We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We love Nomad!”
Review of Nomad Cafe - CLOSED

Nomad Cafe
Price range: $3 - $13
Cuisines: International
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Scarborough, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“We love Nomad!”
Reviewed May 21, 2013

It’s very friendly, serves terrific food at reasonable prices and is close to where we live. We always go for the vegan / veggie dishes, and have never been disappointed; an omnivore friend we sometimes go with always enjoys the meaty options too. JillAnne and Owen must be two of the most widely travelled restaurateurs in the area and you can tell, from the maps laminated onto some of the tables, the ceremonial masks and art hanging on the walls, the little globes on a shelf, the destination roll from a north London bus and the distinctive, intangible aura of global awareness which well-travelled folk often project.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank DaveBarry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

64 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    56
    7
    0
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Harrogate, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Perfect on a day out!”
Reviewed May 14, 2013

This cafe is by far the bets I have been to in Yorkshire, the service was better than great, the food was absolutely lovely and very well priced, customer service was very good and overall the experience I had was better than I could have ever imagined! Definitely returning this summer. Thank you for a lovely experience on my day out!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Angel F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarborough, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Wonderful and dealt fabulously for our rather large dining party of 21”
Reviewed May 6, 2013

On arrival we were greeted with friendly faces and extremely good service, bearing in mind Nomad is not doing evening openings until summer but on hearing it was my birthday at our last visit they said they would open if we required. We sure did and we were very glad to have done so. The small wonderful cafe did us proud with a fabulous choice of menu, wines and beers, the staff are very friendly along with JillAnne who is incredibly helpful and clearly proud of the cafe and rightly so. We were a varied bunch from my older parents to my teenage daughter and everyone in between from 73 to 17 there was something for everyone. Nomad has fast become our place of choice for snacks and meals and are looking forward to their evenings in summer for delicious choices and more lovely food. The Thai rolls were utterly gorgeous as was the beef goulash and the chocolate pudding was home made with a very high cocoa chocolate which was just utterly delightful. For 21 people and not a complaint or a whinge about anything its a first and we have been doing my birthday meals out for over 27 years as a large group. WELL DONE and to quote Arnie, we'll be back :)

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Emmahols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnsley, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“WOW”
Reviewed April 28, 2013

Came across this café by accident (thankfully). Amazing food & the strongest coffee in Scarborough. Give it a go, you won't be disappointed.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Yvonne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarborough, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Utterly Gorgeous”
Reviewed April 18, 2013

The menu caters for everyone and I mean everyone, Wheat intolerant, Vegans, Vegetarians, Meat Eaters, Small Eaters, Larger Eaters, well everyone I can think of !!!!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Emma C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nomad Cafe also viewed

 
Potter Brompton, Scarborough
Scarborough, Scarborough District
 
Scarborough, Scarborough District
Scarborough, Scarborough District
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing