We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“terriable never again”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grand Hotel Scarborough
Ranked #26 of 26 Hotels in Scarborough
Reviewed October 5, 2010

the room not very clean
the resturant was a joke.and on the second day there.we went out to eat because the
food in the resturant was unfit to eat.the windows in the resturant you could not see out of
for bird muck.everyone was crammed in like sardines.and the entertainment was a joke.
it cost over twenty pounds to park the the car which was not mentioned in the broucher.#and a lot of people were unhappy because they had downstairs rooms which
had no windows.our room was not much better.we looked out of the window and all we got was a view of one of the domes on the corners of the buolding.
all in all it was not a very good weekend.and the staff were not very friendly.
never again.we booked with travel style.the first trip we had with them was very good
we stayed at the royal at skegness.i wish we went back

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank val1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand724, General Manager at Grand Hotel Scarborough, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2010

Thank you for your comments

Due to the nature of the victorian building all rooms vary in shape and size and we do have 40 internal rooms. We accommodate 700 people on a daily basis at value for money prices.
We do not have car parking as stated clearly on our website.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (6,853)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

6,243 - 6,249 of 6,853 reviews

Reviewed October 4, 2010

stayed for one night long enough staff were very rude and unhelpful we were given a room with no window in the basement when we asked for an upgrade we were told that the hotel was full in the lounge my husband paid for drinks but mine was missing when asked for it the barman was extremely rude

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank glensudi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand724, General Manager at Grand Hotel Scarborough, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2010

Thank you for your comments.
Due to the nature of the victorian building all our rooms vary in shape and size and we do have 40 internal rooms.
There is no excuse for poor customer care for which I apologise.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2010

Arrived for a weekend away from hassle and stress.Thought we werre going to a premier room with Jacuzzi Sea View Champagne on arrival NOPE how wrong were we We were given the key to a Box room, with a shower Not happy went and complained given another key ro A bigger room but as soon as you opened door all you couls smell was Damp, the Bathroom tiles were covered in mould... Then went down a 3rd time ro which we were Given another Key!!!!! This room was Damp and hardly any window Ended up travelling home after a full refund.............Be Warned it is horrible I definatly WILL NOT ever return here again.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gtbloke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand724, General Manager at Grand Hotel Scarborough, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2010

Thank you for your comments
Due to the nature of the victorian building all our rooms vary in shape and size and we do have 40 internal rooms.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2010

we stayed at the Grand Hotel for one night only and after reading some of the reviews we were not expecting too much from the hotel,we found that the hotel did look tired in places (but what do you expect from a building thats 200 years old),the rooms were very clean and well layed out ,we stayed in one of the turret rooms with a spa bath this we took full advantage of. We slept like logs and our stay was very enjoyable,all the staff we encountered were very friendly and helpful.Yes our fellow guests were of a certain age but that suited us,the evening entertainment was of the usual standard but very enjoyable.I would gladly stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chickapea28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand724, General Manager at Grand Hotel Scarborough, responded to this reviewResponded September 30, 2010

Thank you for your comments

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2010

I was un fortunate to have room with no way out but door in.
When asked if this was within health and safety rules also fire regulations the ANSWER
was yes. If i wish to stay in a gloryfied storeroom i would ask for one.
i wiil admit i did eventualy get a room with a window.

  • Stayed: September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jwhale1939
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand724, General Manager at Grand Hotel Scarborough, responded to this reviewResponded September 30, 2010

Thank you for our comments

Due to the nature of the victorian building all our rooms vary in shape and size and we do have 40 internal rooms. These rooms are modern, clean and functional, albeit without a window.
The only way to guarentee a room with a window is to upgrade to a Premier Room.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2010

First of all you get what you pay for,might I remind you of that. However I was pleasantly suprised, I had a room on the 6th floor and it had a very comfortable bed with white bed linen and extra pillows and blankets. the decor was perfectly pleasant and the furniture was lovely and it matched,there was a televison and a hairdrier alos a kettle and plenty of tea and coffee and even a packet of biscuits. The bathroom was lovely it had a spa(jacuzzi) bath large enough for 2 and an overhead shower and also shampoo and such was provided along with lovely white towels. the minuses of this room were the fan in the bathroom was on permantly but they did switch it off at 22.30. however with the bathroom door closed it was only a loud hum. The lifts only go from ground to 5th floor,then its a short walk to another lift or a walk up 2 short flights of stairs. perfectly ok if you are able bodied. At busy times of the day such as at meal times you may have to wait as long as 10 mins for a lift, but no real hard ship caused especially as its a lot easier walking down a ferw stairs than up. the hotel in general had more older people than I expected and the entertainment probably reflected this, no complaints with bingo ,ball room dancing or the caberet and comedian though . The food was fine and if you werent happy with it you could upgrade to premier where apparently they couldn't do enough for you and the service was second to none.

  • Stayed: September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank daybreak999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand724, General Manager at Grand Hotel Scarborough, responded to this reviewResponded September 30, 2010

Thank you for your comments

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2010

Well what can I say about this dump. This hotel as aparontley been refurbished but I can't see wear rooms are tatty and need new furniser and a good paint beds are like sleeping on a layer or pig wire ned I say moor don't wast you hard erent money to stop at this dump. The restaurant is moor like a truckers cafe dirty old grown in dirt in tabels got to be a health hazard I will never come back to the grand hotel again it's like foltey towers

  • Stayed: September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank billey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand724, Manager at Grand Hotel Scarborough, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2017

Dear Guest

Thank you for your review, and we are sorry that we did not fully meet with your expectations for your recent stay with us.

We do try to ensure everyone has a seamless visit to us, and we are sorry that you feel that was not that case.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
0.1 mi away
Royal Hotel Scarborough
Royal Hotel Scarborough
#25 of 26 in Scarborough
2,541 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Clifton Hotel - Scarborough
0.3 mi away
Marine Residence
Marine Residence
#16 of 26 in Scarborough
141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#5 of 26 in Scarborough
5,003 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ambassador Hotel
Ambassador Hotel
#22 of 26 in Scarborough
1,294 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Esplanade Hotel
The Esplanade Hotel
#17 of 26 in Scarborough
364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Scarborough? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Scarborough

Address: St. Nicholas Cliff, Scarborough YO11 2ET, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Scarborough
Price Range: $39 - $118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Hotel Scarborough 3*
Number of rooms: 413
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the Town Centre, the Grand Scarborough Hotel takes pride of place overlooking the town's harbour and South Bay. One of the town's landmark features and instantly recognisable on the skyline. Our location is ideal in Scarborough from which to enjoy beautiful sandy beaches, promenade walks and all that Scarborough has to offer, all within a short stroll away. LIVE entertainment is available every night with our dazzling cabaret shows featuring professional dancers and entertainers dressed in stunning costumes. We offer free wifi with all of our public spaces, along with dedicated PC terminals (small charge) for customers who do not bring their own computer. We have a range of meeting rooms, conference space with break out area and our stunning Palm Court Ballroom with majestic views of the south bay for hire, including weddings (ceremony & function). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Grand Hotel Scarborough reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scarborough Grand Hotel
Grand Scarborough
The Grand Hotel Scarborough

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing