We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent. A hidden gem.”
Review of The Duchess Pub

The Duchess Pub
Ranked #198 of 358 Restaurants in Scarborough
Price range: $3 - $19
Cuisines: Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: A friendly family pub, serving delicious home cooked food from just £2.50. 2 Meals for £10 Weds-Sat and Sunday Carvery 12-3pm. Kids eat free with each full paying adult. Any occasion catered for including weddings, birthdays, christenings, funerals etc. Ample parking available with beer garden and play area.
1 review
“Excellent. A hidden gem.”
Reviewed August 26, 2013 via mobile

Went to duchfest which was a huge success. This pub truely is a hidden gem. Definitely worth a visit. My only issue being one of the bar staff, an oldish guy, I believe called Gary, was very rude, creepy and quite frankly very obnoxious. Would be enough to put me off going again if I hadn't have heard so many great things about this pub. Will hopefully return to try their highly recommended carvery.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank outandabout8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    91
    10
    4
    3
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Scarborough
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Brilliant place to bring the family”
Reviewed August 25, 2013 via mobile

Had a fantastic meal..delicious steaks fantastic service and at a reasonable price. .we will be back ! This place is unfairly overlooked due to its location

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Marymartin0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Midlands, England, United Kingdom
1 review
“Highly recommended - especially the Duchess burger!”
Reviewed August 22, 2013

We have visited this pub twice during our two week holiday and both times the food has been fantastic. Lovely home-cooked food, my husband highly recommends the double Duchess burger which he insists is the best burger he has ever hand! I recommend the Hunter's chicken which was delicious - such a big portion and the home-made chips were really lovely. We have two fussy sons and they cleared their plates too which is a very good sign. The fact that kids eat free when an adult main meal is purchased is again fantastic so not only was the food excellent but good value for money too. The staff are very friendly and welcoming. Will definitely be returning on our next holiday! :-)

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 4hungryhippos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Fantastic food!!!!”
Reviewed August 19, 2013 via mobile

Had the most gorgeous meal ever!
Beautiful home cooked food, very reasonably priced, quite shocked when the bill came as expected it to be more! staff were lovely & friendly, will deff go again!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank chalkcheese1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Atmosphere free pub”
Reviewed August 17, 2013

What an unappealing pub. There is a games room, a function room and a small 'conservatory' reached by going through a messy corridor. The home cooked chips looked distinctly frozen and the curry was obviously made using curry powder, rather than fresh spices n herbs.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank parrotpinkparrot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heidi D, Owner at The Duchess Pub, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
I feel it is unfair to call The Duchess an unappealing pub. We have a bar which has a pool table, dart board, bar and seating, a function room which seats 70 people and a conservatory that has 20 covers and houses the carvery all of which have been recently refurbished. Our home cooked chips are just that, home cut from fresh potatoes and can assure you, they are NOT frozen. Our curries are also cooked from fresh to order, we pride ourselves on our home cooked food. I’m sorry you have been unhappy with your visit and hope it will not put you off visiting us in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Duchess Pub also viewed

Scarborough, Scarborough District
Scarborough, Scarborough District
 
Scarborough, Scarborough District
Scarborough, Scarborough District
 
Scarborough, Scarborough District
Scarborough, Scarborough District
 

Been to The Duchess Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing