We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent food & excellent value”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Royal Tandoori - CLOSED

Royal Tandoori
Price range: $19 - $29
Cuisines: Asian, Indian, Balti, Eastern European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: Banquet Night 4 Course Meals for £10.95 Every day: 5pm - 11.30pm (dining in or take away)
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Excellent food & excellent value”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2013

Four courses for £9.95 and there is enough to fill an Asian elephant. All 6 of us left this lovely restaurant full to the brim and were well looked after by the polite and friendly staff. We also had poppadoms for starters, 8 pints of Cobra and two large red wines and the bill was £97!!!!
Definite value for money and will visit again next time in Scarborough.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Abesontour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

191 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    123
    32
    8
    11
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Buxton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“one of the best we have ever had”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2013

we went to this Indian and had a four course meal for 10 pounds and it was beautiful the flavors were soooooo nice and there was plenty to eat we were all stuffed the staff are all nice and friendly a reel little gem thank you to you all for a lovely meal we will be back when we are in scarborough next time thanks

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank mjcanddec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, UK
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Very good Indian....”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2013

Researched some restaurants on a family visit to Scarborough. Eventually chose Royal Tandoori and we did not leave disappointed.

Big portions, great prices and very friendly service. Will be back.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Queen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walsall, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best Indian I have ever eaten!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2013

We only went to this Indian as I have a tastecard which gets you 241 on main courses.
I am so glad that we did go here!

So we started off on a bad foot because I went into the restaurant and asked if we could bring our own drinks, as many Indians by us are not licensed. He said we could so we went to the nearest shop and brought some wine. We then went back and sat at our table, only to be told there would be 20% service charge for our own drinks. As he never explained this we were a bit miffed but all was sorted :)

Ok, so then we ordered. Had some Poppadoms to start with a huge array of sauces including lime pickle, mango chutney, desiccated coconut, mint ratia and diced onions.
I had Chicken Bhuna, pilau rice and plain naan, which I have at every Indian I go to, mainly so I can review what is a good Indian. This Bhuna was so fresh, you could taste all the individual flavours and the chicken was very succulent. There wasnt a lot of sauce with the curry which I love. Pilau rice and plain naan, you can't really go wrong with. Portions were generous and prices were FANTASTIC (even without a tastecard)
My Bhuna was £4.20. My Mom had Chicken Birryani which was £5.50 and my Dad had Chicken Saag which was also £4.20.
After the meal we had slices of orange to cleanse our pallets. We then had a glass of bailey's for the ladies and brandy for the gents which was complementary.
Service was excellent and I think the 20% service charge for your own drinks is reasonable. They put our wine in a cooler and kept topping us up.

Sometimes after a curry I feel an uncomfortable bloated feeling that can come from using a lot of ghee. I did not experience this at all.

Fantastic Meal!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Annie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great for the money”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2013 via mobile

We stumbled upon this place during a weekend away. The staff were a little over-attentive for my taste, and they didn't communicate well with each other (one staff member removing the chutneys without asking, straight after we said to another that we wanted to keep them!). However, the food was good and there was tons of it for the money. There were lesser seen dishes on menu as well as all the usual favourites, and it all arrived very quickly. Well worth a visit.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Heather D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Royal Tandoori also viewed

Scarborough, Scarborough District
Scarborough, Scarborough District
 
Scarborough, Scarborough District
Scarborough, Scarborough District
 
Scarborough, Scarborough District
Scarborough, Scarborough District
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing