We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“awful”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grand Hotel Scarborough
Ranked #28 of 28 Hotels in Scarborough
newcastle on tyne
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“awful”
Reviewed September 16, 2006

not an experience l would repeat, food was awful and the staff did`nt seem very interested, they had a buffet style service for meals,whilst l don`t mind a buffet breakfast l really don`t like it for an evening meal, they had the same starters the three days we were there and only a choice of three main courses of which on one night two were fish,ok if you like fish.
the room we had was at the front and was woken up with staff throwing bottles into the bottle bank,also had a digger outside which started up fairly early.,the windows did`nt look like they had been cleaned for years
while it is very central for scarborough and the beach l certainly would`nt stay there again

  • Liked — not a lot
  • Disliked — food and state of the windows
  • Stayed September 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank daisymayd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,176 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    565
    1,224
    1,262
    958
    2,167
See reviews for
1,330
2,983
150
135
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2,170)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lincolnshire . England
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2006

We booked bed,breakfast and evening meal having decided to take our grandson for a weekend treat,
The room was hot and grubby, The staff lacked in customer relations and the food passable
On checking out we were given a bill for the evening meals,,luckily i had the confirmation letter stating that we had booked and pre paid for this,
After a lengthy argument we ended up paying for my grandsons dinner and were told as a 'gesture of goodwill' they wouldnt charge for the adults meals.. As if im going to pay for something iv already paid for???!!!
We werernt the only ones having trouble with checking out,,the receptionist tried to charge two elderly ladies for a babies cot that they hadnt asked for,
Days after our return home i had a letter from the hotel,followed by a phonecall,,asking me if i would pay for the meals that Id already paid for,,,

  • Liked — Looks great from the outside
  • Disliked — everything
  • Tips/Secrets — Stay somewhere else,,
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank claire02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Scarborough hotels

Tring
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2006

Steer well clear of this one, it's probably the worst hotel in the world - the best thing I can report is that the management gave us our money back, without any hesitation!
From the outside, the Grand Hotel looks imposing - a wonderful Victorian building directly overlooking the sea. But just take a look inside - it's desperate. The room we were offered was very small, very old and without ordinary features that I take for granted - like a telephone in the room and a shower (or even a mixer tap). I didn't go near the bed!
Also, without meaning to be rude, the hotel guests were all very old as well. It's true that not all of them were driving motorised wheelchairs, but there was a 'possy' of these vehicles parked just inside the doorway - ready for a quick getaway maybe! My wife and I are approaching sixty, but we felt like 'spring chickens' during our very brief (and certainly last) visit to this hotel.
So we turned our back on the seaside, made our way back to York and stayed at the Ramada Encore which was just super.

  • Liked — Its location
  • Disliked — Everything inside the hotel
  • Tips/Secrets — Don't go there!
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jim.crisp1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire, England
Level Contributor
36 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2006

My partner booked this as a surprise by going online & thought it looked okay for a couple of nights in part of the country we'd never been to before. I then checked this site for comments and was horrified ( & felt sorry for him).
If you book this hotel, don't expect luxury & DO pay a bit extra for the "premier" rooms & restaurant-it's the only thing that has saved this from getting a terrible rating. Our room was on the ground floor which is built into the cliff face and it had been refurbished to make it a reasonable standard - the whirlpool bath did not make it above average standard though. The view from the room would have been quite nice apart from the scaffolding outside - a member of staff told us it had been put up & then condemned & appears to be staying up for the foreseeable future...The room was also very cold -granted not helped by the unseasonable cold,wet & windy unseasonable weather - and when we enquired about heating or extra blankets the reception said they would pass a message on but another guest said we would be better doing exercises as our request would be ignored. Needless to say no heating appeared. We both had hot baths to warm up as at least the water was lovely & hot.
The food - okay if you like very plain,basic stuff & make sure you get there early as the food just sits there on hot plates. If you don't go into the premier restaurant, you would need to start queueing at about 5pm for the 6pm opening - by 5.50pm the queue goes up the stairs & across the reception area.There are apparently a limited number of tables so you have to wait til earlier diners finish...
Neither of us are smokers and the smell of cigarettes is absolutely everywhere - even into the non-smoking bits.
The staff - most of the ones we came across were helpful enough but don't exactly out themselves out to provide customer service and the place looks like it is understaffed.
The ongoing building works - from what we saw it wasn't too bad and we certainly weren't disturbed by noise.
If you are thinking of going to this hotel, you may like it if you are smokers, not fussy about food only being tepid , want a basic room with limited facilities & have an average age of 70+ (although my parents are both into their 70s & wouldn't have gone here) but otherwise don't bother.
I have travelled all round Europe & this really lets the UK down.

  • Liked — Not quite as bad as some previous reviews
  • Disliked — Tatty & decaying
  • Tips/Secrets — If you really must go, don't expect minor miracles
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lizcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2006

We have just returned from staying at the Grand for one night (11th August 2006). when we eventually reached the receptionist after standing in a queue listening to her being rude to customers and the other receptionist she told me that they hadn't received a booking (we'd booked through Superbreaks) and they only had one family room left - we'd taken our 2 children aged 14 and 12 years old.

She asked if we wanted to see the room first and I askedher waht was wrong with it and she said that as we hadn't been before it was what the offered. I am glad my daughter and I went to see the room which was on the second floor. The room was large but the furniture was old and falling to bits. The bathroom had a bath but i wouldn't have dared using it - it was filthy.

We immediately went back to reception, by which time our booking had been received, and told the receptionist the room was not suitable. She then spent ages trying to find other rooms blaming the lack of booking form when roomswere allocated earlier in the day. She eventually found 2 twin rooms which she said were across the corridor. The first was a triple room with a sea view but still terrible condition - the second was down the corridor through several doors and in the middle of renovation.

We went back to reception and told the receptionist that they were not suitable either. She went to see her manager - after 15 minutes she returned and said that this was the last room that may be suitable and after that she could do no more. We were given the key to room 701.

What a surprise when we got to the sixth floor - it was like being in a different hotel - new and clean. Room 701 had its own private staircase which led to to one of the 4 domes on the roof. The room was fantastic - there was a large twin room, a double room and an interconnecting bathroom with shower and jacuzzi - all newly decorated. The views were fantastic from the several windows around the suite totally magnificent.

We were so glad we didn't accept the rooms offered. In fact we wouldn't have stayed. The foood was terrible but we wouldn't have missed satying in the room we eventually got.

After speaking to another person who stayed on the sixth floor (refurbished part of the hotel) they had to complain to get there.

I wouldn't recommend staying there unless you stay in a refurbished room - avoid the food and don't expect good customer service - it is none existent.

  • Liked — The Views
  • Disliked — Food and customer service
  • Tips/Secrets — Insist on a room on the sixth or seventh floors - renovated areas
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Sothall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire Dales National Park, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2006

We stayed at the Grand Hotel on the 6th/7th August and had a very
pleasant break by the seaside. Our room was not a premier but we
did get a sea view. The bedroom and the bathroom were both clean.
The restaurant I found relaxing and the food not too bad. The staff I
found helpful and polite. Though there is refurbishment going on at the hotel we saw and heard very little of the workmen. Our last couple of hours at the hotel were spent relaxing in the sunshine on the terrace overlooking the beach, with a pot of tea and a book.
Would certainly stay there again.

Stayed August 2006
Helpful?
2 Thank Blithespirit9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2006

From a distance The Grand looks stunning. Situated on the magnificent Scarborough cliffs complete with panoramic views of the coastline it looks every inch the picture of Victorian opulence. However, get closer and you realise the Grand isn't so much sepia-tinted as nicotine stained...

When you enter you are "greeted" by staff who are over-stretched and over-stressed. The smell of stale tobacco smoke and school dinners pervades the air. The faded grandeur is more reminiscent of an old peoples' home than a hotel.

I'd like to say the room was a surprise, but it wasn't. It was shabby, the bathroom stank of bleach (I shudder to think what this was covering up) and the broken window was propped open by a lump of wood with a nail in it. The bed, whilst relatively comfy and quite firm, was clad in what looked like a fire blanket thrown over a hospital sheet and topped off by a cover so shabby and faded that it looked like something you'd find hanging in a dusty museum rather than atop a hotel bed.

On the plus side the room was quite large, but it was dusty, dirty and the furniture was almost ostentatiously ugly. A kettle and tea-bags were provided, which was just as well since the water from the taps tasted foul. Luckily you didn't need a wake-up call in the morning as the walls were paper thin and as soon as one person 20 doors away turned on their shower the whole bedroom was enveloped by a sound that can only be described as a banshee let loose with a pneumatic drill. Not being able to sleep only left you contemplating the horror that was breakfast...

Now, breakfast in a 'posh' hotel is normally something you look forward to. Unfortunately, you'd only look forward to breakfast at the Grand if you'd been institutionalised at an early age and have a fetish for prison food. The food is greasy, insipid and is produced on an industrial scale. The smell of the "restaurant" is reminiscent to that of cabbage, greasy fat and old kippers that have rotted in the sun. What it tasted like I cannot say as the thought of consuming anything from their almost literally turned my stomach (my fears were later confirmed after talking to a local who warned me not to eat the eggs as salmonella outbreaks were, apparently, commonplace).

When we sat down for breakfast the vast majority of the tables were still strewn with dirty plates and discarded food. When we asked for a coffee we were told to take a pot off one of the tables somebody had vacated. That's right, they actually expected you to drink the dregs left by some other unfortunate inmate. Needless to say when, in desperation, we "stole" a pot the coffee itself was so thick and stewed that I took one sip and couldn't drink a drop. Luckily the acidic orange juice concentrate did wonders in cleansing the palette (and stripping the enamel from your teeth).

The one positive aspect of the hotel was the sun lounge - a large balcony area that overlooked the sea and had some stunning views. Squint your eyes on a sunny day and you could almost be in the South of Italy. It's only when you step back inside into the grubby darkness that you realise you are in something that is a cross between Blackpool guest house and Victorian asylum.

Go to Scarborough, it's lovely. Just don't stay at The Grand.

  • Liked — The location and views
  • Disliked — The breakfast area
  • Tips/Secrets — Bring your own coffee
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Diplo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
0.1 mi away
Royal Hotel Scarborough
Royal Hotel Scarborough
#27 of 28 in Scarborough
3.0 of 5 bubbles 2,328 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#6 of 28 in Scarborough
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,752 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Clifton Hotel - Scarborough
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Park Manor Hotel
Park Manor Hotel
#4 of 28 in Scarborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 818 reviews
0.1 mi away
Premier Inn Scarborough Hotel
0.2 mi away
The Esplanade Hotel
The Esplanade Hotel
#19 of 28 in Scarborough
3.5 of 5 bubbles 325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Scarborough? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Scarborough

Property: Grand Hotel Scarborough
Address: St. Nicholas Cliff, Scarborough YO11 2ET, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Scarborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Hotel Scarborough 3*
Number of rooms: 413
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the Town Centre, the Grand Scarborough Hotel takes pride of place overlooking the town's harbour and South Bay. One of the town's landmark features and instantly recognisable on the skyline. Our location is ideal in Scarborough from which to enjoy beautiful sandy beaches, promenade walks and all that Scarborough has to offer, all within a short stroll away. LIVE entertainment is available every night with our dazzling cabaret shows featuring professional dancers and entertainers dressed in stunning costumes. We offer free wifi with all of our public spaces, along with dedicated PC terminals (small charge) for customers who do not bring their own computer. We have a range of meeting rooms, conference space with break out area and our stunning Palm Court Ballroom with majestic views of the south bay for hire, including weddings (ceremony & function). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Grand Hotel Scarborough reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scarborough Grand Hotel
Grand Scarborough
The Grand Hotel Scarborough

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing