We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very enjoyable meal!”

Royal Tandoori Scarborough
Ranked #151 of 355 Restaurants in Scarborough
Price range: $19 - $30
Cuisines: Asian, Indian, Balti, Eastern European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Delivery, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: Fully licensed restaurant Banquet Night 4 Course Meals for £10.95 Every day: 5pm - 11.30pm (dining in or take away) Half Price on every Sunday (eat in, on food)
south yorkshire
Level Contributor
55 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Very enjoyable meal!”
Reviewed August 4, 2013 via mobile

Didnt use the restaurant we ordered a take away to collect, the service on arrvial was very warm, spoke to three members of staff all polite, gave me a half of cobra on the house while I waited as it turned out the barman and I are from the same town! The food was delicious, had a poppadum & pickle tray starter followed by Chicken Pathia, Pilau Rice & a Garlic Naan. Plenty of food and enjoyed every bit. Next time I go to Scarboro I will definately have a meal in the restaurant!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank marcnjo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    124
    32
    8
    11
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Co Durham
Level Contributor
81 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Tasty and reasonable, we will be back!”
Reviewed August 1, 2013 via mobile

We had a meal there last night. We arrived at 10.30pm and were welcomed! The staff were really friendly. Although a bit dated the place is clean and typical of many Indian restaurants. The food was very good and the prices were excellent! We will definitely be back.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jillyp4perfect
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yarm, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A WONDERFUL MEAL EXPERIENCE...!”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

We recently dined at The Royal Tandoori & enjoyed it so much that we dined there again the following week. The service was first class & the staff very friendly & attentive without being too overbearing. A lovely relaxed atmosphere complimented the authentic Indian cuisine which was full of flavour & ample in potion size. They accept Tastecard which offers 2 for 1 on starters, mains & desserts which is a great bonus as even without it, it is great value for money. When we asked for the bill we received complimentary liqueurs which rounded off a wonderful meal experience. There are plenty of Indian restaurants in Scarborough to choose from however, The Royal Tandoori should not be overlooked.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
43 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great value and lovely food, amazing service!!”
Reviewed July 19, 2013

This place was simply brilliant - For £10 you got starter, main, naan and rice, the drinks were reasonably priced, the deserts were very cheap, the kids were really well catered for.

The staff go above and beyond to make your meal enjoyable, we ordered pistachio ice-cream and when they had none they offered us free desserts!

The quality of the food was top-notch too. I have eaten in many curry houses up and down the country, but their Jalfrezi was among the best I've ever tried.

Would recommend, and will definitely return! :-)

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank SteveBloke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Not so royal”
Reviewed July 14, 2013

This was a tripadvisor recommendation with which my wife and I were very disappointed the food is at best average take away quality it all tasted the same and was very greasy ,the restaurant it's self could do with a good clean and too many staff for the amount of customers who just stand around staring at you eating then pounce to clear the plates once you have finished ,all in all very poor will not be revisiting anytime soon.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mick S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Royal Tandoori Scarborough also viewed

Scarborough, Scarborough District
Scarborough, Scarborough District
 
Scarborough, Scarborough District
Scarborough, Scarborough District
 
Scarborough, Scarborough District
Scarborough, Scarborough District
 

Been to Royal Tandoori Scarborough? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing