We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Alexander Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Park Manor Hotel(Scarborough)
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Excellent 5/5
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Average 3/5
  • Beachfront
  • Restaurant
Brindley(Scarborough)
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
    Boston Hotel(Scarborough)
    View Hotel
    Very Good 4/5
    • Breakfast included
    • Beachfront
    Delmont Hotel(Scarborough)
    View Hotel
    Average 3/5
    • Breakfast included
    • Beachfront
    Bay Norbreck Hotel(Scarborough)
    View Hotel
    Good 3.5/5
    • Restaurant
    • Bar/Lounge
    View Hotel
    Great 4.5/5
    Certificate of Excellence
    • Free Wifi
    • Restaurant
    View Hotel
    Average 3/5
    • Pool
    • Restaurant
    Palm Court Hotel(Scarborough)
    View Hotel
    Very Good 4/5
    Certificate of Excellence
    • Free Wifi
    • Free Parking
    Reviews (226)
    Filter reviews
    226 results
    Traveler rating
    213
    9
    3
    1
    0
    Traveler type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    213
    9
    3
    1
    0
    Show reviews that mention
    All reviewsjulie alexhomemade shortbreadwarm welcomehome made cakesevening meals arecooked to perfectionlittle touchesroom was spotlessly cleanother guestsperfect hostsdining roomcomfy bedyogurtcleanlinessbreaktoiletries
    FilterAll languages
    Updating list...
    129 - 134 of 226 reviews
    Reviewed July 6, 2012

    We returned to the Alexander just two months after our previous visit...and having made the booking, we could totally relax. For we know even before we arrive on the doorstep that the quality and care will be of the very highest standard.

    And so it proved.

    This hotel is an absolute gem. It is to be unreservedly recommended.

    Oh - and we're back again in late August...so we can safely let any concerns about our holiday melt away...

    • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank mmscarb
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Management response:Responded July 9, 2012

    Consistency is one of the things we do pride ourselves on, it is one of the hardest things to achieve and 12 years on we still strive to do. Thanks so much for taking the time to let others know you love the Alexander. See you in August love Julie and Alex

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Reviewed June 29, 2012

    My wife and I stayed at this hotel for three nights in June 2012 and it is excellent.From arrival to departure you are looked after and made to feel special.Our room was of a very high standard as were the breakfasts. Also available is a three course dinner which is served early which enables you to go to the theatre etc should you wish it.Alex is a trained chef and his cuisine is to a high but reasonably priced standard.The hotel is situated on the North bay side,close to Peasholm Park and the open air theatre.A public bus service has a stop by the front door.

    Room Tip: The hotel is on three floors with stairs to climb
    • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    1  Thank tony2mayston
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Management response:Responded June 30, 2012

    Glad you had a lovely time with us, and that you and your friends enjoyed the Alexander. We like to offer our customers quality food,accommodation consistant service with a smile at a good value price. By taking the time to write a great review you would have helped new guest look forward to their holiday, thankyou so much. Regards Julie and Alex xx See you next year.

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Reviewed June 25, 2012

    As I said to Alex "I see why you get such excellent reviews!" . He and Julie just do everything so well. This charming B+B is a lovely retreat. The room we had was very clean, spacious and tastefully decorated. Downstairs they have a cozy sitting area with a fireplace and offered us a drink when we arrived. The breakfasts were perfect -with several choices as well as nicely presented fruit and cereal options and homemade cakes and lemon curd. A real feast! Makes us look forward to returning and trying one of their dinners next time. Alex and Julie are gracious hosts in every way. We feel like we made new friends. This is the kind of B+B experience anyone should appreciate. We will be back!

    • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    1  Thank Lindayn
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Management response:Responded June 27, 2012

    It was lovely to meet you both, Glad we lived up to expectations. Thanks for booking direct by phone and being a follower on facebook. Looking forward to seeing both again. Sorry about the English weather, much cooler than America. Best Wishes Julie and Alex xx

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Reviewed June 24, 2012

    We had a very warm welcome from Julie and Alex who make you feel like one of the family. Room 3 was our choice once again, a large room with king size bed and en suite.
    This visit was for 10 very enjoyable days. The overall decor in the Hotel is first class and the standard of cleanliness exceptionally high. The dining room provides meals of a very high standard prepared with top quality fresh ingredients by a highly skilled chef, Alex, backed up by prompt and friendly service from Julie.
    I would sumarise our stay as follows: Welcome, friendliness, room and cleanliness excellent, food excellent , overall the Hotel is excellent and we will be back.

    Room Tip: Pick up the phone, talk to Julie and explain what you want. Much better than trying to talk sense to a Computer.
    • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank hawleyj
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Management response:Responded June 25, 2012

    We loved having you both back at the Alexander, 10 days with us went to fast. Thank you for the room tip we love it when people pick up the phone to make a reservation because we can tell them the room that would best suit all there needs. Hope to see you both again next year. Julie and Alex xxx

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Reviewed June 23, 2012

    Great hotel very friendly and warm welcome, with a drink on arrival which was great after a long drive, I stayed in room 5 cosy double room, tea and coffee facilities, the breakfasts are very nice choice of eggs how y want them home jam and marmalade as well as homemade cakes, they make you part of the family which is lovely and welcoming not too far from the sea front and not too far from the open air theatre a 5 minute walk too both, everything is within walking distance, personally I think they could do with a stronger wifi router for there wifi signal but thats just my preference as I was working and signal cvery weak from my room but other then that well worth a visit I will be going back

    Stayed: June 2012, traveled solo
    1  Thank Mario346
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Management response:Responded June 25, 2012

    Glad you had a good first time at the Alexander, Sorry the weather was a little wet!!!! Hope the photos of the John Barrowman concert came out great. Regarding the wifi Alex says it may be due to the weather but he will check it out.
    Regards Julie and Alex

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    View more reviews