We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Jessie j” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of North Bay Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
North Bay Guest House
Ranked #5 of 184 Scarborough B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Darlington
1 review
“Jessie j”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2014

We stayed here overnight when attending the Jessie j concert at the open air theatre wed 25th June . The owners were lovely and very helpfull .the rooms and surrounding were very well done,modern and very clean ! Great location for the north bay and open air theatre !

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Junemc10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

399 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    376
    19
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
76
195
30
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Beverley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2014

I booked a ground floor room for myself and 90yr old Mum, and was really impressed that Gillian, the owner, went out of her way to move another guest for us; unfortunately, on arrival, they didn't seem to be expecting us, and the room had been given to the original guest, so we had to climb two steep flights of stairs (not good for my Mum) to the very small twin room (no wardrobe or chair/stool, and the shower room is tiny). It was very quiet - apart from the all-night seagulls (!) and the beds very comfy. The owners are extremely friendly and helpful, parking is easy and plentiful (not sure what it would be like in high season), the breakfast was excellent (plenty of lovely fresh fruit and coffee) and - huge bonus and thumbs up - it was the cleanest place I have ever stayed in. It was fine for 2 nights - but not for any longer in that room.

Room Tip: The twin room is small but adequate for a short stay (extremely small shower room with no space to h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Louise293
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2014

from arriving to leaveing gillian and john were the most excellent hosts we have ever met.gillian greeted us at the door,made us a hot drink and sat talking to us before showing us to our room,which was nicely decorated and spotlessley clean as was the place its self.This lovely couple cannot do enough for you to make your stay enjoyable.Breakfast plentifull eat as much as you like both john and gillian always asking if they can get you anything else.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sharon r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2014 via mobile

Just stayed one night, to break up the long journey home. The welcome greeting and offer of a cup of tea reveals thoughtfulness by the host, Gillian. The decoration and finishing touches of the guest bedrooms, lounge and breakfast area was of an excellent standard. A quality breakfast with selection of choices set us up for another long day of driving. As a B&B it is certainly worth returning too, providing a standard of professionalism with the touches of a comfortable home.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Gill B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2014

We stayed for two nights and cannot fault a thing. The en suite bedroom was gorgeous and the bed was like sleeping on a massive cloud (i kid you not).

The owners were so welcoming and lovely, even going beyond expectations at times.

the breakfast was delicious and HUGE - no complaints from the hubby there :-)

We were so relaxed during our stay. Cannot praise them highly enough. Wouldn't stay anywhere else and will be bringing our toddler with us next time to make use of the gorgeous family room!!

Thanks to both owners for everything

Kate and Andy xx

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Quigleys135
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Monmouth, New Jersey
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2014

I haven't been to Scarborough in years because I now live in New Jersey, USA, so it's really rare I visit the seaside when I come back. I was enchanted by this really nice guesthouse. It's newly renovated and the owners can't do enough for you. It's in a very quiet part of town, away from all the hustle and bustle, so you can really relax. The full English breakfast was amazing - the whole experience is highly recommended.

Room Tip: I had a room at the top of the stairs - well worth the climb!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BMSinger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matlock, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2014

Was a really enjoyable stay for me and my friends. So friendly felt like being at home the bnb was stunning and very clean breakfast was lovly leaving you very full. Be stoping there again the location was perfect. We found everything we was looking for. The price was very reasonable. Thankyou for our stay.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bethyrose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
0.8 mi away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#6 of 28 in Scarborough
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,513 reviews
0.6 mi away
Premier Inn Scarborough Hotel
0.0 mi away
The Toulson Court
The Toulson Court
#1 of 184 in Scarborough
5.0 of 5 bubbles 665 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
St Michael's Guest House
St Michael's Guest House
#2 of 184 in Scarborough
5.0 of 5 bubbles 863 reviews
0.2 mi away
Leeway Hotel
Leeway Hotel
#3 of 184 in Scarborough
5.0 of 5 bubbles 375 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Helaina
The Helaina
#9 of 184 in Scarborough
5.0 of 5 bubbles 469 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to North Bay Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about North Bay Guest House

Property: North Bay Guest House
Address: 137 Columbus Ravine, Scarborough YO12 7QZ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 184 B&Bs / Inns in Scarborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — North Bay Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Run by Gillian and John, this family-friendly guest house is situated in the scenic North Bay of Scarborough. It has been newly redecorated throughout, to a very high standard. The rooms enjoy a flat-screen television with incorporated freeview and DVD-playing capability, free wi-fi, and there are facilities for making tea and coffee. Every room has its own en-suite shower room, with complimentary toiletries included, and is centrally heated. Breakfast will be served in the elegant dining area on the ground floor from 8am daily, offering a freshly cooked English breakfast customized to your preferences, with fresh fruit, cereals and hot and cold beverages. There is a large flat screen television in the comfortable adjoining lounge area with free Wi-fi access. The North Bay Guest House is located within easy walking distance of many varied leisure activities - the beach and Peaseholm Park are literally at the end of the road and there are plenty of opportunities for walking and hiking. Scarborough has a bustling town centre, with modern shopping centres alongside some more eclectic and traditional specialist shops. There are numerous restaurants, cafes, bars and public houses of all descriptions - it's not all just about fish and chips! Alongside cinemas and theatres, there are historical points of note including Scarborough Castle, St. Mary's Church and Anne Bronte’s grave, local museums and galleries. For those interested in sport, close to The North Bay Guest House are the grounds of Scarborough Cricket Club, North Cliff bowling club and Alexandra Bowls Centre (indoor and outdoor bowling catered for) and an indoor heated swimming pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your North Bay Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing