We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Duke of York Guest House
Nearby Hotels
Rivelyn Hotel(Scarborough)
$60
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Palm Court Hotel(Scarborough)
$167
$116
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Wrea Head Hall(Scarborough)
$144
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Esplanade Hotel(Scarborough)
$103
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
The Crescent Hotel(Scarborough)
$155
$140
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
The Crown Spa Hotel(Scarborough)
$558
$85
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$172
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Ambassador Hotel(Scarborough)
$77
$74
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hackness Grange Country House Hotel(Hackness)(Great Value!)
$118
$114
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$90
PremierInn.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (230)
Filter reviews
230 results
Traveler rating
213
14
1
2
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
213
14
1
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshome from homebalcony roomfresh fruitfull englishsea frontsea viewspent nightswarm welcometop floorcomfy bednothing too much troublelovely breakfasttown centreweekend breakjobayseafront
Filter
Updating list...
187 - 192 of 230 reviews
Reviewed July 19, 2013

Greeted with a lovely smile, it just got better the more Jo showed us ; the view we would have while having breakfast ,request for blackpudding it was available next morning thankyou. And the view from room 7 was brilliant, going to sleep listening to the waves was wonderful. thankyou Jo & team for a wonderful stay . Scaborough has a castle nearly as good as ours at Portchester.

Room Tip: ask for a room with the amazing views
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lynne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2013

This was our first stay at the Duke of York and it won't be our last! From the moment we got there Jo and the staff made us feel so very welcome and nothing was too much trouble for them. The room was perfect, food lovely and plentiful. All in all this was a wonderful holiday. Thank you so much Jo.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1603sue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2013

Absolutely outstanding! If you are without transport the position is perfect for all facilities and the beach. We were two senior ladies who were looked after with care and attention and we were given the feeling that nothing was too much trouble. Thank you for a wonderful visit.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tasbeat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2013

We have been visiting Scarborough twice a year for the cricket for many years, and have stayed in a wide variety of places, from smart hotels to basic self-catering establishments. Most have been very good and we have met some lovely people, but none had the ideal combination of location, building and personnel. That changed this time with our stay at the Duke of York.
With a wonderful combination of warmth, diligent preparation, attention to detail and genuine care of and interest in the customer, maybe Jo and her staff could teach Yorkshire CCC (and indeed Scarborough BC!) a thing or two!
Jo, I knew from our initial contacts that you would be a superstar, and you are! Many thanks!!
Derek, Anne and Mick

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Derek A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2013

This was our first family holiday with our 1 year old boy and we think we certainly made the right choice. From the initial booking enquiry throughout the whole stay joanne and her staff made us all feel valued and welcome. The property has a real homely feel to it which makes you feel comfortable. The fact that joanne is flexible with the arrival time is also a very good point especially with a young child. The family room is large enough for a double, single and travel cot and is very clean. The refreshment tray is also very well stocked and is replenished daily. The breakfast was very tasty with ample choice to get you off to a good start. The location for us was great as we wanted to be right near the front and the beach. Overall we had a great time and our little boy loved the beach and the sea. We are already planning our next trip back. Thanks again to joanne and her staff.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank philtorfreddie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews