We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Is there a better place to stay in Scarborough ?”
Review of Alexander Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Alexander Hotel
Ranked #60 of 184 Scarborough B&B and Inns
Reviewed April 27, 2014

We don't think there is anywhere better in Scarborough. Having stayed again with Julie & Alex for 4 days this month and at least once a year over the last 4 years, we just wouldn't go anywhere else. The rooms are first class, spotlessly clean, with comfy beds and with everything there for a relaxing stay. Each year Julie seems to add something extra to the room.
Alex cooks some beautiful breakfasts and evening meals, and surprised us yet again with his special 'bread & butter pudding'. We wouldn't try to eat out any more, as tried it 1 year and regretted it, as it was only average and cost us more.
Car parking is easy and free, and it's only a short walk to the North Bay or Peasholm Park, or there's the bus to catch into the town center.
We'll be back next year, or sooner if we can.

Room Tip: Go for the luxury rooms, as they are worth the small extra cost, with bigger beds, bigger teles and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tes389, Owner at Alexander Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2014

Glad it was as good as you remembered, we try our best to give the whole package so our guests can relax and enjoy their break. Look forward to the next time. Best Wishes Julie and Alex

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (226)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

61 - 67 of 226 reviews

Reviewed April 25, 2014

Just had another great weekend at the Alexander.Lovely room spotlessly clean and comfortable. Alex's cooking is amazing we had four wonderful 4 course evening meals with a choice of menu each evening cooked and presented to perfection.Julie made our Easter special with lots of little extras - chocolate bunnies and home made Easter biscuits.No worries about parking when we take our car out we know we will be guaranteed a parking space when we return after our day out. Looking forward to our next visit.

Room Tip: Stayed in most rooms all a very high standard
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vivienne T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tes389, Owner at Alexander Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2014

It was a super Easter with lovely guests and I Loved making the Easter treats. See you both soon Best Wishes Julie and Alex

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2014

What can you say about this hotel that has not already been said. This hotel should be the benchmark that other hotels follow. Alex is one of the most amazing chefs you will ever find and his breakfasts and dinners are the best.

Julie and Alex, I hope it won't be long before you regain your top spot in Scarborough.

Room Tip: All the rooms have the same high standard of comfort and cleanliness.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank julie1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tes389, Owner at Alexander Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2014

It was lovely to see you both again, even the Easter weather was kind! Thanks for taking the time to write a great review. Best Wishes Julie and Alex

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2014

First class accommodation, food and hospitality. Room small but well equipped with everything you may need and great to get a bath as well as shower. Alex, your gorgeous puddings deserve to be enveloped in your beautiful custard not floating on a lake, thank you for the bowls !!!! Thanks too to Julie for your lovely Easter treats.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank caspas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tes389, Owner at Alexander Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2014

Glad you enjoyed your stay and thanks for the lovely review. Best Wishes Julie and Alex

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2014

Just back from a four night stay at The Alexander on Scarboroughs North Bay.Always a warm welcome from Alex and Julie with coffee and shortbread.Excellent food for breakfast and dinner and first class accommodation make The Alexander a special place to stay. Back soon.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled solo
Thank David N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tes389, Owner at Alexander Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2014

Thank you for the great review, as one of our many repeat guest its good to know that you still love coming to us. Best Wishes Julie and Alex

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2014

We have just returned from a wonderful 3 night stay at the Alexander for their opening weekend and all I can say is if you are looking for first class accommodation and food in a friendly,family run hotel, look no further! Alex and Julie make everyone welcome at The Alexander,whether you are new visitors or returners and it is easy to see why many, like ourselves do return again and again. The rooms are spotlessly clean and really comfortable with all the facilities you would expect from 5 star accommodation. Prices vary depending on the size of room you want. The food as always was superb and although this was a special weekend with a dinner party on Saturday night, the breakfasts and evening meals you get in the season are second to non.
Finally, The Alexander certainly doesn't deserve to be at 19 on Trip Advisor. Give it a try and I'm sure you will see what I mean. Already looking forward to our next visit later this year!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Zipwirequeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
happyskierYorkshire, Owner at Alexander Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2014

A great weekend had by all, good food,good friends and Scarborough in sunshine.
Alex and I are refreshed and ready for the 2014 summer season, looking forward to welcoming new and repeat guest. Thanks for a great review see you soon.
Julie and Alex

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2014

We and our friends spent a wonderful 4 night stay at the Alexander last summer. We would have no hesitation in thoroughly recommending this quiet hotel to anyone. Whilst this was our first visit to the hotel it quickly became clear in talking to the other guests that most of them were regular visitors who had been returning for years. That in itself speaks volumes! The rooms were very comfortable and decorated to a good standard with all the expected facilities ensuite. Julie and Alex and their family made us feel very much at home. Nothing was too much trouble for them. Alex's home cooking was to die for! Thanks for a lovely time and good luck for the future - you deserve it!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thomas M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tes389, Owner at Alexander Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2014

Thank you for your lovely review of the Alexander. Hope to see you all again this summer.
we start our 2014 season from the 13th of April, to book please call or email this will always be the best price and we can help with room choice and dietary needs to make your stay a memorable one. Looking forward to meeting and greeting you all this summer.
Regards Julie and Alex

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
0.2 mi away
Park Manor Hotel
Park Manor Hotel
#4 of 26 in Scarborough
922 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Moorings
The Moorings
#108 of 184 in Scarborough
36 reviews
0.2 mi away
Villa Marina
Villa Marina
#40 of 184 in Scarborough
117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Headlands Hotel
The Headlands Hotel
#10 of 184 in Scarborough
380 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ryndle Court Hotel
Ryndle Court Hotel
#80 of 184 in Scarborough
123 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Lysander
The Lysander
#52 of 184 in Scarborough
171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alexander Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alexander Hotel

Address: 33 Burniston Road, Scarborough YO12 6PG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #60 of 184 B&Bs / Inns in Scarborough
Price Range: $127 - $137 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Alexander Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Alexander is a Gold award accommodation, Exclusively for Adults 100% non-smoking, purpose-built Scarborough hotel close to the sea, all the North Bay attractions and the North York moors. With a resident professional chef, a cocktail bar, modern centrally heated rooms, en suite facilities, TV, tea and coffee, a warm welcome and all the comforts of home await you. Commended by the English Tourism Council. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Alexander Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing