We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Room 23, if thts a premier room, i dread to think what a basic room is like!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grand Hotel Scarborough
Ranked #26 of 26 Hotels in Scarborough
Reviewed February 11, 2006

Well, me and my other half decided that we would go away for the wkend before valentines day and hopefully have a great weekend, we booked the (not) so grand hotel via laterooms,when we got there we had to park in a car park a good ten mins away and carry our bags etc the distance throught the main street of the town. As soon as we got through the door we had scaffholding in our face, we went to reception where the staff werent exactly friendly anyway to find out our reservation hadnt gone through. We were told that there was a room available but it was twin beds instead of a double but we thought its ok wwe can push them together, the duty manager came over and told the receptionist to give us room 23 and the receptionist leant over and said quietly my manager is giving you a premier room as if we were getting this lovely room which we would like. How wrong were we!!!! after paying we got in the lift to go to the floor we needed (dirty lift) then got out to walk along the corridor which was dark and dirty, we couldnt find the room but we found one which had the door open floorboards up and bare walls, finally we found our room. I really did feel like crying! the carpet was diry there were big chips out of the wall paper and the dust was unbelievable, and not to mention the wires hanging out of the ceiling. The bathroom was horrible it was dirty the paper was peeling off it really did make me sick to the stomach. We decided we werent going to stay there so we left the room to be greeted with the door for room 24 wide open there was piles of beds, matteress, bin bags and other rubbish in there. It was if they had just stuck us there out of the way and thought we would be happy. After this i just wanted to get out ASAP, we went to reception for a refund and the receptionist just turned round and said she didnt know what the rooms were like down there (aload of rubbish!) we got the money and ran. In the end we travel back home abit and stayed in a travel inn, it was heaven!!!! I would not recomend "the NOT so grand hotel" to my worse enemy and thats saying something!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed: February 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank Julie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (6,570)
There are newer reviews for Grand Hotel Scarborough
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

6,512 - 6,518 of 6,570 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
Sheffield
18
Reviewed January 28, 2006

This place is a building site, the heating did'nt work, the locks did'nt work, loose cables on the floor, dust, a joke. The only thing worth talking about was the food, which to my suprise was excellent for a hotel with a reputation for poor food. Although the queues to get served and the organisation was shoddy to say the least. A no smoking policy must be enforced too! When I saw this building from the outside I though "grand" but how wrong can you be, it was full of loud shellsuit wearing drunks. This is more Waynetta Slob than Oscar Wilde like the romantic exterior suggests.

  • Stayed: January 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Preston Lancashire
12
Reviewed January 21, 2006

After reading all the latest reviews about this hotel we were not looking foward to our weekend break there.However we was of the opinion that we would make the best of our stay at the "Grand",and to our pleasant surprise "grand"it was.Although at present it is undergoing extensive refurbishment to bring it back to it's former glory,the disruptions were minimal during our time there.Upon arrival we were greeted by friendly and curtious staff,our room was clean and comfortable,the food was always hot and plentyful served in pleasant surroundings by very polite staff.The evening entertainment was first class and very enjoyable.We had a "grand" time and will be back to enjoy another stay in the near future!!!!

  • Stayed: January 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Nottingham, England
14
Reviewed January 17, 2006

Went for a girlie weekend in the premier rooms. Rooms were great, very large, good views, very comfortable, excellent service, bar open very late and entertainment was good. Ambience excellent, staff very friendly, went just after the outbreak of food poisoning but all agreed to give it a try. Excellent stunning hotel, although a bit dated. Thoroughly enjoyed it.

  • Stayed: April 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2006

Right then let me start at the beginning of the WORST break of my life. we arrived at the hotel at about 12.00 it looked like a lovely building from the outside. we went inside to the reception to find out that the booking we made weeks before online had'nt gone throgh even though we had recieved a booking receipt. we didn't think too much of it and made a new booking. We were told check in was'nt while 4.00pm but we could leave our bags at the hotel so we took our bags in to the cabaret room and a lovely porter informed us that he thaught the cleaners had finished our room and went to check for us. he was back within 5 mins and told us we could go to our room. when we got there we were appauled. the wools were filthy, the carpet was ripped and tatty, the window didnt open properly, the bed sheets had dried blood stains on them, the shower had mould on the walls and the sink had plenty of evidence of previous guests on. so we walked down the incredibly noisy creaky corridor in to the dark unlit lift and down to reception. i informed the lady at reception very politeley. that we wished to upgrade as we did not like the room given. she said there were no upgrades available but we colud have a different room. we said thats fine as long as it was a smoking room. so she gave us the new keys we lugged the luggage to the 6th floor and went to the new room. we went in and it looked a bit better and we thaught this would have to do. we then noticed the no smoking signs. had to go back to reception and she said very rudely that we'd have to stay in the first room given. so off we went very annoyed that we had to carry all our luggage up and down for nothing when she knew we wanted a smoking room. we felt completly ripped off. we left the hotel for a few hours and came back for our evening meal. where shall i start, the cutlery laid out on the table was dirty the cups were dirty, i ordered soup for the starter wich was cold and disgusting, the breadcake was rock hard. had to leave the starter hoping main course would be better. had the lasagne again cold,dry and awful we just stood up and left the room feeling even more annoyed that our relaxing break had turned in the the holiday from hell. we decided we needed to relax so we got a drink and went to reception for the pool cues and white ball. we went to the pool table and started our game, i'm not very good at pool and potted the white. it did'n come back out so off we went back to reception where we were informed very rudely that we must have been using a snooker ball. we replied that she had given us the ball and could we get our money back that we put in the machine. we were told that she could'nt do that and we would have to wait for the maintenance person to sort it out. we waited but no maintenance man came. the morning after we reluctantly went for breakfast and again had to leave still hungry. had a nice time away from the hotel and returned to get changed for that evening. i rented an iron and ironing board from the hotel and started ironing a white top to find thatthe iron had dirt or rust or something inside it and my top was ruined. had to go out in a different crumpled top and my partner with creased jeans and shirt. didn't bother going to the resteraunt again and had to pay for meals elswhere even though i had allready paid for meals at the hotel. we were up early to leave the hotel as soon as possible. and to add insult ot injury, after filling out a complaints form detailing all the things i've just mentioned i still keep getting e-mails from brittania hotels with their special offers to go back their again!. So just to sum up if its the holiday from hell you're looking for then this is the place to go. if not then keep well away.

  • Stayed: September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank melve01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2005

We were extremely disappointed with our stay at the Grand Hotel. We had booked for a two night break but only stayed the one. We were aware that the hotel was in the midst of a refurb programme but felt that Brittannia would also need to spend a huge sum of money on retraining the very unhelpful and sometimes rude staff. Every glass that we came across was dirty - including the glass in the windows. We were allocated a premier room which was a joke, it was on the lowest level of the building through very dingy corridors and there was no shower in the tired en-suite bathroom. We will not be going back to the Grand which is a shame as it could be a beautiful hotel. We do not class ourselves as difficult to please but this was by far the worst hotel that we have ever stayed in. The only upside was that we were reimbursed the cost of our second night (we had to pay in advance) by the helpful and pleasant duty manager, and were able to find more pleasant accommodation elsewhere.

  • Stayed: November 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank Andjotom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2005

The hotel is in the midst of a (much overdue) The public areas are very shabby and smell rather unpleasant. The bedroom itself was spacious but the decor tired. The bathroom still bore traces of a previous occupant in the bath and sink!
I did not dine in the restaurant as unfortunately the rest of the hotel did not inspire me to try it, opting instead for the local Pizza Hut.
My checkout this morning appeared to be just too much trouble for the receptionist on duty.
I left feeling relieved to be away and disgruntled at having spent the night in such disappointing surroundings. The only thing in the Grand's favour is the sea view! Leave your visit until the refurbishment is completed.

  • Stayed: November 2005, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Jazzyjazzone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
0.1 mi away
Royal Hotel Scarborough
Royal Hotel Scarborough
#25 of 26 in Scarborough
2,433 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Clifton Hotel - Scarborough
0.0 mi away
Travelodge Scarborough St Nicholas Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#6 of 26 in Scarborough
4,911 reviews
0.3 mi away
Marine Residence
Marine Residence
#16 of 26 in Scarborough
112 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ambassador Hotel
Ambassador Hotel
#22 of 26 in Scarborough
1,258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Scarborough? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Scarborough

Address: St. Nicholas Cliff, Scarborough YO11 2ET, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Scarborough
Price Range: $52 - $171 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Hotel Scarborough 3*
Number of rooms: 413
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the Town Centre, the Grand Scarborough Hotel takes pride of place overlooking the town's harbour and South Bay. One of the town's landmark features and instantly recognisable on the skyline. Our location is ideal in Scarborough from which to enjoy beautiful sandy beaches, promenade walks and all that Scarborough has to offer, all within a short stroll away. LIVE entertainment is available every night with our dazzling cabaret shows featuring professional dancers and entertainers dressed in stunning costumes. We offer free wifi with all of our public spaces, along with dedicated PC terminals (small charge) for customers who do not bring their own computer. We have a range of meeting rooms, conference space with break out area and our stunning Palm Court Ballroom with majestic views of the south bay for hire, including weddings (ceremony & function). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Hotel Scarborough reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scarborough Grand Hotel
Grand Scarborough
The Grand Hotel Scarborough

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing