We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Staff need some hygiene training” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Mist Bar & Lounge

The Mist Bar & Lounge
Ranked #168 of 353 Restaurants in Scarborough
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television
Scarborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Staff need some hygiene training”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2013

This used to be one of our favourite bars in Scarborough, but we feel standards have steadily slipped. We haven't been for a while, but last night we popped in for a late drink following a midweek meal out in a nearby restaurant. Quiet but pleasant atmosphere and friendly bar staff. We ordered a couple of vodkas with Diet Coke. When we tasted the drink we doubted that the Coke was Diet, as it was quite sweet and also made us doubt whether it was real Coke. We asked for a couple of slices of lemon to take the edge off the sweetness and (the bar maid put them in with her fingers casually saying " 'scuse fingers, we've run out of tooth picks! " Mmmm.......

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank John F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    13
    9
    5
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“GoodPubGrub”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2013 via mobile

We went to Mist early before going to see a show and was pleasantly surprised with the food. We had two main meals which only cost £10 as we were in early and both meals were really good. I can recommend the steak pie with mushrooms and stilton cheese. We will definitely be making a return visit to Mist very soon.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank KeefyGH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Very, very nice food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2013

The food in here is brilliant. Seriously love the steak & stilton pie!

It's nice to come in just for a drink too - I like the smoking area at the back, 'cos it's sheltered from the wind, and has a roll out canopy for when it rains.

Very pleasant staff too, and the 2 meals for £8.00 (before 4pm) is a bargain.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank svitapeneela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Worth a visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2013

Fab food, reasonably priced, loved the cocktails, friendly staff.loved the different themed nights for food

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank JanemNorwich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Excellent cheap pub grub”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

My elderly mother was visiting so we took her out for lunch and couldn't get parked where we wanted so ended up outside Mist and decided to have a look.

The place wasn't busy, but it was a Monday lunchtime and every 'comfortable' table suitable for eating food was occupied so we wandered in and found the single member of staff who was a remarkably polite and efficient young lady.

I ordered food and drinks and was told that the food would be at least half an hour.

After about half an hour the mixed starter arrived, it was excellent, hot, freshly cooked and the jalapeños stuffed with cream cheese were about the best we've ever eaten.

We all followed this with a sandwich and chips/potato wedges that none of us could finish.

The sandwiches, in chibata bread, were delicious and moist and beautifully seasoned and huge.

The only downside was the rather intrusive music and a pretty constant draught caused by both the back door and the front door being open, but it was rather warm out.

The staff even parcelled up the sandwich half's and excess chips for us to take away.

We keep going to these cheap pubs for lunch in St Thomas St/St Nicholas Cliff for lunch and this is one of the best so far, highly recommended...

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Bill_scarborough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Mist Bar & Lounge also viewed

Scarborough, Scarborough District
Scarborough, Scarborough District
 
Scarborough, Scarborough District
Scarborough, Scarborough District
 
Scarborough, Scarborough District
Scarborough, Scarborough District
 

Been to The Mist Bar & Lounge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing