We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Sunday meal”
Review of Crown Tavern

Crown Tavern
Ranked #152 of 355 Restaurants in Scarborough
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children, Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Yorkshire Dales National Park, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Sunday meal”
Reviewed March 16, 2014 via mobile

Table booked for early evening meal, staff very nice,we were shown to our table then orderd our meal 50 mins later our meal came although pub not to busy, beef sad to say,,, plastic,,,veg hot ok tho.have worked in catering for years so was not picking just disapointing. Sorry crown tavern won't eat there again

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank catherine d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    54
    25
    8
    13
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sedgefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Lovely Lunch with Good Service”
Reviewed December 6, 2013

Called into the Crown Tavern today for lunch on our way to Scarborough Hospital, the place itself is very warm and cosy with a lovely ambience. I ordered the Roasted Pepper Spiral Pasta dish which comes with a tomato and mascarpone sauce, my mum ordered from the light bites, breaded mushrooms and then ham, egg and chips both dishes for £4.35 ish, My pasta was cooked to perfection with plenty of sauce, the dish comes with a side salad and garlic bread and tasted fantastic. My mum's dish was huge, considering it was from the light bite section, 2 slices ham, 2 eggs and fresh cooked chips. I would recommend this restaurant to anyone in the area or who is visiting the hospital, the staff are very nice too and make sure you have everything you require and clearing the table as soon as we had finished. The best Marston's I have ever eaten in. Thank you to all staff and chefs

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 334Dandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“New Menu Launch”
Reviewed November 1, 2013

Visited the crown yet again to sample the new menu launch, I was a bit pensive a previous visit was not to expectations mixed grill was ok but the gammon was inedible too gristly and tough but the steak and chicken made up for it.
Any way back to visit,I think a new chef is there I had the 16oz steak it was cooked to perfection no tough/gristly bits battered onions were soft and tasty plenty to eat should have taken photo of plate only gravy marks left. First class. May try the 32oz next. Watch this space

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mossy1947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“good value pub food”
Reviewed October 1, 2013

Visited Scarbrough at August Bank Holiday, so a busy time, got a seat quickly. Good selection of reasonably priced food catering to most tastes. Food arrived in reasonable time all was well cooked, in particular I had a steak which was excellent ( especially for £7!) four of us had a wide selection ( steak, pie, fish & chips & curry) all were tasty & excellent value. Will definitely visit again when next in Scarbrough.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gillian P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stansted
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“basic good food”
Reviewed August 26, 2013

Carvery, good value. Was quite busy and a bit too warm inside, but food was good and fresh. There's a nice garden with some play equipment for the kids

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank katstansted
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Crown Tavern also viewed

Scarborough, Scarborough District
Scarborough, Scarborough District
 
Scarborough, Scarborough District
Scarborough, Scarborough District
 
Scarborough, Scarborough District
Scarborough, Scarborough District
 

Been to Crown Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing