We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“cheap but not so cheerful”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Barbican - CLOSED

Barbican
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Highchairs Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Highchairs Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television
Bailieborough, Ireland
Level Contributor
150 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“cheap but not so cheerful”
Reviewed May 5, 2013 via mobile

Food is extremely good value at give-away prices, and a varied menu with lots of two for one offers, as are the drinks. But in the whole it was dirty when we visited with poor table clearing or cleaning. But if you want somewhere cheap to eat then you probably cant beat it ... but take wet wipes to clean your sticky table !

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bailieborough_Blowin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

54 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    19
    13
    5
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“worth the money”
Reviewed April 11, 2013

we were only there on tuesday and sat in a booth, we were on holiday in scarborough and had check this out to find places with large menus to fit fussy eaters in our party, we were not disappointed the 2 for 1 pizza were HUGE we could have shared one if we had realised before ordering, they were fresh made and tasted great, the pulled beef burger my partner thought was great and the curry was large, we all had starters kids loved the southern fried chicken and the onion rings as a side were to die for, no seriously i could have had a second bowl of them. staff were friendly and attentive could not have asked for more, all stuffed so didnt try the 2 for on desserts and feel i missed out, but if we come to scarborough again will defo come back for atmosphere food and service...........and i used to have my own restaurant. x enjoy

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank fifer24601
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Lothian, Scotland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Poor customer service and very tatty”
Reviewed April 7, 2013

We stopped by the Barbican for a weekday lunch with our two children. The advertisement in the window lured us in, advertising some good value meals in a Wetherspoons-type establishment.

Once inside, we went looking for a table. The area around the bar was reasonably busy, but there was a booth seat towards the rear. However, this area was very dark and dingy, and when we got there we found that the seats in the booth had been slashed - not very pretty. We returned to the bar area and found a window table had become available.

The menu advertised a children's menu which was available on request from the bar. I went over and asked for it, expecting one to be handed over there and then. The girl that was behind the bar seemed to be a complete space cadet! She was completely confused by the request, said she didn't know where one was, and that as she was on the bar she couldn't look for one. She did say she would try to get someone to bring one over (note that the bar wasn't very busy - in fact no-one was waiting to be served!)

Meantime, my wife took my daughter to the toilet and found it to be in quite a state, with bins overflowing and toilet paper all over the floor - not particularly pleasant,

We waited and waited but no-one brought the menu; despite glancing over at the girl again and making eye contact, it did not seem to register we were still waiting. At this point we'd had enough of the lack of service and unpleasant surroundings and decided to leave.

The food being served to others looked ok, although this is clearly not a place for families - it looks pretty much like an evening drinking den which happens to open for lunch (and feels like the staff have been up all night with the revellers!).

Would suggest you avoid if you are looking for a clean, family friendly establishment.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Crystalcovers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovely meal :)”
Reviewed April 6, 2013

I went with 5 members of my family and we went to sit on the big booths at the top but they only seat about 4 people so we couldn't all sit together I ordered s & j melt with curly fries because I usually get the kids meal which doesn't have enough food on the plate so I always went out hungry the food was lovely but my portion was massive and I only ate half of it the staff were lovely and welcoming and we didnt have to wait long for are food.there were allot of offers on the day we went but one pizza get one free. The atmosphere was great but was loud because football was on but there again it is a pub and its lovely pub food so overall it was lovely .:)

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Hollyhoney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed March 27, 2013 via mobile

The atmosphere is nice inside but that's instantly contradicted by the unfriendly and poor service by staff (both day and night). The food isn't that great (suspect a lot of it is reheated) and the value isn't all that fantastic. There are a lot nicer places to eat.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Flannabells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Barbican also viewed

 
Potter Brompton, Scarborough
Scarborough, Scarborough District
 
Scarborough, Scarborough District
Scarborough, Scarborough District
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing