property a hint of it's age.
A maximum of 30 drive will see you at standard, Robinson's bay,Whitby, Scarborough. Or you can forget the driving and just explore the area on foot. We would love to return.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 4, 2017
Thank you for lovely comments.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wymondham, United Kingdom
Reviewed August 27, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: everything
Liked least: nothing
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Lesley718
1 review
“Beautiful”
Reviewed July 16, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

Hardwick house was a lovely location to use to see round the Yorkshire coast. We all enjoyed the serenity of it and the peace it brought after a full day sight seeing. The only issue was there was no service for mobiles which made keeping in touch with family at home a lot more awkward. On the whole the experience staying in harwood dale brought to the holiday was positive

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 16, 2016
Thanks for the response, unfortunately the mobile signal problem is out of our control.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kazgraz
Widnes, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Lovely little cottage to get off grid”
Reviewed May 29, 2016 for a stay in May 2016

We stayed here with our 5 month old baby. The cottage has an open plan living room / kitchen which was a great size, with 2 rooms upstairs and travel cot provided. A really nice touch of a welcome gift was much appreciated, and a folder with information on local eating places. Washing machine was much needed ( thanks to our baby) and the kitchen was well stocked with most of what you would need, aside from ingredients.

The location is in stunning surroundings, with Whitby and Scarborough less than 30 minutes drive away and Dalby forest on your doorstep, though be prepared for some hair raising roads.

There is no phone signal and no wifi here (though a note says that wifi is coming). This is in a way quite pleasant but something to prepare for. Our only dropped star is for a few little details, like a temperamental shower (not always hot), the provision of just 2 toilet rolls (am sure we could have asked for more with no issues but felt a little awkward about it), and no hand wash or soap so an emergency trip to supermarket required (again thanks to the baby we need to wash our hands a lot!) We also couldn't make the most of the surroundings as the roads were not safe for buggies and there was no way to walk anywhere except the road.

In all we had a pleasant stay. It would have been nice to meet the owners as we'd have picked their brains but they weren't in when we knocked. I'm sure if we had put more effort in we would have caught them.

I can see this being a great place to stay for couples and young families.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 14, 2016
Thank you for your comments
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stewart B
1 review
“great stay had by all”
Reviewed August 10, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

this was a lovely cottage superb surroundings very peaceful location had our 11month old grandson with us as well as our son and daughter in law and there was everything we needed for our stay. went to Whitby and York for a day also went on one of the walks we all had a very good holiday would go back again

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the area it was so peaceful
Liked least: flies
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 24, 2015
Lovely Comments - Thank you
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jameschri...
Middlebury, Connecticut
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Proper Yorkshire at its best!”
Reviewed July 16, 2015 for a stay in June 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Really enjoyed our wonderful stay in Dalby Cottage. Perfect location for exploring into the North York Moors. The cottage is in a small complex of cottages and close to the main house on a working farm. Let me say a picture perfect farm with lots of fresh air and wonderful scenery. Highly recommend to families, couples and everyone who wishes to get a true taste of Yorkshire. No wi-fi, but we actually found that to be a plus.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Outside areas
Liked least: spider webs on wooden beams
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 24, 2015
Lovely comments - thank you
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dennismen...
Gainsborough, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“High quality accommodation in an ideal location”
Reviewed April 7, 2015 for a stay in April 2015
1
person found this review helpful

This cottage is fairly isolated but within easy distance of the coastal villages and woodland walks. The isolation means it's nice and quiet and very peaceful. The cottage itself is warm and clean with very comfortable sofas. Kitchen is well equipped. The grounds are well maintained and has an upmarket feel. There's a new looking children's play area and picnic bench which was great.

The only negatives I have is that the bed was very firm which I found uncomfortable, but that's just preference. The shower could do with updating, but hot water so it did the job. There's no wifi and no phone signal either, so be prepared for that!

Overall, I would stay again as the standard of accommodation was excellent and location was ideal for exploring the area.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The sofas.
Liked least: The bed.
Traveling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 8, 2015
Thank you for your comments, we are working on the Wifi issue.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing