We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Super Scarborough museum!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rotunda Museum

Rotunda Museum
Ranked #18 of 80 things to do in Scarborough
Attraction details
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Super Scarborough museum!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2014 via mobile

Popped into this museum to see the 4000 year old man, and discovered that the museum housed a collection of interesting artefacts and exhibits.

This is a small museum is packed with things which tell the story of Scarborough's place in the development of natural history and the towns own interesting history.

The building of the Rotunda itself is also very interestingly used as a museum space.

Super small Scarborough museum, well worth the entrance fee, I'd be back if it were closer to home!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Pughj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    73
    87
    37
    11
    5
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manchester
Level Contributor
128 reviews
55 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“Improve your education with the visit”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2014

Grandad Tightwad invited his youngest grandson to join us for a few days on the Yorkshire coast. I was delighted that he would have a mate to fossil hunt with whilst I stayed outside a pub waiting for old fossils to talk to me over their pints.
Well worth a visit and I found it interesting to see very rare exhibits, of crocodile remains. There is a small charge to go in but kids are free. We spent a couple of hours there......toilets once you have paid your admission free are included in the price. so save yourself paying 40p for a wee in the Scarborough sea front public toilets.
Mr Tightwad and grandson will return another time to learn even more. My grandson took advantage of the games. He is probably the most learned kid re. fossils in his class. I tried to absorb as much as my brain would take in.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Tightwads
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
123 reviews
61 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Geological Wonders”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2014

This is only a small museum and, being situated on the "dinosaur coast" focuses on geology and palaeontology. It houses the famous Speeton Plesiosaur (so new it doesn't have a proper name yet). Admission is £3 but that gives you access to the Scarborough Art Gallery too, and not just once, but for a whole year.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank PMLaycock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Interesting experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2014

Came here for a class trip from S6F and we didn't have to pay anything. Considering all the beautiful artefacts and exhibitions they had it was very good. Living in the town it won't be something I'll visit regularly however I'd recommend tourists to pop in and have a look round as everything is very beautiful even the architecture of the building.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank M0j0j0j030
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“very small museum !”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2014

we visited this small museum to see the dinosaur exhibition , it only took us 10 mins to walk round very tiny but the stone aged coffin and the skeleton was cool!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank noynoy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rotunda Museum also viewed

Scarborough, Scarborough District
Scarborough, Scarborough District
 
Scarborough, Scarborough District
Scarborough, Scarborough District
 

Been to Rotunda Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing