We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ask for floors 2,3,4,5”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grand Hotel Scarborough
Ranked #26 of 26 Hotels in Scarborough
Reviewed October 8, 2010

well it's true (read above reviews) and such a shame as this hotel is beautifully situated overlooking the sea & the public rooms are grand indeed.
We found the food good but the RECEPTION staff are obviously worn out dealing with daily complaints about the basement rooms. To these we would add room 605!!!!!
A servant's room in the attic to which we were shown and then had to pay £20 per night for an upgrade!
a staff member gave us this tip
PHONE the hotel direct the day before you travel to request a room with a view on floors 2 3 4 5 NOT 6. rooms are allocated 1st thing each day so phone before 9am
i would go again if I WAS GUARANTEED A GOOD ROOM---IT'S A QUESTION OF LUCK.

  • Stayed: September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jOyce69_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand724, General Manager at Grand Hotel Scarborough, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2010

Thank you for your comments

Due to the nature of the victorian building all our rooms vary in shape and size and we do have 40 internal rooms. The 6th floor rooms are sold as spa double or twins and some do have sloping roofs.
The only way to guarantee a large seaview room is to upgrade to a Premier Room.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (6,751)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

6,137 - 6,143 of 6,751 reviews

Reviewed October 7, 2010

very enjoyable and comfy short break ,going back for another weekend on 29th october ,,the room we had was spotless ,,i think it had not long been refurbished as it looks as if all hotel is been done up,, it as certainly inproved since we visited years ago,, would i recomend you bethcha i would

  • Stayed: October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bobthebet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand724, General Manager at Grand Hotel Scarborough, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2010

Thank you for your comments

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2010

We found this hotel to be really nice. After reading some of the reviews we were apprehensive but kept an open mind. Very clean. Pleasant staff. Our room on the 4th floor was large, clean and had good views overlooking the beach. The restaurant and entertainment were very good too. It wasn't perfect but I think some people are very picky. If you want perfection you have to pay extortionate prices.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ellasmerdon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand724, General Manager at Grand Hotel Scarborough, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2010

Thank you for your comments

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2010

My husband and I booked for one night at the Grand Hotel for the first time; recommended by my mum and dad. Our first impression was of a grand and majestic hotel with a well furnished luxurious lobby and a professional welcome. I loved the wide Victorian staircase and period furnishings. However we were soon to find out that 99 % of the guests matched the age of the interior! No disrespect to the elderly, but we are in our late 40's, but felt that we were like guests in an old peoples care home. Entertainment was very poor and geared up for the old dears, bingo and solo singer! The dining room had two small self service counter for hundreds of people which was chaotic and slow. There were only pudding bowls provided for the salad bar and the food was budget and looked and tasted horrible; steak that looked like cat food, frozen peas,watery rice pudding, tea/coffee luke warm and greasy breakfast. Our standard room, and requested sea view, which we got, was clean and comfortable, but walls desperately needed a coat of paint. Complimentary items were a nice touch. Furniture was very nice and beds were clean,comfortable and lovely sea view. Totally understand why the Grand caters for the bus trips and older generation to keep it going in off peak season but it is not for us in the future! My mum and dad love it and go twice a year !

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mrandmrsblobby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand724, General Manager at Grand Hotel Scarborough, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2010

Thank you for your comments

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2010

the room not very clean
the resturant was a joke.and on the second day there.we went out to eat because the
food in the resturant was unfit to eat.the windows in the resturant you could not see out of
for bird muck.everyone was crammed in like sardines.and the entertainment was a joke.
it cost over twenty pounds to park the the car which was not mentioned in the broucher.#and a lot of people were unhappy because they had downstairs rooms which
had no windows.our room was not much better.we looked out of the window and all we got was a view of one of the domes on the corners of the buolding.
all in all it was not a very good weekend.and the staff were not very friendly.
never again.we booked with travel style.the first trip we had with them was very good
we stayed at the royal at skegness.i wish we went back

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank val1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand724, General Manager at Grand Hotel Scarborough, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2010

Thank you for your comments

Due to the nature of the victorian building all rooms vary in shape and size and we do have 40 internal rooms. We accommodate 700 people on a daily basis at value for money prices.
We do not have car parking as stated clearly on our website.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2010

stayed for one night long enough staff were very rude and unhelpful we were given a room with no window in the basement when we asked for an upgrade we were told that the hotel was full in the lounge my husband paid for drinks but mine was missing when asked for it the barman was extremely rude

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank glensudi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand724, General Manager at Grand Hotel Scarborough, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2010

Thank you for your comments.
Due to the nature of the victorian building all our rooms vary in shape and size and we do have 40 internal rooms.
There is no excuse for poor customer care for which I apologise.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2010

Arrived for a weekend away from hassle and stress.Thought we werre going to a premier room with Jacuzzi Sea View Champagne on arrival NOPE how wrong were we We were given the key to a Box room, with a shower Not happy went and complained given another key ro A bigger room but as soon as you opened door all you couls smell was Damp, the Bathroom tiles were covered in mould... Then went down a 3rd time ro which we were Given another Key!!!!! This room was Damp and hardly any window Ended up travelling home after a full refund.............Be Warned it is horrible I definatly WILL NOT ever return here again.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gtbloke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand724, General Manager at Grand Hotel Scarborough, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2010

Thank you for your comments
Due to the nature of the victorian building all our rooms vary in shape and size and we do have 40 internal rooms.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
0.7 mi away
The Clifton Hotel - Scarborough
0.1 mi away
Royal Hotel Scarborough
Royal Hotel Scarborough
#25 of 26 in Scarborough
2,496 reviews
0.3 mi away
Marine Residence
Marine Residence
#16 of 26 in Scarborough
132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#6 of 26 in Scarborough
4,963 reviews
0 mi away
Travelodge Scarborough St Nicholas Hotel
0.6 mi away
Ambassador Hotel
Ambassador Hotel
#22 of 26 in Scarborough
1,285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Scarborough? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Scarborough

Address: St. Nicholas Cliff, Scarborough YO11 2ET, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Scarborough
Price Range: $36 - $107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Hotel Scarborough 3*
Number of rooms: 413
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the Town Centre, the Grand Scarborough Hotel takes pride of place overlooking the town's harbour and South Bay. One of the town's landmark features and instantly recognisable on the skyline. Our location is ideal in Scarborough from which to enjoy beautiful sandy beaches, promenade walks and all that Scarborough has to offer, all within a short stroll away. LIVE entertainment is available every night with our dazzling cabaret shows featuring professional dancers and entertainers dressed in stunning costumes. We offer free wifi with all of our public spaces, along with dedicated PC terminals (small charge) for customers who do not bring their own computer. We have a range of meeting rooms, conference space with break out area and our stunning Palm Court Ballroom with majestic views of the south bay for hire, including weddings (ceremony & function). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Grand Hotel Scarborough reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scarborough Grand Hotel
Grand Scarborough
The Grand Hotel Scarborough

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing