We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Steak Pie” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Redcliffe Farm Shop Cafe

Redcliffe Farm Shop Cafe
Ranked #4 of 30 Coffee & Tea in Scarborough
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cafe, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Kids, Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Brunch, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: We are a Family owned Farm Shop & Cafe serving produce from our own farm, and for other farms in the surrounding area
Scarborough
Level Contributor
56 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great Steak Pie”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2014

We called in for lunch and had the steak pie which was delicious and chips, (only a treat when out these days) were crisp and chunky, nice selection of seasonal veg and separate gravy. Very good as my husband only likes a small amount and I like lots. It is a nice warm and welcoming café with great home cooked food and the meat from their own cattle, some of which were in the yard outside!
There is a nice gift shop, Carabis outside, good for cards and little gifts, we bought some meat from the farm shop before leaving, quality is first class

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank HilarySch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FarmerBr0wn, Owner at Redcliffe Farm Shop Cafe, responded to this review, February 26, 2014
Hi Hilary, thanks for taking the trouble to post your comments here, we always value customer feedback, we look forward to seeing you again sometime soon. best regards Martin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    97
    45
    15
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Amazing Pork Pie”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2014 via mobile

We stopped on the way back from Scarborough and was pleasantly surprised with this little place. Friendly service and brilliant butchers inside. We purchased a pork pie and some rump steak and it was lovely. Definitely worth stopping for.

Helpful?
Thank Lizl S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FarmerBr0wn, Owner at Redcliffe Farm Shop Cafe, responded to this review, February 13, 2014
Hi Lizl-mare, thanks very much for taking the time to post your comments. We look forward to seeing you again sometime. Best regards, Martin.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swaffham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Slightly disappointing”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2013

We arrived for lunch about 1.30pm and were shown to our table and offered the menu. Chose Redcliffe Roast Beef for the main course with a glass of red wine. We didn't have to wait long to be served a perfectly adequate amount of food with a jug of gravy, and side dishes of vegetables and a small tub of horseradish sauce each,

Presentation was good and the meat was well cooked, but the plates were not hot and the meat could have been hotter, We have had better Yorkshire puddings and roast potatoes which were hard to cut through. The carrots were well cooked and the gravy was excellent.

The dining area was on the cool side and it seemed as if they were having a problem with the heating system. Staff were pleasant and attentive and were obviously trying their best.

We both had a desert and could find no fault there. However, overall there was something lacking and our disappointment hinged on the lack of detailed attention with the main course. The meals need to be hotter and something needs to be done with the roast potatoes. They were a let-down .

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Northcliffe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Best food I have ever had!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2013

We have a caravan nearby and call at the Redcliffe Farm for our breakfast most days when we are there. I have never tasted such wonderful bacon and poached eggs on toast. You simply do not want the meal to end. I wish I could cook the bacon like they do.

We always buy our meats, sausages, burgers etc from there as everything is so lovely.

Cannot recommend this place enough. Staff are really friendly as well.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Philip R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarborough, UK
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“lunch time treat”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2013

An excellent lunch with pleasant surroundings and service!
Would like to try one of their themed dinner evenings some time.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Review collected in partnership with this restaurant

Helpful?
Thank SheilaScarborough_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Redcliffe Farm Shop Cafe also viewed

Scarborough, Scarborough District
Gate Helmsley, York
 
Filey, Scarborough District
 

Been to Redcliffe Farm Shop Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing