We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thankyou Jo!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Duke of York Guest House
Ranked #34 of 183 Scarborough B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 13, 2013

We have been visiting Scarborough twice a year for the cricket for many years, and have stayed in a wide variety of places, from smart hotels to basic self-catering establishments. Most have been very good and we have met some lovely people, but none had the ideal combination of location, building and personnel. That changed this time with our stay at the Duke of York.
With a wonderful combination of warmth, diligent preparation, attention to detail and genuine care of and interest in the customer, maybe Jo and her staff could teach Yorkshire CCC (and indeed Scarborough BC!) a thing or two!
Jo, I knew from our initial contacts that you would be a superstar, and you are! Many thanks!!
Derek, Anne and Mick

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Derek A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (227)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

188 - 194 of 227 reviews

Reviewed June 9, 2013

This was our first family holiday with our 1 year old boy and we think we certainly made the right choice. From the initial booking enquiry throughout the whole stay joanne and her staff made us all feel valued and welcome. The property has a real homely feel to it which makes you feel comfortable. The fact that joanne is flexible with the arrival time is also a very good point especially with a young child. The family room is large enough for a double, single and travel cot and is very clean. The refreshment tray is also very well stocked and is replenished daily. The breakfast was very tasty with ample choice to get you off to a good start. The location for us was great as we wanted to be right near the front and the beach. Overall we had a great time and our little boy loved the beach and the sea. We are already planning our next trip back. Thanks again to joanne and her staff.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank philtorfreddie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

I've only just registered here and decided to write a review for this lovely place as I'll never forget my stay there. I visited with my husband in September 2012, the weather was pretty grim and a death in the family meant we had to cut our visit short. However, it was still one of my favourite places to stay, ever! We had a sea view room and it was stunning despite the rain, wind, floods... The room was clean, warm and very cosy. The staff were so friendly and Jo in particular made us feel really welcome. Breakfast was great, I'm not such a fan of a big cooked breakfast anywhere but my husband was very happy with it and I was more than happy with the other breakfast items on offer. I imagine that most needs will be catered for though as during our stay I noticed a very elderly couple were having tomato soup for breakfast. Thank you to Jo and her staff for making our short stay so memorable and I do hope we can stay again some time.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank amaria246
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2013

Stayed 22/23 may in room 7 everything was stunning the room the view the breakfast jo and her staff where wonderful nothing was to much trouble jo also gave us some good recommendations where to eat in the evening see you next time

Room Tip: Try room 7the views are stunning
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 727Albetty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2013

Stayed for 2 nights wih my hubby in room 11.Room was lovely very clean and warm.Breakfast was fantastic something for everyone.No problems in parking car at all.Jo is lovely goes out of her way to make you feel welcome.looking forward to staying again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tracyannholmes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2013

Stayed here for one night and admittedly had the best room with sea view and balcony area. The room was clean and modern with comfy bed, big tv and lovely bathroom. Breakfast was so good and the dining room has views straight onto Scarborough beach which is literally a stones throw away. Will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for the balcony rooms as these have amazing views, but be warned about the seagulls who like to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Victoria Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2013

Just come back from a 2 night stay, everything about The Duke of York was excellent. The location couldn't of been any better, we had a room with a balcony which was lovely to sit out on and look at the views. Jo and staff were lovely and breakfast was very nice. Have already started recommending it to friends & family. Thanks Jo and will be seeing you again, Michelle & Matty.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shell197
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
0.5 mi away
Marine Residence
Marine Residence
#16 of 26 in Scarborough
141 reviews
0.8 mi away
Ambassador Hotel
Ambassador Hotel
#22 of 26 in Scarborough
1,301 reviews
0.4 mi away
Leeway Hotel
Leeway Hotel
#8 of 183 in Scarborough
424 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Hackness Grange Country House Hotel
5.6 mi away
Orchard Lodge
Orchard Lodge
#1 of 1 in Flixton
51 reviews
4.2 mi away
Blacksmiths Arms Inn
Blacksmiths Arms Inn
#1 of 1 in Cloughton
170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Duke of York Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Duke of York Guest House

Address: 1-2 Merchants Row | Eastborough, Scarborough YO11 1NQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 183 B&Bs / Inns in Scarborough
Price Range: $68 - $124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in the early 1700's the Duke of York is packed with character and boasts breath taking panoramic views over the South Bay and harbour. Conveniently located in the heart of the town, and just minutes from the main beach, the Duke of York is the perfect place to relax and unwind.Brimming with charm and character, the Duke of York Guest House in Scarborough dates from the early 1700s and affords stunning views across to South Bay and the pretty harbour. Just a short stroll from the famous Spa entertainment complex, beaches and town centre restaurants and shops, we're perfectly placed for relaxing holidays on the Yorkshire Coast. Choose from 9 attractively furnished en-suite rooms. Our 6 front facing bedrooms all boast stunning panoramic views of the South bay beach, Lighthouse and Harbour, and our two 1st floor, sea view bedrooms, have French doors leading onto a spacious balcony with seating area, so you can relax and enjoy a good book or a glass of wine whilst watching the boats sail by.All bedrooms offer full en-suite facilities, with either a bath or shower, and we provide fresh fluffy bath and hand towels for each guest along with hand soaps. Each of our rooms also offer well-stocked refreshment tray's, with tea, coffee, hot chocolate and luxury biscuits, as well as bottled water, hairdryer's and binoculars (in sea view rooms only).All bedrooms are decorated and furnished to a high standard and offer wall mounted flat screen TV's with free-view, and our beds, which were handpicked and tested, are one of the best standards available and will guarantee you a comfortable and cosy night's sleep.You’ve read about the bed, now here’s a little bit about the breakfast. Our delicious breakfasts are just one of the many reasons our guests keep coming back to us year after year. Our front main dining room boasts stunning sea views over the South bay and harbour, so you can enjoy a hearty Yorkshire breakfast whilst watching the boats sail by. Our breakfasts include a fantastic range of starters, including fresh fruit salad, yoghurts, a choice of fruit juices and a great range of cereals. Grab as much or as little as you like from our self-serve table.We then serve up a freshly prepared full English breakfast, consisting of free range eggs, thick back bacon, butcher’s best thick pork sausage, mushrooms, beans and juicy plum or fresh tomatoes, washed down with a range of breakfast/herbal tea's, gold roast coffee or fresh fruit juice. A full vegetarian breakfast option is available and all special diets are catered for as well as any special requests. Our goal is to fill you up for the day and we rarely fail! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Duke of York Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing