We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good plus take away shop”

Redcliffe Farm Shop Cafe
Ranked #5 of 28 Coffee & Tea in Scarborough
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: We are a Family owned Farm Shop & Cafe serving produce from our own farm, and for other farms in the surrounding area
Scarborough, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good plus take away shop”
Reviewed April 27, 2014 via mobile

Used to live 2 miles away from here so visited shop occasionally. Good stuff. Restaurant good too- went on themed night. Good for no mans land between scarborough and Filey (yes I used to live in Gristhorpe - most miserable residents on earth SPEAK, SAY HELLO). Anyway redcliffe v good

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lawrence C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FarmerBr0wn, Manager at Redcliffe Farm Shop Cafe, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Hi Lawrence

Thanks for the review, we're glad you enjoyed vivisitng us, and I should point out that we have some Lovely customers from Gristhorpe, so it can't all bad!!!

Thanks

Martin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    111
    48
    17
    8
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Scarborough, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Very friendly and superb food.”
Reviewed April 6, 2014

We recently went to Redcliffe farm for lunch. Lovely food, generous portions at reasonable prices. The staff were very friendly. I commented on how nice the salad dressing was and asked if it could be purchased in the farm shop, however it transpired it was homemade. To my surprise we were given a sample to take home with instructions on how to make it. It doesn't get much better. Would recommend to anyone.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RichardandEve1401
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FarmerBr0wn, Owner at Redcliffe Farm Shop Cafe, responded to this review, April 11, 2014
Hi Richard & Eve
Thanks for your comments, we are so pleased you enjoyed your visit.

The salad dressing is indeed homemade, and since we've given you the secret recipe (it's not rocket science after all), I hope you were offered the opportunity to purchase the necessary ingredients in our Farm Shop!!!
Best regards
Martin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Has to be the best afternoon tea I have had.”
Reviewed March 9, 2014

I have say a big well done to redcliffe farm for a fantastic afternoon tea. First of all the chef just goes that little bit further but the quality of the food is escellent and as good as anywhere I have been. Tasty sandwiches, with savouries and quiche, side salad and crisps with coleslaw and pickles. Finished off with a fresh cream scone and a chocolate cake , washed down with a pot full of yorkshire tea. Absolutely fantastic. Served after 2pm most days I believe.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Spireite7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FarmerBr0wn, Owner at Redcliffe Farm Shop Cafe, responded to this review, March 12, 2014
Thanks Spirite for you nice comments, and thanks for highlighting our afternoon tea which often gets overlooked after the rush of breakfasts and lunches, even by ourselves. We try to make it a little (actually it's not at all little) showcase of everything we make and bake.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Tasty Breakfast”
Reviewed March 4, 2014

Have visited the farm shop many times over the years but this was the first time we have eaten in the café. The full breakfast was really lovely. It was cooked well and tasted great, especially the Black Pudding and Pork Sausage. Its good value for money and comes with a pot of tea and a slice of buttered toast (although for the price it wouldn't hurt to throw in an extra slice).
Overall a great breakfast in a smart and homely location with plenty to offer the paying customer. Next time will have a go at the double breakfast which for a few pound more is twice the size of the standard and seemed great value.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank L S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FarmerBr0wn, Owner at Redcliffe Farm Shop Cafe, responded to this review, March 12, 2014
Hello L S

Thanks for taking the time to post your comments, we look forward to seeing you for the "Double English" sometime soon.

best regards

Martin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarborough
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great Steak Pie”
Reviewed February 25, 2014

We called in for lunch and had the steak pie which was delicious and chips, (only a treat when out these days) were crisp and chunky, nice selection of seasonal veg and separate gravy. Very good as my husband only likes a small amount and I like lots. It is a nice warm and welcoming café with great home cooked food and the meat from their own cattle, some of which were in the yard outside!
There is a nice gift shop, Carabis outside, good for cards and little gifts, we bought some meat from the farm shop before leaving, quality is first class

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HilarySch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FarmerBr0wn, Owner at Redcliffe Farm Shop Cafe, responded to this review, February 26, 2014
Hi Hilary, thanks for taking the trouble to post your comments here, we always value customer feedback, we look forward to seeing you again sometime soon. best regards Martin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Redcliffe Farm Shop Cafe also viewed

Scarborough, Scarborough District
Scarborough, Scarborough District
 
Scarborough, Scarborough District
 

Been to Redcliffe Farm Shop Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing