We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fantastic time”
Review of Alexander Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Alexander Hotel
Ranked #61 of 184 Scarborough B&B and Inns
Reviewed April 4, 2012

Had a great time last week at the alexander
Fantastic food dont think i have had better anywhere room superb in every way
very friendly hosts could not fault it even the weather was incredible red hot in march looking forward to next time

Room Tip: number 3 is very nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Avril B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tes389, Owner at Alexander Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2012

Thank you for the lovely review , try our best to make every stay special we look forward to meeting you again. , Remember we always give a discount on our online price if you telehone us direct. Have a lovely summer. Regards Julie and Alex

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (226)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

143 - 149 of 226 reviews

Reviewed April 3, 2012

Lovely hotel. Julie and Alex very friendly, helpful hosts. Spotless accommodation, excellent food and nothing too much trouble. Stay here-you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Poppins276
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tes389, Manager at Alexander Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2012

Big thankyou for your great review its good to know how much you all enjoy your holidays with us, we would love it if you became our friends on Facebook so you can keep up to date with whats going on in Scarborough and the hotel ( Alexander Scarborough) is what you need to tap in lovely photos of the the waves today!!! Best Wishes Julie and Alex xx

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2012

1st time at the Alexander and from the time we arrived until the time we left, everything was done to make our stay enjoyable. Nothing was too much trouble. Great rooms (8), great service, great people and the best food you'll find anywhere. It's like being a family member not a guest. EXCEPTIONAL is the only description. Thanks Julie & Alex. See you soon. Mike & Pauline

Stayed: March 2012
1  Thank JMQuirke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tes389, Owner at Alexander Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2012

Glad you loved your 1st stay at the Alexander we hope its the first of many! Thank you for taking the time to write a review and share your experience with other guest. Can't believe its the start of 12th season! how time flies when you love what you do. Best Wishes Julie and Alex

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2012

We have returned from the Alexander after the 6th visit the rooms are in pristine condition,lovely fresh linen ,good toiletries , bottled water as well as tea & coffee with home made biscuits by Alex a top class chef,we ate in on a evening the food is exemplary such a choice, the perfect end to the day,lovely night sleep in a comfy bed , then the breakfast full English perfectly cooked with local produce.Ourhosts Alex&Julie were lovely nothing was too much trouble even to home made lemon curd .Wehad a lovely welcome when we arrived , aperfect 4 days break with fantastic food.we left after making quite a few friends and will all be meeting there again, bad weather could never spoil holidaying at this 4*gold hotel a truely golden place second to none

Room Tip: all the rooms at the Alexander are great roomslovely and quiet for agood nights sleep
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Norma R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tes389, Owner at Alexander Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 30, 2012

Thanks so much for your wonderful review, glad you had a great time catching up with all your Alexander hotel friends.We are now fully open for the season, Easter is nearly here and we only have one twin room left so lets hope this is a wonderful start to the summer. Best Wishes Julie and Alex xx Ps Join the Alexander Facebook friends to keep up with the news.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2012

What can we say? This little hotel is a real gem and it restores our faith in the british hotelier. High standards of comfort and cleanliness and exemplary food need not be expensive. You don't have to go to some of the so called four star places with staff who don't care or mind.
Alex and Julie are wonderful hosts. The right balance of attentiveness and privacy. Nothing is too much trouble. Our bed was very comfortable. The touches in the room and the beautiful presentation and attention to detail are first rate. You can see why they get so many awards!!
The location for us is ideal. Far enough from the noisy end of town and close enough to the beach, attractions and of course the North York Moors.
It was a very pleasurable weekend stay.
Oh, don't bother thinking you can find better food anywhere else in Scarborough. You won't!! Alex was clearly trained to the very highest standards as a chef and he his justifiably proud of his art.
Enjoy!!!

Room Tip: We had the nice big room at the front. No appreciable noise from the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cairns-on-Holiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tes389, Owner at Alexander Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 30, 2012

We are so glad you came for your special stay, we love to make memories to treasure.
Best Wishes Julie and Alex

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2011

Normally used to the bigger impersonal hotel chains we didn’t really know what to expect. We shouldn’t have worried – our experience was delightful. From a bright and breezy welcome from the owner Julie through 3 wonderful breakfasts and a cheery goodbye it -was wall-to-wall short break sunshine (literally - with temps over 28C everyday!). The rooms was very well appointed with modern decor and the bathroom was terrific. We both commented that we had never seen such spotless accommodation – and we are both fussy ! We opted for the full English on morning one , well cooked and piping hot and lovely chunky brown toast. The next 2 days we both had the smoked haddock and poached eggs – true local food prepared to perfection. I would certainly recommend this breakfast option almost as much as the homemade lemon curd on my 4th and 5th hunks of toast – scrumptious !!!!
Our hosts were friendly, attentive without being conspicuous – the offer of a lap-top when ours ran out of coal and steam, and a fan in our room to keep it cool during the sunshine hours just 2 examples of personal service.
Our 1st trip to the North Yorkshire coast was a great success – it might have been influenced a little by the weather but we shall be returning next year for more exhausting walks across the moors and along the rugged coast– but only if we can get a room at the Alexander !!!!

Room Tip: All rooms are great if you want a little more space go for Deluxe
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NIIXSY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tes389, Owner at Alexander Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 2, 2011

Sorry it's taken me so long to respond to your fantastic review, look forward to welcoming you both next year. We have now said goodbye to all our wonderful guest for the 2011 season, the hotel is now closed until the 25th of March 2012. Alex and I would like to thank all our guest for their love and support it's what makes our job very special. We are now planning some more renovations and new menu's for the 2012 season. We wish you all a healthy and wealthy christmas and 2012. We are now taking 2012 bookings. Love julie, Alex, Jordan and Aaron

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2011

We were looking forward to our visit to The Alexander, the second of the year, and we weren't to be disappointed! Alex and Julie provide a first class service in this lovely 8 bedroom hotel. The rooms vary in size and price but all the rooms are spotlessly clean and well appointed, and the little extras that are provided don't go unnoticed. We stayed on a breakfast and evening meal basis all of which were excellent, and we feel you would be hard pressed to find a better evening meal in Scarborough for the price charged. Alex is an exceptional chef! This was yet again a great visit to the Alexander and we are already looking forward to our next. Thank you!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Zipwirequeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tes389, Owner at Alexander Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2011

Thank you for a great review, this is what we are all about repeat business and not just one hit wonders. It was great seeing you both again. JUST A NOTE WE SAY TO OUR GUEST IF YOU WANT THE BEST VALUE AND ROOM CHOICE CALL US OUR TELEPHONE PRICES WILL NOT BE BEATEN ONLINE!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
0.2 mi away
Park Manor Hotel
Park Manor Hotel
#4 of 26 in Scarborough
922 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Moorings
The Moorings
#109 of 184 in Scarborough
36 reviews
0.2 mi away
Villa Marina
Villa Marina
#40 of 184 in Scarborough
117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Headlands Hotel
The Headlands Hotel
#11 of 184 in Scarborough
380 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ryndle Court Hotel
Ryndle Court Hotel
#77 of 184 in Scarborough
123 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Lysander
The Lysander
#52 of 184 in Scarborough
171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alexander Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alexander Hotel

Address: 33 Burniston Road, Scarborough YO12 6PG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #61 of 184 B&Bs / Inns in Scarborough
Price Range: $127 - $137 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Alexander Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Alexander is a Gold award accommodation, Exclusively for Adults 100% non-smoking, purpose-built Scarborough hotel close to the sea, all the North Bay attractions and the North York moors. With a resident professional chef, a cocktail bar, modern centrally heated rooms, en suite facilities, TV, tea and coffee, a warm welcome and all the comforts of home await you. Commended by the English Tourism Council. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Alexander Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing