We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Alexander Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Rivelyn Hotel(Scarborough)
$60
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Wrea Head Hall(Scarborough)
$145
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Palm Court Hotel(Scarborough)
$167
$117
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Esplanade Hotel(Scarborough)
$103
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
The Crescent Hotel(Scarborough)
$166
$150
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$173
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Ambassador Hotel(Scarborough)
$77
$74
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Crown Spa Hotel(Scarborough)
$558
$85
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hackness Grange Country House Hotel(Hackness)(Great Value!)
$118
$114
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$90
PremierInn.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (229)
Filter reviews
229 results
Traveler rating
216
9
3
1
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
216
9
3
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsjulie alexhomemade shortbreadwarm welcomehome made cakesevening meals arecooked to perfectionlittle touchesroom was spotlessly cleanother guestsperfect hostsdining roomcomfy bedyogurtcleanlinessbreaktoiletries
Filter
Updating list...
126 - 131 of 229 reviews
Reviewed August 8, 2012

My wife and I celebrated our wedding anniversary in July and chose to stay at the Alexander. As we had been before we knew we would have a comfortable and enjoyable holiday. When travelling it's good to be certain that everything will be to your satisfaction.

No wonder this hotel is rated so highly; it is well deserved! Like everyone else we met there, we were impressed with the service, the cleanliness, the food, most particulalry the friendly manner of Julie and Alex.

We are looking forward to going again next year. Thank you.

Colin Huntley

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Colin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tes389, Owner at Alexander Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2012

Well we shall return is wonderful news, thankyou for writing a review we do try our very best, join our facebook friends to keep upto date with opening dates and all news that is The Alexander. Best Wishes See you Next Year Julie and Alex xx

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2012

Exceptional welcome, hotel spotlessly clean and the breakfasts and dinner out of this world. Julie and Alex exceptionally friendly and nothing was too much for them. Enjoyed the wine at reasonable prices. Will visit again. John & Norah C

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tes389, Owner at Alexander Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2012

Well what can I say my knees are very sore trying to keep the rain clouds away while you went to the Open Air Theatre to see the Great Russell Watson but it worked!! even free fireworks for the rest of our guests. Glad you enjoyed your stay love Julie and Alex xx Join our facebook page to keep up with the Alexanders news this Winter.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2012

Just stayed for a week at the Alexander Hotel which was absolutely fantastic - this has to be the best hotel in Scarborough, nothing was too much trouble from the moment we arrived.
The food was superb the room excellent and was kept spotless throughout our stay.
Julie and Alex made us feel like one of the family and we are looking forward to many more visits.
We would recommend the Alexander to anyone visiting Scarborough

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Denise S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tes389, Owner at Alexander Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2012

It was so great to look after you both, Glad you enjoyed the Scrambled egg perfection!! Thanks for taking the time to write a lovely review and for booking Direct! xx Julie and Alex

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2012

With fantastic accommodation and great breakfast and evening dinner make the Alexander for me the best place to stay in Scarborough. Nothing is too much trouble for Alex and Julie. Back soon

Room Tip: All rooms are good
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tes389, Owner at Alexander Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2012

Thanks for the lovely review, looking forward to seeing you again as do all other guest do! When our regular guest phone us they always ask if your here xx And at last it's Sunny!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Love Julie Alex Jordan and Aaron xx

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2012

Another super stay with Julie & Alex. Just everything top level as always including high quality room with very modern en-suite. Welcome as friendly as ever and food top rate as always.Breakfasts are award winning of course with lots of add-ons like whisky- and greengage- marmalades. Dinners are superb with Alex providing interesting twists to quality ingredients. It was good to choose from his menu after breakfast so something to look forward to during the day and a boost when weather not so good! (Even so only one really wet day during a week this July.)
We've stayed many times and there are always folk there that have stayed before which speaks volumes for this friendly and dedicated hotel. Certainly should be top of the ratings!

Room Tip: Look on internet but BOOK by phone to get full details of the rooms and meals from Julie.
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JaguarStaffs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tes389, Owner at Alexander Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 20, 2012

5 star review for a 5 star guest. Love Julie and Alex xx

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews