We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Duke of York Guest House
Ranked #22 of 183 Scarborough B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent place to stay”
Reviewed May 17, 2013

Just come back from a 2 night stay, everything about The Duke of York was excellent. The location couldn't of been any better, we had a room with a balcony which was lovely to sit out on and look at the views. Jo and staff were lovely and breakfast was very nice. Have already started recommending it to friends & family. Thanks Jo and will be seeing you again, Michelle & Matty.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shell197
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    201
    13
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
48
119
10
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2013 via mobile

Great location, staff really friendly, rooms immaculate, great breakfast. VIEWS STUNNING!! Lovely dogs. This will definitely be our first choice of b&b in Scarborough in the future. Thanks for a great stay.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gemma s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 17, 2013

We stayed at the duke of york for a few days 15th -17th april 2013.
The host joanne was friendly and helpful.
Goes the extra mile, without a doubt if In scarborough well worth trying this excellent little find.

Great hearty beautifully cooked breakfast,
The choice is great too!

Best wishes for the future.

Anne and Mark..

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 1978mdf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2013

my daughter and myself along with our 5 yr old grandson stayed at Duke of York for 3 days and loved it, Joanne the owner was such a lovely person who made us more than welcome . The breakfast was excellent and great selection for children. Staff very friendly and helpful ,nothing too much for them. Rooms very clean with everything you need including small fridge,also the view we had from room was spectacular. Joe also so kindly took us to train station , she is truly a star. We will be back to Duke of York and recommend it to anyone going to scarborough, Thanks again Joe

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank marylouiseleon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scunthorpe, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Myself and my son stayed at the Duke of York for a long weekend and we absolutly loved it. The service was brilliant, I felt like it was home from home. The staff are the friendlest I've met, the owner Jo is one in a million, she couldn't do enough for you.
The rooms were very clean, they had everything you could need waiting for you. The view from my room was amazing. The breakfast was fantastic, you could pick what you wanted from a large selection of items. I would highly recommend the Duke of York to anyway who wants to stay in Scarborough. I can't wait to return next year.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stacey J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bishop Auckland, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2013

We stayed at the Duke of York, Scarborough, Easter 2013.

What a truly lovely place it is. The building is bursting at the seams with character and the staff make you feel like you are part of the family, so helpful and friendly, nothing is to much trouble for them.
The food was excellent, very good selection and plentiful. Our room was superb.

The location is right in the heart of the resort with easy access to the shops.

The dogs are little stars.

We would recommend the Duke of York to anyone and have already booked for a return visit in October.

Jo and her team are the best - thanks Jo for a truly fantastic stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank flipflops42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2013

My wife and I have today returned from our latest break at this brilliant accommodation. We stumbled across the Duke of York some twenty years ago when after somewhere to stay for an odd night in Scarborough and have been returning regularly since. The current owner, Joanne, took over the business from her father and is steadily upgrading the facilities, whilst retaining the charm and warmth of this ancient building. All rooms are spotlessly clean and recently refurbished to a high, comfortable standard, as are the public areas. The breakfasts are the best. Full English, tea, toast, fruit, cereals or whatever you fancy. Joanne is too good to be true. Friendly but professional, with a genuine desire to ensure that your stay is as good an experience as possible. Nothing is too much trouble. The guest house boasts an enviable position with fabulous views over the South Bay, with the big plus of off street parking. If you're seeking a posh hotel with swimming pools and late night bars stay somewhere else. If you're looking for good, clean,comfortable accommodation with a proper Yorkshire welcome, this is the place to be.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ShirleyandJohnL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
0.1 mi away
Palace Hill Hotel Scarborough
Palace Hill Hotel Scarborough
#8 of 183 in Scarborough
485 reviews
0.4 mi away
Leeway Hotel
Leeway Hotel
#3 of 183 in Scarborough
384 reviews
0.3 mi away
La Baia Hotel
La Baia Hotel
#6 of 183 in Scarborough
538 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Tall Storeys Guest House
Tall Storeys Guest House
#28 of 183 in Scarborough
146 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Beaches Bed and Breakfast
The Beaches Bed and Breakfast
#11 of 183 in Scarborough
238 reviews
0.6 mi away
Kimberley Seafront Hotel
Kimberley Seafront Hotel
#27 of 183 in Scarborough
142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Duke of York Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Duke of York Guest House

Property: Duke of York Guest House
Address: 1-2 Merchants Row | Eastborough, Scarborough YO11 1NQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 183 B&Bs / Inns in Scarborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Duke of York Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in the early 1700's the Duke of York is packed with character and boasts breath taking panoramic views over the South Bay and harbour. Conveniently located in the heart of the town, and just minutes from the main beach, the Duke of York is the perfect place to relax and unwind.Brimming with charm and character, the Duke of York Guest House in Scarborough dates from the early 1700s and affords stunning views across to South Bay and the pretty harbour. Just a short stroll from the famous Spa entertainment complex, beaches and town centre restaurants and shops, we're perfectly placed for relaxing holidays on the Yorkshire Coast. Choose from 9 attractively furnished en-suite rooms. Our 6 front facing bedrooms all boast stunning panoramic views of the South bay beach, Lighthouse and Harbour, and our two 1st floor, sea view bedrooms, have French doors leading onto a spacious balcony with seating area, so you can relax and enjoy a good book or a glass of wine whilst watching the boats sail by.All bedrooms offer full en-suite facilities, with either a bath or shower, and we provide fresh fluffy bath and hand towels for each guest along with hand soaps. Each of our rooms also offer well-stocked refreshment tray's, with tea, coffee, hot chocolate and luxury biscuits, as well as bottled water, hairdryer's and binoculars (in sea view rooms only).All bedrooms are decorated and furnished to a high standard and offer wall mounted flat screen TV's with free-view, and our beds, which were handpicked and tested, are one of the best standards available and will guarantee you a comfortable and cosy night's sleep.You’ve read about the bed, now here’s a little bit about the breakfast. Our delicious breakfasts are just one of the many reasons our guests keep coming back to us year after year. Our front main dining room boasts stunning sea views over the South bay and harbour, so you can enjoy a hearty Yorkshire breakfast whilst watching the boats sail by. Our breakfasts include a fantastic range of starters, including fresh fruit salad, yoghurts, a choice of fruit juices and a great range of cereals. Grab as much or as little as you like from our self-serve table.We then serve up a freshly prepared full English breakfast, consisting of free range eggs, thick back bacon, butcher’s best thick pork sausage, mushrooms, beans and juicy plum or fresh tomatoes, washed down with a range of breakfast/herbal tea's, gold roast coffee or fresh fruit juice. A full vegetarian breakfast option is available and all special diets are catered for as well as any special requests. Our goal is to fill you up for the day and we rarely fail! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline so you can book your Duke of York Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing