We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Proper Yorkshire at its best!”
other travelers have booked this property
Holiday Cottage Complex
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Holiday Cottage Complex
The Cottages from the outside - the cottages are in a L Shape with a courtyard in the middle Kitchen area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
24 reviews
Holiday Cottage Complex
The Cottages from the outside - the cottages are in a L Shape with a courtyard in the middle
Kitchen area
Breakfast Bar
Bathroom
Twin Bedroom
Sitting Area
Master Bedroom
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Scarborough, Scarborough District, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 24 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
jameschri...
Middlebury, Connecticut
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Proper Yorkshire at its best!”
Reviewed July 16, 2015 for a stay in June 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Really enjoyed our wonderful stay in Dalby Cottage. Perfect location for exploring into the North York Moors. The cottage is in a small complex of cottages and close to the main house on a working farm. Let me say a picture perfect farm with lots of fresh air and wonderful scenery. Highly recommend to families, couples and everyone who wishes to get a true taste of Yorkshire. No wi-fi, but we actually found that to be a plus.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Outside areas
Liked least: spider webs on wooden beams
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 24, 2015
Lovely comments - thank you
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dennismen...
Gainsborough, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“High quality accommodation in an ideal location”
Reviewed April 7, 2015 for a stay in April 2015
1
person found this review helpful

This cottage is fairly isolated but within easy distance of the coastal villages and woodland walks. The isolation means it's nice and quiet and very peaceful. The cottage itself is warm and clean with very comfortable sofas. Kitchen is well equipped. The grounds are well maintained and has an upmarket feel. There's a new looking children's play area and picnic bench which was great.

The only negatives I have is that the bed was very firm which I found uncomfortable, but that's just preference. The shower could do with updating, but hot water so it did the job. There's no wifi and no phone signal either, so be prepared for that!

Overall, I would stay again as the standard of accommodation was excellent and location was ideal for exploring the area.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The sofas.
Liked least: The bed.
Traveling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 8, 2015
Thank you for your comments, we are working on the Wifi issue.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
M8rclot
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great Place to Stay”
Reviewed October 1, 2014 for a stay in August 2014

We had an excellent time at Dalby Cottage. The accommodation was very clean, well equiped and well presented and to a really good standard. The cottage is excellently located in a nice quiet rural area within a short drive to scarborough, Whitby and surrounding area which makes a great base to stay.

If your taking small children / toddlers I'd recommend taking a stair gate and a bed guard due to the stairs to the bedrooms ( we went prepared ! :o) )

Not really any negatives, but as others have said there is no mobile phone signal or wifi so do any internet research before you go for places to stay and trips out etc..

We would love to stay again and hope to book up for next year!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 23, 2014
Thank you for your comments and we are hoping to get broadband fitted this winter so hopefully it won't be a problem for much longer. Thanks again
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kipling68
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
“excellent place to stay”
Reviewed September 23, 2014 for a stay in September 2014

Lovely cottage to stay in ideal location for travelling to Scarborough and Whitby only little gripe was only contact with the staff was with the cleaner who was very helpful

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 23, 2014
Apologies that you felt the staff weren't present. We do live on site and do not have any problems with you popping over to ask questions. We do also try and welcome guest personally but obviously this was not the case with yourselves and I am sorry about this.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MollieCol...
Leicestershire
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Hidden treasure - perfect location, perfect accommodation.”
Reviewed July 25, 2014 for a stay in July 2014

We have just returned from a perfect holiday with our two granddaughters aged 4 and 9. Dalby Cottage provided us with the ideal place to stay. It was spotlessly clean and exceptionally well furnished with everything we needed for a family holiday, from plenty of cooking equipment, to games and books for the children. The surroundings are breathtaking with views from every window. The owners are extremely friendly and accommodating and are happy for the children to enjoy the fields and help with the animals. Porker the pig was a huge hit with our granddaughters! We especially enjoyed the company of Oscar and Ronnie the family dogs who provided us with daily entertainment. The accommodation is well placed for popping into Whitby or Scarborough whilst giving the peace and sanctuary of the countryside. The hot tub adds that touch of luxury which makes you feels that you are somewhere very special. We will definitely return - In fact the owners struggled to get rid of us as we said extra nights!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Extremely well maintained and spotlessly clean
Liked least: There is nothing I would change -even lack of phone signal was a welcome relief.
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 28, 2014
Thank you for a lovely review, we look forward to welcoming you back xxx
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jayne687
Sheffield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“We will be going again”
Reviewed June 25, 2014 for a stay in June 2014

The accommodation was excellent, it was quiet and the area was picturesque, the place was ideal for visiting different places and we will be going again

Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 3, 2014
Thank you for your comments
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ralph k
bangkok
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“absolutely fantastic”
Reviewed June 15, 2014 for a stay in June 2014

absolutely fantastic. quiet with wonderful views yet close to whitby and scarborough. a real bargain!

Traveling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 30, 2014
Thanks for your lovely comments
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing