We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Below Average for Scarborough”

The Mist Bar & Lounge
Ranked #170 of 358 Restaurants in Scarborough
Cuisines: Mexican
Restaurant details
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Below Average for Scarborough”
Reviewed July 13, 2013 via mobile

We ordered bangers and mash and it came with watery potatoes, watery gravy and 3 of the smallest sausages I have ever seen. To be fair the sausages were tasty and not fatty at all. The gravy was suposed to be onion gravy but it was just cheap instant gravy that they had added too much water to and not bothered To stir enough. The Hobgoblin beer had almost turned to vinegar and half a pints of German lager was almost £3.

We live in Scarborough and most places offer a much better standard of food and drink and many are cheaper and friendlier too.

The place is aimed at the young and trendy and is well appointed but disappoints in the delivery of fayre and service.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank DarrenAndDanielle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    15
    10
    5
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Scarborough, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“too pricey !”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

very unfriendly staff the lager prices have to be the most expensive in Scarborough including some hotels. I haven't tried the food since it got a poor rating but it could have improved

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank caroleannie1471
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarborough, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Good pub - but needs managing better”
Reviewed February 7, 2013

Good atmosphere but a constantly banging toilet door when people enter and leave spoils conversation if your seated at that end.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Dire service and food”
Reviewed February 2, 2013 via mobile

Went on Sunday for food with friends, the bar was busy with just 1 member of staff serving, ordered drinks and food and were advised food may be up to 40 minutes. Over an hour and a half later the girl from the bar came to tell us that half of the stuff we ordered wasn't available,food finally turns up 45 minutes after she had been across and was foul,poorly cooked,poorly presented and nothing like the menu described. Left most of it and walked out. Oddly enough,the owner of the bar walks on with his kid and gets 2 plated roast dinners within seconds of sitting down. Had half a mind to go and tell him what I thought of the place! We used to come here all the time for food and drinks when we were in town but we won't even be going for drinks anymore, the place has really gone Downhill, it was filthy too AND most of their food was from Aldi including condiments which I have no problem with,but when your prices don't reflect that it's a poor show,

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank frankie_20042001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A misty place to eat”
Reviewed December 13, 2012 via mobile

My partner and I went there to eat for our first visit (drank in there a few times) I think.
I had chilli enchiladas which were cracking, as well as a warm plate which helped. My partner had mushrooms con queso with a jacket potato which she enjoyed.
The only criticism that I had was that the chilli had too much tomato in it but the spices were excellent.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jabba1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Mist Bar & Lounge also viewed

Scarborough, Scarborough District
Scarborough, Scarborough District
 
Scarborough, Scarborough District
Scarborough, Scarborough District
 
Scarborough, Scarborough District
Scarborough, Scarborough District
 

Been to The Mist Bar & Lounge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing