We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great place to stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of North Bay Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
North Bay Guest House
Ranked #5 of 184 Scarborough B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“great place to stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2014

We Had a great 2 nights at north bay guest house gill n john made us fell most welcome. its like home from home, we have already booked 3 more stays.The breakfast is amazing and nothing is is to much trouble.the rooms are all lovely,clean and comfortable.we will be back soon.its only 5mins walk to the scarborough open air theatre.

Room Tip: all the rooms are lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank weally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

398 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    375
    19
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
75
195
30
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2014 via mobile

I have had the best experience staying with Jillian and John very wonderful people make you feel at home. Accommodate you as soon as you walk through there door make you feel as if you were at home.They accommodate you with one of the best breakfast I've been offered. Room is very warm and cosy very comfortable bed and very clean, they have a very lovely home. I lucked out when I picked this bed and breakfast best bed and breakfast I highly recommend staying here.. Very comforting offer tea and coffee any time I'm around, looked after my car when forgot to put a park pass on it, this couple would do anything to make you feel welcome...

Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Clematis65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2014

From the moment we walked into the Guest House we knew it was going to be a wonderful stay. We were greeted by a very friendly Jonh who made us feel very welcome. We were experience sun instead of the usual rain so John knew we wanted to drop off our belongings and make most of the day. John asked us what time we wanted breakfast which was a great change to the regimentle B & B's we have visited in the past, then he showed us to our very comfortable and airey clean room. The room was very homely decorated. We were left to unpack and settle in. The guest house is a five minuite walk from the town centre and the beach front. There is lots of eating places and public houses on your walk. After a short walk into town to find our bearings we returned back to freshen up.The water was hot and the towels were soft and smelt divine. We thought we were the only guests as we had not heard anyone else moving around.We slept so peacefully. We went down to breakfast and found that they were fully booked.
Gillian greeted us with a friendly smile and showed us to a beautiful set table. We were told to help ourselves to fresh fruit, cereal and lots of various yoghurts. On the table fresh juice was provided. The breakfast that was served to us was fast and plentlyful with a variety of toasted bread, tea or coffee.
This Guest House is well worth a visit and exceptional value for money, we were sorry we were not staying longer, but we will be returning in the very near future and taking our 4yr old daughter who we know will love the stay.
A lovely, homely Guest House John and Gillian well done your hard work has paid off.

Room Tip: Give them a ring if not sure they will be very accommodating to your desire.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ShefBlondie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2014

We stayed with our 2 year old granddaughter & we all had a fantastic time. The accommodation is brilliant, lovely and clean and comfortable. The owners are very friendly and are really helpful no request was to big. Thank you we will definitely be back

Room Tip: Really close to the Peasholm park & a nice walk to the beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnsley, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2014 via mobile

Warm & welcoming hotel, beautifully decorated throughout, very clean and cosy! My partner and I stayed for one night in the double en-suite room - very comfortable and spacious. We definitely recommend to others!

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jade L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rossendale, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2014

Went for a midweek break to North Bay guest house on arrival we were met with a warm welcome from Gillian and john along side a nice warm pot of tea before being shown to our room which was of a very high standard, very modern, clean and spacious with a king size bed, en suite bathroom with a powerful shower and coffee and tea making facilities. The room also came with a flat screen TV with built in Freeview with plenty of channels to choose from. A fantastic breakfast with plenty of choice including a full English breakfast, cereal or fruit to keep you going through the day. Overall a top class guest house close to all amenities, will definitely recommend this to family and friends and hope to be back for a visit soon. :-)

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank beverley p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2014

We recently stayed for two nights at the North Bay Guest house and had a fabulous time. Gillian and John made us really welcome. Our room was very clean and comfortable, stylishly decorated with an en suite with complementary toiletries. There were facilities for making tea, coffee and hot chocolate and biscuits in the room.The bed was supremely comfortable so it was hard to get up but well worth it as the breakfasts (full English) were amongst the best we have ever experienced when away from home. I have a milk allergy and Gillian and John provided soya milk for me so that I could have cereal.
The location of the North Bay Guest House is ideal. It's near the beach, Peasholm Park and not too far to walk to the Castle or town. We walked up to the castle and down into South Bay and then took an open topped bus back round to Peasholm Park. We found two places to eat during our stay where music was also laid on - The Café on the Corner, Eastborough and the Blue Crush Diner.
We went to Scarborough looking for a relaxing weekend and somewhere to recharge our batteries. Our stay at the North Bay Guest House provided us with everything we wished for! Thank you Gillian and John. We will certainly recommend you to friends and family and hope to visit again sometime.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Julia N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
0.8 mi away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#6 of 28 in Scarborough
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,496 reviews
0.6 mi away
Premier Inn Scarborough Hotel
0.0 mi away
The Toulson Court
The Toulson Court
#1 of 184 in Scarborough
5.0 of 5 bubbles 663 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
St Michael's Guest House
St Michael's Guest House
#2 of 184 in Scarborough
5.0 of 5 bubbles 860 reviews
0.2 mi away
Leeway Hotel
Leeway Hotel
#3 of 184 in Scarborough
5.0 of 5 bubbles 374 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Helaina
The Helaina
#9 of 184 in Scarborough
5.0 of 5 bubbles 469 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to North Bay Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about North Bay Guest House

Property: North Bay Guest House
Address: 137 Columbus Ravine, Scarborough YO12 7QZ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 184 B&Bs / Inns in Scarborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — North Bay Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Run by Gillian and John, this family-friendly guest house is situated in the scenic North Bay of Scarborough. It has been newly redecorated throughout, to a very high standard. The rooms enjoy a flat-screen television with incorporated freeview and DVD-playing capability, free wi-fi, and there are facilities for making tea and coffee. Every room has its own en-suite shower room, with complimentary toiletries included, and is centrally heated. Breakfast will be served in the elegant dining area on the ground floor from 8am daily, offering a freshly cooked English breakfast customized to your preferences, with fresh fruit, cereals and hot and cold beverages. There is a large flat screen television in the comfortable adjoining lounge area with free Wi-fi access. The North Bay Guest House is located within easy walking distance of many varied leisure activities - the beach and Peaseholm Park are literally at the end of the road and there are plenty of opportunities for walking and hiking. Scarborough has a bustling town centre, with modern shopping centres alongside some more eclectic and traditional specialist shops. There are numerous restaurants, cafes, bars and public houses of all descriptions - it's not all just about fish and chips! Alongside cinemas and theatres, there are historical points of note including Scarborough Castle, St. Mary's Church and Anne Bronte’s grave, local museums and galleries. For those interested in sport, close to The North Bay Guest House are the grounds of Scarborough Cricket Club, North Cliff bowling club and Alexandra Bowls Centre (indoor and outdoor bowling catered for) and an indoor heated swimming pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your North Bay Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing