We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Night out with friends”
Review of La Roca Tapas Bar

La Roca Tapas Bar
Ranked #68 of 357 Restaurants in Scarborough
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Spanish
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Scarborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Night out with friends”
Reviewed June 4, 2014

We had heard about the Tapas bar and the good write ups it had so we thought we would give it a try on Tuesday night. When we arrived it wasn't busy but being a Tuesday not surprised the people who were there all said how much they enjoyed it and definitely would come again they also told us not to order 4 meals each with the extra one free as it would be two much. We were very glad of that advice. There were three of us so we shared a starter of mixed crusty bread with ham and garlic and a dish of mussels yummy followed by six meals we were stuffed washed down with a jug of sangria we were stuffed. The owners cook everything from scratch so you do wait a bit but it was worth it, can't wait to go again.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Marlene H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    145
    46
    12
    1
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Scarborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Lovely time”
Reviewed May 27, 2014

We have been here previously with family but my boyfriend and I returned for his birthday, the same high quality food and service was given with the best atmosphere. A lovely little place which should get more recognition.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank M0j0j0j030
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Little Gem.”
Reviewed May 22, 2014

Recommended by a local taxi driver and we were not disappointed.
This is a little gem of a place. It takes a little finding but well worth the effort.
Excellent Tapas served by the proprietors. Cannot wait to visit again.
Note. Closes at 9-30 pm. due to council restrictions so get in there early and enjoy the experience.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Philip W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great place”
Reviewed May 18, 2014 via mobile

Come early to grab a table in the sun! Lovely food cooked & served by the owners who are lovely too. Highly recommended :-)

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Ali N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Lovely!”
Reviewed May 14, 2014

I love it here. I've been with my mum, her partner and my little sister before and the food was fab as was the atmosphere. I've been 3 times in the last year now and it just keeps getting better and better.
Most recently I went with my boyfriend and for £40 we got a large glass of wine, 2 bottles of cider, 5 tapas dishes and 2 chocolate puddings! And it was such a nice night. The staff are very friendly and as soon as you walk through the door you they make you feel welcome. Anything you are unsure of on the menu they are happy to explain to you before you order.
Also, when we got the bill the lady brought us two free shots of peach schnapps which was a lovely end to a lovely meal.
Will be back soon for sure!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank YorkshireLass93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Roca Tapas Bar also viewed

Scarborough, Scarborough District
Scarborough, Scarborough District
 
Scarborough, Scarborough District
Scarborough, Scarborough District
 
Scarborough, Scarborough District
Scarborough, Scarborough District
 

Been to La Roca Tapas Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing