We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely. Four days”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grand Hotel Scarborough
Ranked #28 of 28 Hotels in Scarborough
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lovely. Four days”
Reviewed July 4, 2014

Went with six over. Sixty fives four with. Walking frames , all had ood rooms with seaviews two of the rooms very big withdisabled walk in shower, all staff very friendly and accomadatiing , yeshotel. In need of an upgrade but all my residents had no complaints about rooms. Or food , yes selfservice. Was a bit of a nuiscance with. Ten of us four staff fetching andcarrying but we survived .a big thank you to all waiting staff and the two staff male who helped us downwithoverten suitcases and three wheelchairs andhelped us load our mini bus we are very grateful . A good fourdays . Car parking was not an issue parked round the corner always got a space

Room Tip: Ask for there biggest. Roomson secondfloor
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank karen b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand724, Manager at Grand Hotel Scarborough, responded to this review, July 5, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your kind and honest comments during your recent visit to us.

We do hope to welcome you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,176 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    565
    1,224
    1,262
    958
    2,167
See reviews for
1,330
2,983
150
135
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2,170)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2014

I booked this as a 50th birthday treat for my partner for Monday June 30th 2014. I last stayed here 4 years ago, therefore I was well aware of lack of car parking and faded décor. However this hotel is bursting with history and is in a prime location - It was once Europe's largest hotel - RAF Aircrew Trainees were stationed at The Grand 1940 to 1944 - Anne Bronte died in a house on the site of the hotel in 1849. The hotel is very 'tired' inside. The main public areas are well maintained and the carpets in these areas are of good quality - A slightly different story on the bedroom corridors. Here the carpets are stained and dirty and 'ruched'. Our bedroom was on the 5th floor (527A). This had a good side sea view with shower, no bath. Very hot in the room but luckily there was a desk fan, as only one window opened. I paid £80 for one night Half Board. We decided to stay an extra night on B&B which cost £55. We were very lucky that we found a parking place right outside the main entrance which cost us £6 in total from Monday 11am through to Wednesday 0930am, as the hotel has it's own permits. As for the food - Breakfast was adequate, fresh and piping hot. The bacon was all lumped and stuck together, surely not cost effective? Could have done with more Vegetarian choices eg mushrooms, Vegetarian sausages etc. The evening meal we had was again adequate. Pangasius fish was plentiful, however there has been lots of reports that this fish causes an allergic reaction due to how it is processed and farmed, often in dirty waters in Vietnam, The other choices were Sausage and Bacon casserole and I think chicken? The peas and sweetcorn were tinned, not sure if the new potatoes were too? Had to ask for the Vegetarian choice which was Spinach cannelloni, lots of it and piping hot. The bar was reasonably priced. The main bar shut at 10pm on the Tuesday, not a good choice when the hotel was busy and guests were watching the football in that area, All in all, I would recommend this hotel. The staff were polite, efficient and friendly. I will be staying here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view (supplement). Do not have a basement room. No matter where your room is, you w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hornstar65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand724, Manager at Grand Hotel Scarborough, responded to this review, July 5, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your kind and honest comments during your recent visit to us, we will use your feedback to imporve the hotel.

We do hope to welcome you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai
Level Contributor
49 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2014

Had a wonderful line dancing lesson with great music and something to suit every level of competence in The Grand Hotel. A super venue overlooking the South Bay. Our teacher was the real thing, with his Stetson and drooping mustache and for those dances that were beyond my capabilities, it was a joy to watch and listen to. This was great value - just four pounds for two hours. We will definitely be returning for more lessons!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank Pam l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand724, Manager at Grand Hotel Scarborough, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your kind and honest comments during your recent visit to us.

Line Dancing takes place every Tuesday and Thursdays afternoon within the hotel.

We do hope to welcome you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2014

We stayed 2 nights with a seaview room here for a weekend break. On the first night our 3 year old was running around playing and hiding, when we found her she was led behind the sofa in a thick layer of dust! On checking the bathroom we found hairs in the bath and a grimy coating to it.

On the first night we were awoken by the fire alarm twice, with no offer of apology or explanation from staff!

We complained on the first morning and was told the head housekeeper would fix the issues for us. On returning to the room the bath had been wiped down but was still grimy and no one had bothered to touch the dust! It was then I noticed above the shower the in-ceiling light fitting hanging down loose!

The breakfast included was so bad we opted to eat our the second morning, very poor quality cold and chewy. The fried bread in particular was barely edible.

After paying £188 for two nights this is probably the worst value for money stay I have had, very poor quality, didn't follow through a complaint properly, filthy room with damaged fittings and poor quality food.

The only good point was the sea view room had a great view.

Will be very unlikely to return to this, or any other Britannia hotel after this experience if this is to be an example of their chain.

We have complained... but so far have yet to receive a reply or acknowledgement.

Room Tip: The sea view room had a good view, the only thing going for it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Sean C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand724, Manager at Grand Hotel Scarborough, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your comments during your recent visit to us.

I can read from your review not all areas were to your expectations.

Cleanliness is key to our product, I can see procedures we have in place have not been adhered to this matter will be fully investigated.

As you have submitted feedback direct we will await this and respond shortly to you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Scarborough hotels

Redcar, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2014

Stayed at the Grand for a 3 day trip with National Coaches the back end of 2013. I did not write a review then because I was so angry, so I just completed the feedback form in the hotel. However since then I have spoken with various other people on my travels, and it seems if anything this hotel has only got worse. The hotel rooms were a bit worn, but of a ok standard. The thing that lets this hotel down is the way they treat their customers like cattle. When we were there, there was another 8 coaches in, which we were informed of the moment the mangement came onto the coach to welcome us. The rooms were not ready, so we left our luggage in the ballroom, and were told to come back in a couple of hours. Dinner times were a nightmare, people queing for upto an hour to get into the dinning room. Once in there it was a free for all. You had to find a seat that was set up, (not very many I might add). It was buffet service, another free for all, no chefs on site. The food was diabolical, cold, well done, dry and not much choice. Breakfast was better, not much of a rush and most of the coaches must have gone out early. We had free drink vouches ( 3 drinks per day) we had 1, the queues for the bar were 30 - 45 minute wait. They where understaffed, but still took booking for 9 coaches, this is a disgrace, and to hear that things have got worse, it beggers believe. The dont seem to care about the guests, just the money they can make. My advice is stay away.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kimkev123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand724, Manager at Grand Hotel Scarborough, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your comments from your stay in 2013.

Our product has developed and changed since your last stay and is not a true reflection of how our hotel operates now.

Our main restaurant has now been extended, our promotional bars have been redeveloped to offer greater value for money.

Our customers are central to our business and will remain to be.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
85 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2014

very large, once magnificent hotel , very well situated. agreed its a bit shabby but at 69 pounds b&b for 2 people what do people expect. We were there at armed forces weekend and the place was packed. The room were overlooking the sea and were of a standard expected. clean. lighting didn't work very well but was fixed.
breakfast was perfectly palatable and was self service. Staff dealt efficiently with queues.
Will be back for next year's armed forces day!

Room Tip: Sea view rooms are better
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank borak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand724, Manager at Grand Hotel Scarborough, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your kind and honest comments during your recent visit to us.

We do hope to welcome you back in the near future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2014

Fist of all my partner payed £45 for a room, we weren't expecting much, but I wouldn't even want to pay for the room we got. It was the smallest room I've ever been in, and to make it worse it had no window. The bed was two wooden trollies pushed together for a double bed and had a single bed headboard. There was no way I was staying in that room for £45 so they changed us to a room with a window that we payed an extra £10 for, now staying in a room worth £55 and it was just as bad; had rips in the seat, the window had wood missing leaving it with a hole in it, the bed was exactly the same but with a headboard to big for the bed and worst of all I couldn't even have a shower, the shower door didn't shut properly leaving it leaking within the first minute of it being on, the bathroom was then flooded, the TV was no bigger than my hand and was fuzzy, we also got told on our receipt that our room had Internet, it didn't. It came to 12am and my partner had to go complain as this was becoming a joke. The manager came to the room laughing saying there's nothing he could do, as soon as we said we wanted to speak to someone in the morning about the room he then changed us into another room, back to a room with no window, but the furniture was decent and there was a shower and bath both working, we thought we could deal with this, then we discovered blood on the carpet and up the wall. To top it off all the workers here looked miserable and didn't smile at all. Anytime we mentioned a refund we were told this was never going to be possible. So we've paid £55 for a room without a window and blood up the walls and on the carpet. I've never been so disgusted. We will be bringing this up in the morning to someone else, who is more understanding of all the trouble we have had.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Courtneylee73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand724, Manager at Grand Hotel Scarborough, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your comments during your recent visit to us.

I can read from your review not all areas were to your expectations.

Our product has leaped forward over the last few years with extensive investment across our hotel.

I would encourage you to contact us direct so we can discuss your feedback further.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
0.1 mi away
Royal Hotel Scarborough
Royal Hotel Scarborough
#27 of 28 in Scarborough
3.0 of 5 bubbles 2,328 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#6 of 28 in Scarborough
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,752 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Clifton Hotel - Scarborough
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Park Manor Hotel
Park Manor Hotel
#4 of 28 in Scarborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 818 reviews
0.1 mi away
Premier Inn Scarborough Hotel
0.2 mi away
The Esplanade Hotel
The Esplanade Hotel
#19 of 28 in Scarborough
3.5 of 5 bubbles 325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Scarborough? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Scarborough

Property: Grand Hotel Scarborough
Address: St. Nicholas Cliff, Scarborough YO11 2ET, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Scarborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Hotel Scarborough 3*
Number of rooms: 413
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the Town Centre, the Grand Scarborough Hotel takes pride of place overlooking the town's harbour and South Bay. One of the town's landmark features and instantly recognisable on the skyline. Our location is ideal in Scarborough from which to enjoy beautiful sandy beaches, promenade walks and all that Scarborough has to offer, all within a short stroll away. LIVE entertainment is available every night with our dazzling cabaret shows featuring professional dancers and entertainers dressed in stunning costumes. We offer free wifi with all of our public spaces, along with dedicated PC terminals (small charge) for customers who do not bring their own computer. We have a range of meeting rooms, conference space with break out area and our stunning Palm Court Ballroom with majestic views of the south bay for hire, including weddings (ceremony & function). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Grand Hotel Scarborough reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scarborough Grand Hotel
Grand Scarborough
The Grand Hotel Scarborough

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing