We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A favourite tea stop”

Mad Hatties tearoom & gift shop
Ranked #17 of 30 Coffee & Tea in Scarborough
Price range: $4 - $8
Cuisines: Cafe, British, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Delivery, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Scarborough, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A favourite tea stop”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2014 via mobile

Just love this cafe. The staff are friendly and the food is delicious especially to soups. Lovely on a summers day to sit in the enclosed courtyard. We meet her twice a month for a cuppa and a catch up.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Mrsclairet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    10
    0
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Scarborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“CHICKEN WRAPS!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2014

I have a very faddy little girl who LOVES the wraps at Mad Hatties. . . . . It's a great place to go for special 'quality time', with a young person. Part trinket shop and cafe - there's little pretty things to look at - but don't touch :) great milk shakes and superb wraps, it's our 'treat/reward' place of choice - lovely!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Gastrowoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Nice treat”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2013 via mobile

Called in once a week in the summer, my daughter loved calling in to try whatever homemade cake had been rustled up after our walk to the library. Nice and clean and polite, friendly staff. Food is nicely presented and the cakes yummy... Taste tested by my cake loving little girl

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank chellabella80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarborough, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
104 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Pleasant tea room”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2013

Called in on our way back from a long walk. Well set out tea room, nice and clean and good service. Limited menu and not especially cheap - but the staff were efficient, the tea was very welcome and the cake was tasty (home made and moist)

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Gill A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
327 reviews
114 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
“Mad Hatties is well worth a visit.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2013

We often get the bus from Scarborough to Scalby for lunch, or afternoon tea, and then we walk back on the old railway line. Sometimes we walk out and get the bus back. Either way Mad Hatties is well worth a visit, whether you are on foot, on the bus, or simply passing in your car.
If the weather is fine you can sit outside in the very pleasant courtyard, otherwise sit inside where it is nice and cosy!
As well as delicious cakes and sandwiches, there is a lovely gift shop too.
Highly recommended.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Martin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mad Hatties tearoom & gift shop also viewed

Scarborough, Scarborough District
Scarborough, Scarborough District
 
Scarborough, Scarborough District
Burniston, Scarborough
 
Scarborough, Scarborough District
Scalby, Scarborough
 

Been to Mad Hatties tearoom & gift shop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing