We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply the Best”
Review of Alexander Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Alexander Hotel
Ranked #59 of 184 Scarborough B&B and Inns
Reviewed June 28, 2011

Another return visit for us and everything just as good as ever! Super clean and totally welcoming. Rooms vary from spacious to seriously large with top level facilities throughout. Always some other guests that have been before; first timers full of praise on all counts. Breakfasts legendary and dinners superb. Well worth fitting into the early evening timing for top level courses created by the ever- enthusiastic Alex. Some special touches without ever detracting from the first class ingredients.

Excellent location for new open air arena a short walk away. Not many hotels in Scarborough with easy off-street parking. Do put the Alexander top of your list for Scarborough and East Yorkshire! We're already looking forward to our next visit!

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JaguarStaffs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tes389, Owner at Alexander Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 30, 2011

Thank you for your great review, Remember to Always Email or telephone us on 01723 363178 for the best prices and ALL OUR AVAILABITIES are not all online. At the moment expedia and hotels.com are showing us full and we do have Vacanies. Regards Julie and Alex

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (226)
There are newer reviews for Alexander Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

164 - 170 of 226 reviews

Reviewed June 25, 2011

when we arrived we received a warm welcome with a pot of tea which was a nice touch, the room was very clean but a bit small, the breakfast was great, especialy the homemade banana and carrot cake. located near local park and beach which was a pleasant walk. overall very good would stay again if we visit scarborough

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stneed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tes389, Owner at Alexander Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 26, 2011

Thank you for your review, its great when people take the time to write one. Our standard rooms are small but perfectly formed and this season both our standard rooms have had brand new ensuites and memory foam beds. The price you pay reflects the size of our rooms, for a little extra our luxury rooms are very large and come with a sitting area and 37inch screen tv's maybe next you would like to upgrade to one. Regards Julie and Alex

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2011

An absolute gem. A very friendly welcome from Julie and Alex on arrival. Rooms spacious, tidy and very clean, beds comfortable. Hotel tastefully decorated throughout. Food excellent with both traditional and imaginative dishes perfectly prepared and served. A delightful experience, we will be back.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hawleyj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tes389, Owner at Alexander Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 26, 2011

It was a great pleasure to look after you both,glad your stay at the Alexander was a good one. Have you chosen your favorite dish yet!!! if so you will have to let us know for next time.
Regards
Julie and Alex

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2011

Couldn't ask for more. Fantastic hosts,top quality room with exceptional breakfast but be warned - the home-made lemon curd is very, very addictive!!

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 4amigosontour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tes389, Owner at Alexander Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 26, 2011

Lovely to meet the four of you,thank you for a lovely review. Hope to see you all soon, I will tell Jordan to make lots of lemon curd.
Best Wishes Julie and Alex

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2011

what a find ,myself and friend stayed for 2 nights and wish it was 2 weeks , words can not express the excellent food and cleanliness, top marks to chef alex his baked rice pudding was to die for , and the breakfast menu you would not find better in a top hotel any where , Julie made everyone feel so welcome giving the hotel a homely atmosphere we can not praise this hotel enough excellent value for money , we will be returning soon and highly recommend ,

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thames007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tes389, Owner at Alexander Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 23, 2011

It was lovely to meet you both last weekend. Thank you for saying we were excellent value for for money, we are not the cheapest in Scarborough but we believe in delivering the best value in Scarborough using only the best for our guest to give them a special break. Look forward to meeting you both again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2011

We stayed at the Alexander Hotel for 2 nights for the Elton John concert and received a great welcome from Julie who showed us to our room and offered us a pot of tea and homemade biscuits in the lounge. The room was very clean and modern with attention to detail and had an excellent shower in the bathroom! The Hotel is very well situated being within walking distance of the promenade and also the town centre.

The breakfast was wonderful, very well cooked and one of the best we've had with a good choice of food including homemade cake. Nothing was too much trouble for Julie and her family and we look forward to staying there again in the future.

Next time we would book direct by telephone rather than on the internet to receive a better price and we would also sample the dinner menu!

Room Tip: Choose a luxury room
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Daisy186408
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tes389, Owner at Alexander Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 16, 2011

Another fab review, thank you for taking the time to let new guest know you had a good time at the Alexander. What a fantastic show Elton put on will remember it for years to come. Don' t forget the 80's rewind concert on the 24th of July. Best Wishes Julie and Alex

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2011

We stayed here for the weekend and loved it. we stayed in the standard room which was to a high standard, the breakfast was a cut above, so much selection and choice to suite all requirements.

Would definately stay here again!

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank holidaylynne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tes389, Owner at Alexander Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 14, 2011

Glad you enjoyed your stay with us, and a big thank you for telephoning us to make your reservation we will always beat our online price if a bookings are made this way. Look forward to seeing you both in september.
Regards Julie and Alex

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
1.6 mi away
Bay New Southlands Hotel
Bay New Southlands Hotel
#8 of 26 in Scarborough
449 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Moorings
The Moorings
#105 of 184 in Scarborough
36 reviews
0.2 mi away
Villa Marina
Villa Marina
#33 of 184 in Scarborough
113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Headlands Hotel
The Headlands Hotel
#11 of 184 in Scarborough
367 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Lysander
The Lysander
#51 of 184 in Scarborough
171 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ryndle Court Hotel
Ryndle Court Hotel
#83 of 184 in Scarborough
122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alexander Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alexander Hotel

Address: 33 Burniston Road, Scarborough YO12 6PG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #59 of 184 B&Bs / Inns in Scarborough
Price Range: $126 - $153 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Alexander Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Alexander is a Gold award accommodation, Exclusively for Adults 100% non-smoking, purpose-built Scarborough hotel close to the sea, all the North Bay attractions and the North York moors. With a resident professional chef, a cocktail bar, modern centrally heated rooms, en suite facilities, TV, tea and coffee, a warm welcome and all the comforts of home await you. Commended by the English Tourism Council. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Alexander Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing