We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Cake”
Review of The Clock Cafe

The Clock Cafe
Ranked #41 of 355 Restaurants in Scarborough
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cafe, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children, Kids, Scenic view
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Cake”
Reviewed August 14, 2013

This was our third visit to this café and we weren't disappointed, the cakes are amazing, my favourite is Victoria Sponge, Hubby, Coffee and Walnut and our boys love the chocolate cake, you can tell they are all home made and well worth the walk ..... thanks

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank JulieB1712
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

215 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    133
    59
    8
    11
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Scarborough, England, United Kingdom
1 review
“100 years on!”
Reviewed July 23, 2013

I visited the Clock Cafe todat to find it has been going for 100 years! The staff were dressed in Victorian oufits which really added to the atmosphere. Excellent coffee and bacon butties what a treat.

Scarborough's little gem!!

Well done on 100 years Jackie and her team.

Big Rich

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Richard W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“I am in heaven”
Reviewed July 20, 2013

Went for a walk to the south side to the clock cafe. I ordered the scone with clotted cream which came with lemon curd. There are no words to describe the feeling of that wonderful scone except I was in heaven eating it. I shall definitely be going back.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ray c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great views and food to match”
Reviewed July 19, 2013

Its well worth walking a little further round the bay to the couple of smaller beaches because if you're feeling peckish, then definitely visit The Clock Cafe we did twice!

Nice location sitting about the coastal road/path with a good homely menu, which is matched by their prompt and efficient service, The menu covers everything from snacks to meals, with everything made to order and all delivered to your table.

The costs are pretty reasonable and with the views over the bay, it makes for a good place to make a concerted effort for anyone to visit.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank DeeRus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hddersfield
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“my favorite view in scarborough”
Reviewed July 7, 2013

i love to sit on the terrace at the clock cafe......the food isn't great but they do brew a nice coffee and the cakes ect are good...i could sit there and watch the world go by all day. i have been many times on my own and with family and friends.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dianesenior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Clock Cafe also viewed

Scarborough, Scarborough District
Scarborough, Scarborough District
 
Scarborough, Scarborough District
Scarborough, Scarborough District
 
Scarborough, Scarborough District
Scarborough, Scarborough District
 

Been to The Clock Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing