We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“First stay but won't be the last” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Alexander Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Scarborough
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Alexander Hotel
Ranked #68 of 184 Scarborough B&B and Inns
Barnsley
2 reviews
“First stay but won't be the last”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2013

Very friendly and welcoming.
Spotless clean bedrooms and all public areas.
Delicious breakfast. Great choice, juices, cereals, fruit, preserves, lovely homemade touches, plus the cooked breakfast, excellent.
Excellent, comfortable friendly bar.
We were lucky as the weather was kind, very warm, we asked for a fan for our bedroom so we didnt have to sleep with the window open, this was provided immediately.
Ideal location, handy for beach, Peasholm park etc.
Would not hesitate to recommend, we will definitely book to stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cathy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

214 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    201
    9
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
14
157
10
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chorley, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2013

we have had a fantastic holiday ,staying at the alexander hotel in scarborough.the food was excellent,top class,the rooms were spotless.lovely fluffy robes and towels.alex and julie made us so welcome,we will definitely go back once again a big thank you to you both.from jean and dave

Room Tip: the room we had was number 4 it was perfect
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DANDJKER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tes389, Owner at Alexander Hotel, responded to this review, July 27, 2013
It was a pleasure to meet you both, I think Dave's favourite was the trio of local sausages with Alex's rich onion gravy! Hope to see you both again.
Best Wishes Julie and Alex
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2013

I have just returned from a great nine night stay at The Alexander.With excellent food and accommodation and always a warm welcome from Alex and Julie.Make The Alexander the best place to stay in Scarborough. Back soon.

Room Tip: Always phone Julie.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tes389, Owner at Alexander Hotel, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Thank you for the review ' Everyone looks forward to when David is in the house' one of our many long standing repeat guest, Ps he's our bus and train timetable specialist ! See you in September sunshine ordered . xx Love Julie Alex and boys
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2013

When any establishment constantly achieves glowing accolades then suddenly one or two dodgey reports creep in it can send alarm bells ringing, don't let any such comments put you off visiting the gem of a place I discovered last week. My good lady and myself enjoyed a splendid short stay at The Alexander Hotel on Scarborough's north side. What a splendid experience it was too, the room was very nice indeed, excellent bathroom too, the whole decor was first class with no 'cheap' paint jobs and dodgy joinery ventures which sadly can happen. Breakfast was just right, served by a chirpy Julie and her team while Alex beavered away in the kitchen. The evening meal was simply splendid and certainly not a run of the mill offering, it's quality defied the hotel's reasonable prices. But it was the friendliness of this hard working couple (plus helpers) which shone through and demonstrated just why you should make a note of their hotel if being near to the sea, off road parking, excellent food and cosy bar are on your list of holiday requirements. We will return.
Barry and Bernie, Doncaster

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BazDoncaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tes389, Owner at Alexander Hotel, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Thank you much for your review, we do try our utmost to make everyone's stay a wonderful memory , but my dear mum had a wonderful saying ' You can lead a horse to water you can't make it drink' LOL. Everything Alexander is done with care and attention that's why so many return! See you soon.
Regards Julie and Alex
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2013

We have just enjoyed another excellent break at the Alexander. As usual, our room was great with lovely décor. Our bed was very comfortable and we had a superb amount of storage space for all our clutter. The bathroom was, as always, spotlessly clean with a good, powerful shower, very welcome with the current heatwave! Breakfast at the Alexander is always a treat; there is always a lovely warm atmosphere from our hosts; the food was fresh and perfectly cooked and Julie's great granola is irresistible. Julie and Alex always make us feel very welcome; they always enthuse us with their delightful approach to their work and nothing is too much trouble for them. It is so nice to find somewhere to stay which is for adults only. We can't wait to return next month to our 'home from home'.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank choosypair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tes389, Owner at Alexander Hotel, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Glad you enjoyed your Holiday, we do appreciate when our customers know we care and do our best. My secret granola recipe is always a winner.
See you in August
Regards Julie and Alex xx
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2013

my husband and i have just returned from a three night stay at the Alexander Hotel.The proprietors Alex and Julie take great pride and joy in making all their clients visits as perfect as possible The hotel is beautiful and clean food is excellent and cooked to a very high standard which makes you want to return year after year We stayed in a luxury room at the front of the hotel facing the main road due to the hot weather we left the windows open at night and slept well.Once again thankyou Alex Julie and Aaron for a perfect stay.
Jean and Des Durham 19th July

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jean b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tes389, Owner at Alexander Hotel, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Lovely to see you both again, now the kitchen is all done you will be able to enjoy the rest of the summer. Regards Julie and Alex x
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
north east lincs
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013

Another wonderful stay at the Alexander, always a warm welcome, with spotless accommodation, excellent food, great hosts, a very warm and friendly lounge with a licensed bar and at the end of the day very comfortable beds to rest your head! cant wait to return again!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cherubjo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tes389, Owner at Alexander Hotel, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Repeat guests is a true reflection of the Alexander. Thanks for taking the time to write a review.
Best Wishes Julie and Alex xx
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
0.2 mi away
Manor Heath Hotel
Manor Heath Hotel
#14 of 28 in Scarborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 151 reviews
2.1 mi away
Ox Pasture Hall Hotel
Ox Pasture Hall Hotel
#3 of 28 in Scarborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,423 reviews
0.2 mi away
Park Manor Hotel
Park Manor Hotel
#4 of 28 in Scarborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 784 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Norlands Hotel
Norlands Hotel
#109 of 184 in Scarborough
4.0 of 5 bubbles 40 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Headlands Hotel
The Headlands Hotel
#10 of 184 in Scarborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 279 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Moorings
The Moorings
#112 of 184 in Scarborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alexander Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alexander Hotel

Property: Alexander Hotel
Address: 33 Burniston Road, Scarborough YO12 6PG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #68 of 184 B&Bs / Inns in Scarborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Alexander Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Alexander is a Gold award accommodation, Exclusively for Adults 100% non-smoking, purpose-built Scarborough hotel close to the sea, all the North Bay attractions and the North York moors. With a resident professional chef, a cocktail bar, modern centrally heated rooms, en suite facilities, TV, tea and coffee, a warm welcome and all the comforts of home await you. Commended by the English Tourism Council. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing