We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“***** excellent *****” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Duke of York Guest House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Scarborough
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Duke of York Guest House
Ranked #15 of 184 Scarborough B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“***** excellent *****”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2013

this was our second visit, the first time just me and my husband we had the balcony room ..... which was amazing. This time we took our two boys, we had one of the family rooms, we were told it was the smallest room, it was a fantastic size, the décor and everything was amazing. The staff at breakfast were really great with the boys, who are very specific of their needs, they also got my poached eggs "spot on". the location is perfect both for the sea front and the shops. We will be going back both on our own and with the boys

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JulieB1712
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    197
    13
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
47
116
10
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013

We go every year if possible & been brilliant every time, the views are absolutely amazing & is ideally situated. The food is a fried breakfast ever morning plus plenty if cereals, fruit, toast etc. Joanne cannot do enough to make you feel welcome & is always there if you need any questions answering plus the rest of the staff are all friendly & helpfull.
10 out of 10

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank st134
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2013

it was simply fantastic . Joanne and all her staff couldn't do enough for you , nothing was too much trouble. Would love to return when a know my holiday dates for next year.We told Joanne how much we liked Heartbeat and she went and bought us mugs and a fridge magnet with the show on them . Thanks Joanne for a great holiday Roy , Mandy Scott and Wilma Cunningham

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank roybingo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boston lincolnshire
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2013

once again a very pleasent stay the veiw from our window looking over the beach the sea fantastic .jo as always there with kiss and a hug.she always seems to get us a room at the last minute thankyou .the staff are pleasent and warm to talk to.the breakfast is first class .even the two dogs give you a warm welcome so funny .i would stay there all the time . dont ever leave jo keep up the good work see you soonfrom steve and linda.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank steve4857
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2013

Returned today from another stay at Yorkshire's best guest house. Booked again for next year, but hope to return before then - getting in is the problem!! Jo is a victim of her own success and the only way she could keep all her guests happy is to buy next door and expand!! What a lovely lady and lovely staff working their best to make everyone's stay in this lovely hotel, the best time they could have on holiday. Can't wait to return and would like to recommend that everyone should try it at least once, but no, don't. Maybe then we wouldn't be able to get in, and that would never do!!! So sorry the lady who wrote the nasty review about the dogs was not happy with her stay. I can only speak as I find, and even with BOTH dogs on my knee, could not smell them, let alone anywhere else in the house. Keep up the good work Jo and thank you again for our "home from home" stay. Liz and Bob, Leeds.

Room Tip: The seaview rooms are wonderful but book early!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KatiesmumLeeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2013

The duke of york is a fantastic guest house the best in scarborough.i would recomend anybody to stay here for their holidays.it was a chance meeting in scarborough high street three years ago and joey took 5 minutes for our daughter to stroke her dog izzy.she invited us down to the duke of york for a look round as we were staying on a caravan site.joey's personality shone she is so friendly and nothing is to much trouble.the food is fantastic, there is something for everyones taste.the rooms are very comfortable and spacious.it is home from home when we holiday with joey and all her staff are very friendly..see you next year joey jeb and izzy xxx

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank caddy74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2013

Just got home from the duke of york its like a home from home 2nd year of going booked for next year already. Food good rooms very clean and jo is a great host. Our kids love helping her take the dogs a walk. One of the best hotel in the country.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bigkev67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
0.5 mi away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#6 of 28 in Scarborough
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,497 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Mount Hotel
The Mount Hotel
#16 of 28 in Scarborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 317 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Crescent Hotel
The Crescent Hotel
#5 of 28 in Scarborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 560 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Scarborough Hotel
0.9 mi away
Park Manor Hotel
Park Manor Hotel
#4 of 28 in Scarborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 780 reviews
0.0 mi away
Palace Hill Hotel Scarborough
Palace Hill Hotel Scarborough
#8 of 184 in Scarborough
5.0 of 5 bubbles 457 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Duke of York Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Duke of York Guest House

Property: Duke of York Guest House
Address: 1-2 Merchants Row | Eastborough, Scarborough YO11 1NQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 184 B&Bs / Inns in Scarborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Duke of York Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in the early 1700's the Duke of York is packed with character and boasts breath taking panoramic views over the South Bay and harbour. Conveniently located in the heart of the town, and just minutes from the main beach, the Duke of York is the perfect place to relax and unwind.Brimming with charm and character, the Duke of York Guest House in Scarborough dates from the early 1700s and affords stunning views across to South Bay and the pretty harbour. Just a short stroll from the famous Spa entertainment complex, beaches and town centre restaurants and shops, we're perfectly placed for relaxing holidays on the Yorkshire Coast. Choose from 9 attractively furnished en-suite rooms. Our 6 front facing bedrooms all boast stunning panoramic views of the South bay beach, Lighthouse and Harbour, and our two 1st floor, sea view bedrooms, have French doors leading onto a spacious balcony with seating area, so you can relax and enjoy a good book or a glass of wine whilst watching the boats sail by.All bedrooms offer full en-suite facilities, with either a bath or shower, and we provide fresh fluffy bath and hand towels for each guest along with hand soaps. Each of our rooms also offer well-stocked refreshment tray's, with tea, coffee, hot chocolate and luxury biscuits, as well as bottled water, hairdryer's and binoculars (in sea view rooms only).All bedrooms are decorated and furnished to a high standard and offer wall mounted flat screen TV's with free-view, and our beds, which were handpicked and tested, are one of the best standards available and will guarantee you a comfortable and cosy night's sleep.You’ve read about the bed, now here’s a little bit about the breakfast. Our delicious breakfasts are just one of the many reasons our guests keep coming back to us year after year. Our front main dining room boasts stunning sea views over the South bay and harbour, so you can enjoy a hearty Yorkshire breakfast whilst watching the boats sail by. Our breakfasts include a fantastic range of starters, including fresh fruit salad, yoghurts, a choice of fruit juices and a great range of cereals. Grab as much or as little as you like from our self-serve table.We then serve up a freshly prepared full English breakfast, consisting of free range eggs, thick back bacon, butcher’s best thick pork sausage, mushrooms, beans and juicy plum or fresh tomatoes, washed down with a range of breakfast/herbal tea's, gold roast coffee or fresh fruit juice. A full vegetarian breakfast option is available and all special diets are catered for as well as any special requests. Our goal is to fill you up for the day and we rarely fail! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing