We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely establishment” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Alexander Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Scarborough
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Alexander Hotel
Ranked #68 of 184 Scarborough B&B and Inns
Tyne & wear
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Lovely establishment”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2010

Lovely clean hotel run by very friendly enthusiastic couple booked to go again most welcoming

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank billcbr6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

214 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    201
    9
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
14
157
10
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Doncaster S Yorks England
Level Contributor
72 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2010

I don't think I can add much to the positive reviews submitted by previous guests other than to say I fully endorse their opinions and if you are looking for somewhere to stay in Scarborough then go ahead and book and then relax in the certain knowledge that you will be more than satisfied with this delightfully run family establishment .
If we ever stay in Scarborough again this would be the place.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 1view
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nottingham
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2010

had a fantastic time at the Alexander hotel.Alex and Julie were wonderful hosts.nothing was too much trouble for them.the hotel was immaculately clean and the breakfast was delicious!We have stopped in many hotels in the U.K and this is by far the very best of them all.A gem!thanks Alex and Julie.

Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank jessie090
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Staffs
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2010

We've stayed with Julie & Alex several times before and have always had a perfect stay. Warm welcome and EVERTHING is first class. At each visit there have always been yet further improvements even to facilities that many hotels would have run with until they dropped (off)!
So clean and sparkling everywhere but guests still feel totally at ease in this home-from-home. With Alex's enthusiastic cooking we can never understand why guests choose just B&B option.
All rooms have widescreen HD TV and some have an additional comfy sitting areas. Rather than just booking on line it's better to talk to Julie herself so she can describe exactly what she has available.
No need to drop a bullseye point for location as the Alex is near to excellent Peasholme park and rejuvenated North bay with frequent promenade transport through to South bay & spa.
Scarborough's hidden gem for perfect accommodation.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JaguarStaffs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teesside
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2010

We had an enjoyable stay at the Alexander Hotel, warm friendly welcome, the rooms are beautifully furnished and decorated and are exceptionally clean. We would recommend having an evening meal as this was very nice indeed as was breakfast. We will definitely stay here again. Well done Alex and Julie.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank suzyflo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melton Mowbray
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2010

Alexander Hotel does just what it says on the box!
It started when we arrived and were greeted with tea and home made shortbread. This also gave the opportunity to meet the other guests.
Our room was very clean, well decorated and spacious. It had all the amenities we needed.
The food was excellent and the table service even better. The lounge and bar was a great meeting place with Julie and Alex joining in the conversation from time to time.
All in all a very enjoyable stay and this hotel has just achieved it's Gold Star Award!! Well deserved.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ReneMeltonMowbray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hollywood
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2010

Upon entering this attractive hotel we were greeted with such a warm welcome with fresh coffee and home made shortbread. We were absolutely stunned when wewere shown our room, it was amazing!! it had been completely revamped along with several other rooms and the standard was just incredible!! We had the privelidge of being in the hotel before a lot of the other guests arrived and was shown the other rooms which had also been revamped and we would have been hardpressed to pick a favourite. ~We were staying in the luxury room and it certainly lived upto its title!! We were also proud to hear that the hotel inspector had been the week prior and awarded thehotel the first gold award in Scarborough!! The hotel certainly deserved it. Our room had a lovely walk in wardrobe and a superb seating area wuith brown leather chairs which was very relaxinhg and good to have an area apart from the bed in which to sit and read and just take in a tea or coffee. Every single thing has been thought out ndown to decor and accessoreis, the shower room was beautiful and screamed out cleanliness and was so spacious, truly wonderful. The location of the hotel is superb and close to all ameniuties especially Peasholme Park and many local attractions. There are many local pubs to which we attended most evening and had a truly wonderful 4 days away!!! There is nothing in this hotethat i could pick fault with, Jule and Alex who run the show are just amazing people, a real pleasure to be around and you certtainly do leave as a friend!! We left today and booked again for a few momths down the line and am already looking forward to it.. Anyone reading ths review i urge you to treat yourself and experience a real taste of Yorkshire!! First Class in every way!!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bogarthollywood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
0.2 mi away
Manor Heath Hotel
Manor Heath Hotel
#13 of 28 in Scarborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 151 reviews
2.1 mi away
Ox Pasture Hall Hotel
Ox Pasture Hall Hotel
#3 of 28 in Scarborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,417 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Moorings
The Moorings
#110 of 184 in Scarborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Norlands Hotel
Norlands Hotel
#111 of 184 in Scarborough
4.0 of 5 bubbles 40 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Lysander
The Lysander
#52 of 184 in Scarborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 151 reviews
0.2 mi away
Villa Marina
Villa Marina
#31 of 184 in Scarborough
5.0 of 5 bubbles 97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alexander Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alexander Hotel

Property: Alexander Hotel
Address: 33 Burniston Road, Scarborough YO12 6PG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #68 of 184 B&Bs / Inns in Scarborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Alexander Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Alexander is a Gold award accommodation, Exclusively for Adults 100% non-smoking, purpose-built Scarborough hotel close to the sea, all the North Bay attractions and the North York moors. With a resident professional chef, a cocktail bar, modern centrally heated rooms, en suite facilities, TV, tea and coffee, a warm welcome and all the comforts of home await you. Commended by the English Tourism Council. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing