We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great place ran by great people”
Review of La Roca Tapas Bar

La Roca Tapas Bar
Ranked #71 of 355 Restaurants in Scarborough
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Special occasions, Families with children, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A great place ran by great people”
Reviewed July 9, 2013 via mobile

My family & I have visited La Roca twice in the past week, the first time for food & today for a drink (albeit the missus had tapas while waiting for us!)

Ran by a lovely couple, La Roca is great value for money & the food and sangria is first class. I would recommend La Roca to anyone.

Keep up the great work & we'll see you again soon!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MarkYork1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    142
    46
    12
    1
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Catterick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Second visit & just as good, if not better!!!”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

My husband and I returned to Scarborough again this year for his birthday. As soon as we had dropped off our bags at our hotel we made a beeline for La Roca as we had enjoyed it so much last year. The welcome, food & service was as good as we remembered, especially the chorizo & prawn skewers, & the meatballs, just delicious, & due to all the positive comments about the sangria, we decided to give that a bash too, it was lovely, in fact, we had 2 jugs!!? Unfortunately La Roca is still unable to serve food & drink after 6pm, this is such a shame, as its a perfect venue to spend an evening, especially with the terrace at the rear of the property, it gives a distinctly continental feel!!? We'll DEFINITELY be back next year. I can't recommend this little gem of a place highly enough ❤

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Claire S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great value!”
Reviewed June 30, 2013 via mobile

We visited this smashing little place for lunch and loved it! We tried a selection of the tapas, including the meatballs (really tasty), chicken & chickpea stew, patatas bravas, anchovies and a couple more, and thoroughly enjoyed everything. Portions are generous & very reasonably priced; the bill for three of us was under £25, including a glass of wine & a couple of San Miguels! This is a much needed variation from the standard cafe fayre available near Scarborough sea front... Good luck to the owners & we hope you are granted the license to open later in the evenings! We'll be back soon :-)

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Ali N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
40 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Hidden treasure.”
Reviewed June 29, 2013 via mobile

Lovely food.Lovely hosts.Lovely atmosphere.If you get chance to visit try to sit outside its lovely.Nice jug of sangria.lovely tapas reasonable price.Give it a try you wont be disapointed.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank DollyYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“second time around.....& still loving it!!”
Reviewed June 25, 2013

love this place with its friendly hard working owners...sadly hindered by neighbours and planning,you couldnt get a nicer setting not to mention the delicious fayre,something different for scarboro,family friendly...plan to return soon,scarbourgh town council PLEASE these are people with a passion working hard to make a living....cathy M

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank henryMC13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Roca Tapas Bar also viewed

Scarborough, Scarborough District
Scarborough, Scarborough District
 
Scarborough, Scarborough District
Scarborough, Scarborough District
 
Scarborough, Scarborough District
Scarborough, Scarborough District
 

Been to La Roca Tapas Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing