We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We got what we paid for but........”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grand Hotel Scarborough
Ranked #28 of 28 Hotels in Scarborough
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“We got what we paid for but........”
Reviewed August 30, 2010

We got a last minute break on the bank holiday and after reading the reviews were expecting the worse. We had been sold an "interior" room which we knew had no windows but we did not expect to be three floors down in the dungeons! The corrdoors obviously had a damp problem and the smell was covered up by a daily dousing of some sort of air freshenerreminiscent of my old junior school. The rooms had been refurbished and were clean ours even had a spa bath. We were awoken at about 5.30 every morning but the smell of bacon drifting through the air conditioning. The fire alarms obviosly worked well too as they went off at least 3 times during our stay. Luckily our elderly mother who was a fellow resident of the dungeons was deaf and didn't hear them!

The view from the dining room was amazing. It faces out to sea and took in the whole of the south bay. This totally made up for the budget table settings and school dinner /cafeteria facilities.The food was very good , plain but plentiful with a good chioce on the buffet style menu. In the dining room the "manager" ruled with an iron hand making sure that we arrived at our allocated time and regularily "dressing down" her young staff who were working furiously to keep tables free.
Car parking was a nightmare. We were told that there was permit parking but we only managed this once and at the cost of £6 a day it was not cheap. For the rest of the time we joined other guests on the 20 minute walk to the nearest available on street parking. This was August bank holiday so I would hope its usually better. This is a very Grand Hotel and has so much potential but in trying to give good value for money it is cutting some corners best left uncut. If you are not wanting a basic break in a superficially GRAND hotel then this is the hotel for you .Think twice if you need to use your car and make sure that you are NOT in the dungeons.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BandN84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand724, General Manager at Grand Hotel Scarborough, responded to this review, September 4, 2010
Thank you for your comments.

Due to the nature of the Victorian building all 361 rooms vary in shape & size. We do have 40 internal rooms which are modern, clean and tidy, albeit without a window. These rooms are classified as standard rooms and the only way to guarentee a room with a window is to upgrade to Premier Room.

We do not have a car park, as per our website , but spaces can be found within 5 / 10 minutes walk of the hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,176 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    565
    1,224
    1,262
    958
    2,167
See reviews for
1,330
2,983
150
135
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2,170)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds England
Level Contributor
75 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2010

Just remember you only pay £135-155 for two to stay with a sea view plus dinner bed and breakfast in a magnificent old Victorian masterpiece.
They even throw in free entertainment and Bingo! If you go to this hotel in the right spirit you will have a great time as my wife and I did. Heavens they even let our dog stay!!!
The hotel is so quirky that I fear only the British will get the Joke but do try it.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bob M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand724, General Manager at Grand Hotel Scarborough, responded to this review, September 4, 2010
Thank you for your comments
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2010

I work for Britannia Hotels in the Central Reservations team and I do have a look on here every now and again at reviews. I am sick of seeing people complain about the rooms that have no windows! These rooms are called double economy rooms, they are at a reduced rate and when a guest books an economy room they ARE warned that these rooms have no windows and are built internally. Basically these guests are the people who expect to pay a pittance for a room. The economy rooms are budget rooms and the guest's are told that they have no windows when they book but then think they have the right to complain about that factor!! Basically don't listen to anyone who complains about rooms with no windows, they are warned! It is thir own fault for being so stingy!!

Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
Helpful?
4 Thank Rachel88_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand724, General Manager at Grand Hotel Scarborough, responded to this review, September 4, 2010
Please note that this review has not been authorised by Britannia Hotels and we do know who wrote this.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2010

Yes this hotel is very Grand from the outside and from the inside....until you get to the rooms. Ours was small and smelt terrible, and so did the corridor that led to it, I do understand that it is under going maintainence but surly thsi smell can be disguised in some way. There seems to be no contact with reception once in the room, no telephones. The food was lovely, we could not fault this. However something needs to be done about the parking situation, there is limited parking and you have to park a few hundred yards away in a multi-story that closes at 7pm.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cadbury-the-hamster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Scarborough hotels

Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2010

Parking spaces are VERY hard to get near the hotel as the area is full of hotels all competing for VERY limited spaces.

With their 'discounted' parking card it costs a MINIMUM of £6 a day.

The fire alarm went off four or five times in our week with little or no explanation. Very worrying at 1am when you're on the fifth floor. Trust me!

Some rooms have NO windows. Seriously!!

Waiting for one of the two lifts can take a very long time if you are unable to take the stairs.

Some of the staff are absolute morons. Very rude and with serious social/attitude problems. A few could not be more helpful.

The cleaner did not service our room every day, resulting in us chasing up towels and toilet rolls.

The hotel itself remains wonderfully beautiful and atmospheric and were it not for the inhabitants claiming to be staff, could be amazing.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank whitbylover123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand724, General Manager at Grand Hotel Scarborough, responded to this review, September 4, 2010
Thank you for your comments

We do not have any car parking as per our website but spaces are available within 5 / 10 mintues walk of the hotel.

Due to the nature of the Victorian building all our rooms vary in shape and size. We do have 40 internal rooms which are modern and clean, albeit without a window. The only way to guarentee a room with a window is to upgrade to a Premier Room.

At peak times queues can form at the various lifts around the hotel. An additional lift is being commissioned and will be in operation from mid September.

The Fire Alarm is sensitive and the majority of false alarms are caused by steam from showers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed August 24, 2010

We booked a double room b&b,. the pic showed a nice room with a window. we ended up down in the dungeons, cell no 1001, no windows, hallway stunk of sewage, from 6 each morning and all day our cell smelled of fried eggs, with a nice misty smog like effect to go with it. if your going to this hotel then please, RING THEM FIRST AND ASK WHAT ROOM THEY'RE GOING TO PUT YOU IN........ DON'T SAY YOU HAV'NT BEEN WARNED.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hairbear22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand724, General Manager at Grand Hotel Scarborough, responded to this review, August 26, 2010
Thank you for your comments.
Due to the nature of the Victorian building all our 361 rooms vary in shape and size and 40 are without windows. These rooms are modern, clean and functional,albeit without natural daylight. A small number of these rooms do face a corridor which is near the main kitchen and this is where the " nice misty fog effect " has come from.
The only way to guarentee a non internal room is to upgrade to a Premier Room which is spacious and has a seaview. Other than that if we are quiet we tend not to allocate these rooms, however if we are full, and for the last 4 months we have occupancy figures of between 90 & 95%, this is not always possible.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2010

I booked this trip before reading any reviews and when I read the reviews I was very nervous - it sounded like we had booked Fawlty Towers.
We booked one of the Turret Rooms, which is a two bedroom suite on the top floor and we booked for a 2 night stay.
You cannot help being impressed by the exterior of the hotel, it dominates the surrounding area and is indeed Grand.
The first problem you will encounter is parking, there is a 70 space public car park outside the hotel but this was full on arrival and I never saw a space during my 3 day stay and if you were lucky enough to get a space you would have to pay £6 per day. There are several other hotels in the square that also compete for these parking spaces. There is a large unloading area in front of the hotel where you can park and unload your luggage. I then put my car in the local NCP - 5 minute walk away - and Thursday to Saturday cost £14.40.
Check in was efficient, our room was ready and I had keys in my hand within 2 minutes of arriving. I was offered assistance with my baggage which I declined.
Our room was on the top floor - the 7th - the lift from reception only goes to the 5th floor you then have to walk to another corridor to get a lift to the 6th floor and then walk up the stairs to the turret room. We found it faster to use the stairs although that would not be practical for everyone but did make up for the lack of a gym.
We opened the door to the room a little nervously, but we were very pleasantly surprised. The Turret rooms have 2 bedrooms and a bathroom and are circular with porthole style windows offering 360 degree views so you have a view of the sea and the beach and the front of the hotel. The view alone is worth the money - pictures attached.
The bedroom are well furnished with desks wardrobes and a TV in each room, they are spacious, one had a double and the other had a double and a single.
The bathroom was very large with a whirlpool bath and everything looked like it was fairly new. The bathroom was very clean.
Our package included Dinner and Breakfast and a bottle of wine on arrival. Within an hour of arriving a bottle of champagne in an ice bucket was delivered to our room without us asking.
Dinner was a buffet style self serve affair, we got their at the start of the service and there was a good choice of food and plenty of it. It was of a similar quality to a large pub chain carvery meal. Three courses were available and there were healthy options. We were in the premier dining room which was part of our package although the option to upgrade to premier dining was available to anybody for £7 and from what I could see if you wanted to eat in the hotel that was probably a good option.
Breakfast was not as good as dinner, there were plenty of options, fruit, cereal, toast, pastry and full English but the quality of the full english was not as good as other hotels that charge a similar amount. The bacon was more fat than bacon, the scrambled egg was poor - to be fair , we are not early risers and had we arrived for breakfast at 0730 we may have had a better experience - my impression was that some of the containers had not been changed for a while.
There was entertainment provided every night and although we didn't stay in to see it we did see parts of it and it looked good.
The bar was well stocked and the prices were reasonable.
There were some nice touches in the hotel, quiet rooms, reading rooms stocked with books you can borrow, games room.
I think the hotel is non smoking but walking through some of the corridors we could smell cigarette smoke. No evidence of smoking in our room though which smelt fresh and clean.
The hotel itself must have been very special in its prime and it is looking a little tired now but our experience overall was a very pleasant one and we shall certainly return - it is clear from the reviews that not everybody shared our experience and during our stay we heard complaints from several people.
Considering though that we paid a rate similar to that of a premier inn and got a suite, dinner, breakfast, champagne, whirlpool bath and a fantastic view, puts the few small negatives in to perspective.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NinjaNige
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand724, General Manager at Grand Hotel Scarborough, responded to this review, August 26, 2010
Thank you for your comments
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
0.1 mi away
Royal Hotel Scarborough
Royal Hotel Scarborough
#27 of 28 in Scarborough
3.0 of 5 bubbles 2,327 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#6 of 28 in Scarborough
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,752 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Clifton Hotel - Scarborough
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Park Manor Hotel
Park Manor Hotel
#4 of 28 in Scarborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 818 reviews
0.1 mi away
Premier Inn Scarborough Hotel
0.2 mi away
The Esplanade Hotel
The Esplanade Hotel
#19 of 28 in Scarborough
3.5 of 5 bubbles 325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Scarborough? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Scarborough

Property: Grand Hotel Scarborough
Address: St. Nicholas Cliff, Scarborough YO11 2ET, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Scarborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Hotel Scarborough 3*
Number of rooms: 413
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the Town Centre, the Grand Scarborough Hotel takes pride of place overlooking the town's harbour and South Bay. One of the town's landmark features and instantly recognisable on the skyline. Our location is ideal in Scarborough from which to enjoy beautiful sandy beaches, promenade walks and all that Scarborough has to offer, all within a short stroll away. LIVE entertainment is available every night with our dazzling cabaret shows featuring professional dancers and entertainers dressed in stunning costumes. We offer free wifi with all of our public spaces, along with dedicated PC terminals (small charge) for customers who do not bring their own computer. We have a range of meeting rooms, conference space with break out area and our stunning Palm Court Ballroom with majestic views of the south bay for hire, including weddings (ceremony & function). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Grand Hotel Scarborough reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scarborough Grand Hotel
Grand Scarborough
The Grand Hotel Scarborough

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing