We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Grand Hotel Scarborough
Nearby Hotels
The Grainary(Scarborough)
$96
$91
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$98
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Park Manor Hotel(Scarborough)
$120
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Wrea Head Hall(Scarborough)
$145
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Crown Spa Hotel(Scarborough)
$560
$86
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Palm Court Hotel(Scarborough)
$168
$117
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Crescent Hotel(Scarborough)
$167
$150
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
The Esplanade Hotel(Scarborough)
$103
$92
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
$90
PremierInn.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Ambassador Hotel(Scarborough)
$77
$75
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (7,015)
Filter reviews
7,015 results
Traveler rating
642
1,353
1,405
1,095
2,520
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
642
1,353
1,405
1,095
2,520
See what travelers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
6,464 - 6,469 of 7,015 reviews
Reviewed July 30, 2010

I have stayed at the grand three times before and have always been very happy with the service and food. I recently booked and afterwards had a look at the reviews of the hotel. I was a bit worried about the wisdom of going after seeing the poor reviews but went ahead. I found the experience a very good one. We asked for a seaview room and was very pleased to get one. It was very clean and the view was great. We found the food varied, plentiful and was always topped up quickly when running low. All the staff were friendly, hard working and attentive. The reception area and corridors we walked along were always clean and the carpets looked in good condition.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rachel10Manchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2010

This hotel needs urgent attention. I think the best thing is to kock it down and start again. Evening meal and breakfast was the worst food I have ever seen, I would not touch it, tables were scruffy and chairs were covered in old food. Bedroom (Room 241) was very smelly, don't know if it was the toilet or sink but my son who is only 5 was nearly sick with the stench when brushing his teeth. We were only there for 1 night thankfully or I would have complained. Building work is currently underway, my friend and her son who we travelled with were awake all night because of the noise from above as they worked through the night. Scarborough is a lovely place and this hotel spoils it.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dawsond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2010

Stayed here for three nights with elderly parents the rooms were not bad they are a bit hit and miss what you get our parents room was very big our room was quite small but comfortable I would recommend you book a premier room and dining for extra £10.00 a day worth it food no better but less busy There is only two lifts as you can imagine they do get busy but you dont have to wait too long. The hotel is mainly used by coach companies so there are a lot of elderly people. The seagulls are rather noisey but you are by the sea you do get used to it .All in all good value for money impressive hotel good location.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank annie21220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2010

we stayed for two nights with tesco club vouchers and got a fantastic deal. but on arrival we were put in the steamy basement where our room had no windows or ventilation. the room had been refurbished and looked lovely with a gorgeous big spa bath but the room stunk like it was damp. so i went to reception and was at 1st getting nowhere so i became more forceful and got a room on the 3rd floor. the room was pretty decent really with a fantstic jet spa bath which i lounged in for about 45 minutes on full blast. the evening meal on the first night just wasn't too clever some of it was ok but the chicken looked as though it was dried out so i had some beef which was so so. the cheese and biscuit selection was fabulous and plenty of gateaux' for the ladies or sweet toothed guys. the breakfast wasnt too bad although the bacon was pretty soggy and sausages looked deep fried, everything else was pretty good. the second nights evening meal was much better but i made a point of going in early. the bar prices arnt too bad especially with a double being only a quid more than a single. the entertainment was ok if you like the caberet sort of thing and bingo...i found the most comfortable huge leather chair and sofa for my wife and just watched the people go by and had a much better laugh at some of the antics around us...(nothing too boisterous just the residents) and had a great weekend out of what started as a bit of a let down. the parking outside the hotel costs £6 a day or free for disabled , but is free overnight after 6pm for all. the hotel probably does need a re vamp in parts but its not as bad as its painted , maybe some people expect the earth , but if you get a cheap sunday night break off them and done expect 5 star then just go and enjoy yourself, maybe when booking demand a room with a window also it doesnt cost ant more unless you want a sea view which does cost about an extra tenner.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scholesey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2010

I have not actually stayed here but have attended quite a few functions during the month of Sept over variopus years. Particular grand (pardon the pun] was the water fall we watched one year with water cascading through the ceiling via a friends room and a cupboard a floor or three up!! My wife, who is a housekeeper for a large top draw hotel, had a look at one or two of the rooms and was appalled!. The buffet was appaling and not enough for a set number of guests.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank SuttonScouser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews