We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Alexander Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Park Manor Hotel(Scarborough)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Beachfront
  • Restaurant
Brindley(Scarborough)
View Hotel
Boston Hotel(Scarborough)
View Hotel
  • Breakfast included
  • Beachfront
Delmont Hotel(Scarborough)
View Hotel
  • Breakfast included
  • Beachfront
Bay Norbreck Hotel(Scarborough)
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Palm Court Hotel(Scarborough)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (226)
Filter reviews
226 results
Traveler rating
213
9
3
1
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
213
9
3
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsjulie alexhomemade shortbreadwarm welcomehome made cakesevening meals arecooked to perfectionlittle touchesroom was spotlessly cleanother guestsperfect hostsdining roomcomfy bedyogurtcleanlinessbreaktoiletries
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
121 - 126 of 226 reviews
Reviewed August 31, 2012

That this hotel delivers. In cricket week 2012 we were bowled over by hospitality. Like the Ritz, with Yorkshire humour and weather. If rain stopped play you can use the games room / bar indoors, or just take tea ( the first one is on the house ) Julie will help you with everything.
Food is delicious, The rooms are wonderfully modern, clean and luxury room 8 gives you a castle view. Don't hesitate if you want a slow pace holiday. There's a train ride to the sea life centre just over the road! No wonder the guaets keep coming back, the home made cake for breakfast really is the topping on the top

Room Tip: we saw other rooms, luxury is best
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank solarpanel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tes389, Owner at Alexander Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 1, 2012

Glad you all had a lovely time. The weather and the cricket did get better , the rest of the guests left very happy with a Yorkshire win!!! Regards Julie and Alex

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2012

Our stay over the three days at the Alexander Hotel was so lovely. Julie and Alex made us very welcome and were so helpful, The room was so clean, The food was a real treat Alex did some lovely dishes,they could'nt have done enough to make our first trip so enjoyable and made us so welcome,We met some nice couples who had all been before which say's a lot for the Hotel.We will definitely return in the future

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mossy54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tes389, Owner at Alexander Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 1, 2012

Thanks so much for your review. Glad you both enjoyed the food and company look forward to meeting you again in 2013. Regards Julie and Alex

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2012

My wife and I celebrated our wedding anniversary in July and chose to stay at the Alexander. As we had been before we knew we would have a comfortable and enjoyable holiday. When travelling it's good to be certain that everything will be to your satisfaction.

No wonder this hotel is rated so highly; it is well deserved! Like everyone else we met there, we were impressed with the service, the cleanliness, the food, most particulalry the friendly manner of Julie and Alex.

We are looking forward to going again next year. Thank you.

Colin Huntley

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Colin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tes389, Owner at Alexander Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2012

Well we shall return is wonderful news, thankyou for writing a review we do try our very best, join our facebook friends to keep upto date with opening dates and all news that is The Alexander. Best Wishes See you Next Year Julie and Alex xx

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2012

Exceptional welcome, hotel spotlessly clean and the breakfasts and dinner out of this world. Julie and Alex exceptionally friendly and nothing was too much for them. Enjoyed the wine at reasonable prices. Will visit again. John & Norah C

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tes389, Owner at Alexander Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2012

Well what can I say my knees are very sore trying to keep the rain clouds away while you went to the Open Air Theatre to see the Great Russell Watson but it worked!! even free fireworks for the rest of our guests. Glad you enjoyed your stay love Julie and Alex xx Join our facebook page to keep up with the Alexanders news this Winter.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2012

Just stayed for a week at the Alexander Hotel which was absolutely fantastic - this has to be the best hotel in Scarborough, nothing was too much trouble from the moment we arrived.
The food was superb the room excellent and was kept spotless throughout our stay.
Julie and Alex made us feel like one of the family and we are looking forward to many more visits.
We would recommend the Alexander to anyone visiting Scarborough

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Denise S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tes389, Owner at Alexander Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2012

It was so great to look after you both, Glad you enjoyed the Scrambled egg perfection!! Thanks for taking the time to write a lovely review and for booking Direct! xx Julie and Alex

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews