We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Nice garden area.

Nice area to walk through on the South Cliff, walking from clifftop down to sea level. There are... read more

Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Holiday-Boys
,
Newcastle upon Tyne
Stunning

Been to the Italian gardens in south cliff a lot of years back so as we were staying 5 mins from... read more

Reviewed 3 weeks ago
angelflowera
,
South Yorkshire, United Kingdom
via mobile
Read all 295 reviews
  
Reviews (295)
Filter reviews
294 results
Traveler rating
190
83
13
6
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
190
83
13
6
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews rose garden lovely flowers clock tower well maintained gardens lovely place to sit looked lovely putting green plenty of seats visit scarborough sea front esplanade paths squirrels mercury bloom planting beauty
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 294 reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Nice area to walk through on the South Cliff, walking from clifftop down to sea level. There are squirrels that are tame and will take peanuts from your hand.

Thank Holiday-Boys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Been to the Italian gardens in south cliff a lot of years back so as we were staying 5 mins from this beautiful quaint part of Scarborough I thought I’d have a trip down memory lane with the hubby
They are still as well maintained and beautiful all thanks to the friends of south cliff as I remember the flowers rhododendrons roses etc were still well in bloom so were able to show my hubby how beautiful these blooms are it’s quiet up there perfect for couples or families not far from the gardens is the fairy garden a must for youngsters to go and see it’s magical and I’m in my 5”s now and still brings the same joy as it’s always done
So if you want to go exploring a quiet part of Scarborough away from the hustle and bustle of south batty seafront then you need to go and see them
Either walk up the cliff paths which wind up the cliff it can be steep so be prepared to do some climbing or use the funicular railway at the spa complex or the 2 nd one next to Olympia amusements a quick walk across spa bridge then follow the path and I promise you will not be disappointed well worth the energy then walk back down the paths to the clock tower cafe were you can have a well deserved scone and drink
All in all a pleasant afternoon walk

Thank angelflowera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2018 via mobile

After a young lady told us about this place we just had to visit it was a lovely day and we had a nice walk around we got some lovely pictures and had a lovely afternoon. Very nice

1  Thank suewalker356
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2018

The gardens always manage to keep flowering right up to mid October. They are easy to find simply follow the fingerpost signs from the Esplanade.

1  Thank Adrian P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2018

These are pretty gardens to be found as you head down from the Esplanade to the star disk area on the sea front promenade. Lovely to be enjoyed in the oh so seldom warm weather but a tad cool to sit around for too long at this time of year ..... though still impressive.

If you get chance do look out for them !!

1  Thank Steve T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2018

A beutiful garden to have a walk around and make sure you take your camera with you to take some lovely pictures

1  Thank Sal7thomp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2018

A lovely place to sit and ponder very peaceful even had a squirrel come and sit on the same seat as us.

Thank boomerangles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2018 via mobile

This must be my favourite part of the South Cliff gardens. Beautifully maintained by the groundsmen, there is always an abundance of life and colour. If you like feeding the wildlife, there are some cheeky squirrels as well as ever-hungry pigeons that love seed and nuts.
An artist paradise, a place to think, meditate or simply stroll round and admire the flowers.

Thank LauraAnne2110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2018

The gardens were of usual high standard although fading a little at this time. unfortunately they are not as accessible as say Peasholm Park

Thank Fourstarmac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2018

Tranquil and very pretty, well maintained gardens, some information available on plant types and benches to sit and contemplate!

1  Thank Darryl T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews