We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely b&b ”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
North Bay Guest House
Ranked #5 of 183 Scarborough B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Gateshead
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A lovely b&b ”
Reviewed April 8, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for one night and were very impressed. A very welcoming and friendly atmosphere, room was exceptionally clean and very comfortable. Also was a good size for a family room, loads of space. Breakfast was excellent, lots of choice. Would definitely recommend and will be looking at booking again in the summer.

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicola M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

430 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    406
    20
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
90
205
30
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed April 4, 2014

The breakfast was superb, everything was fresh, bedroom spotless, friendly atmosphere; the owners were very nice and helpful. Would definitely recommend it! Our two night stay was fabulous regardless of the weather!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 662Maureen1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed April 1, 2014

could not have chosen a better b/b to stay at
we came with friends for a weekend break and
Gillian and john could not have been better hosts
breakfast was excellent and we definitely would
recommend people to stay here

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alan m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2014

We stayed at the above for two nights recently and were made most welcome on arrival by Gillian & John with a pot of tea. Everything was exactly as described and very clean and comfortable. Good selection at breakfast and if I were coming back to Scarborough would definitely stay again

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jilly06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed March 26, 2014

I am a sceptic when it came to the reviews on trip advisor. I am now a convert.
The welcome was extremly warm and welcoming. The accomodation was excellent. The breakfast and hospitality was second to none.
All the guests were friendly and inclusive.
This is definately one place i am keeping secret and will return there very soon.
Well done John and Gillian. I went to Scarborough feeling cream crackered came away rejuvinated.
I enjoyed every minute.

Room Tip: the rooms on the top floor is quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rose W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MIDDLESBROUGH
Level Contributor
56 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2014

I read a lot of reviews about North Bay Guest House prior to taking my wife and in retrospect I have to agree that all the previous good reviews were absolutely correct. John and Gillian (and family!) are clearly doing something right and doing a great job.
The rooms are modern and spotless, hosts welcoming and friendly and the breakfast was brilliant - good quality ingredients and ample portions speak for themselves!
This guest house is excellent value for money - I have seen and visited a lot of 1960's B & B's decorated in 'shabby chic' or otherwise known as car boot style which charge the same as North Bay which is clean, tastefully decorated and run by welcoming people who enjoy what they are doing.
If this was on Four in a Bed I would have paid in excess of the asking price!
I will not hesitate in recommending this place to family and friends.
Well done and keep up the good work and high standards.
P.S. I am not related to Gillian or John! It really was that good!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JOHNMOORE180
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2014 via mobile

Myself and partner stayed at north bay over night and I can honestly say we loved it! Felt right at home. It's close to shops and not too far away from the beach either. We are defiantly returning in the summer! Would recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tylalyman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
0.8 mi away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#6 of 28 in Scarborough
4,789 reviews
0.3 mi away
Park Manor Hotel
Park Manor Hotel
#5 of 28 in Scarborough
832 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Toulson Court
The Toulson Court
#1 of 183 in Scarborough
726 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Leeway Hotel
Leeway Hotel
#3 of 183 in Scarborough
384 reviews
0.0 mi away
St Michael's Guest House
St Michael's Guest House
#2 of 183 in Scarborough
908 reviews
0.1 mi away
Atlanta Hotel
Atlanta Hotel
#4 of 183 in Scarborough
268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to North Bay Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about North Bay Guest House

Property: North Bay Guest House
Address: 137 Columbus Ravine, Scarborough YO12 7QZ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 183 B&Bs / Inns in Scarborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — North Bay Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Run by Gillian and John, this family-friendly guest house is situated in the scenic North Bay of Scarborough. It has been newly redecorated throughout, to a very high standard. The rooms enjoy a flat-screen television with incorporated freeview and DVD-playing capability, free wi-fi, and there are facilities for making tea and coffee. Every room has its own en-suite shower room, with complimentary toiletries included, and is centrally heated. Breakfast will be served in the elegant dining area on the ground floor from 8am daily, offering a freshly cooked English breakfast customized to your preferences, with fresh fruit, cereals and hot and cold beverages. There is a large flat screen television in the comfortable adjoining lounge area with free Wi-fi access. The North Bay Guest House is located within easy walking distance of many varied leisure activities - the beach and Peaseholm Park are literally at the end of the road and there are plenty of opportunities for walking and hiking. Scarborough has a bustling town centre, with modern shopping centres alongside some more eclectic and traditional specialist shops. There are numerous restaurants, cafes, bars and public houses of all descriptions - it's not all just about fish and chips! Alongside cinemas and theatres, there are historical points of note including Scarborough Castle, St. Mary's Church and Anne Bronte’s grave, local museums and galleries. For those interested in sport, close to The North Bay Guest House are the grounds of Scarborough Cricket Club, North Cliff bowling club and Alexandra Bowls Centre (indoor and outdoor bowling catered for) and an indoor heated swimming pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire and Priceline so you can book your North Bay Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing