We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awful”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grand Hotel Scarborough
Ranked #28 of 28 Hotels in Scarborough
Derry, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Awful”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2013

Terrible place with earliest check out i have ever had
Parking ticket on first day despite paying my parking and displaying disc.
Could not un-recommend this place highly enough!
Please do not stay here! Not value for money and rooms were shockingly bad!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand724, Manager at Grand Hotel Scarborough, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
Dear Guest
As you have posted directly to a review site I cannot contact you directly to discuss your experience, our management team are available 24 hours a day to assist with anything you are concerned about during your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,110 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    559
    1,210
    1,250
    947
    2,144
See reviews for
1,311
2,946
147
135
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2,142)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2013

I booked the Grand because after numerous visits to Scarborough I had wanted to stay in a bigger hotel with more facilities rather than a smaller B and B. it might say Grand on the façade outside but it certainly isn't inside.

Its very tired now. Going for the cheaper budget type of traveller isn't going to make then enough profit to reinvest in the building and rooms. But that aside there are plenty of things they can do to improve the traveller experience. Running a successful hotel is easy. Running one that isn't is more difficult.

I stayed for two nights. Check in for such a large hotel is small and no sign of any porters at all. Breakfast is a buffet type. Basic and cheap ingredients are the words to describe it. Please get the restaurant staff to learn some basic serving skills and manners. Every time some one finished with a cup or plate or a glass a hand would shoot out and remove it from the table. No excuse me or have you finished, just a hand taking it from the table. Not once did anyone ask us if everything was ok. Was this because they where frightened to ask knowing what the answer would be? Some mandatory hospitality training courses for the staff is needed. Even though the hotel is tired that's no excuse for what seems like disinterested staff.

The public rooms are tired but reasonable. Lots of gambling machines if that's what you like.
My single room was reasonable with a large whirlpool bath, which was the highlight for me. No internet available in the rooms and an old antiquated TV. The bedroom light bulb was flicking on and off. I was going to report it but the queue at the reception put me off. the domestic must have noticed it each time they cleaned the room.

I've stayed in cheaper hotels which have more and better facilities so the Grand needs to raise its game or its going to go down hill even faster.

And please clean the windows. They are shocking.

Room Tip: Ask what the facilities are in each room before booking
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Davyhull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand724, Manager at Grand Hotel Scarborough, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
Dear Guest,
Please know that your feedback is extremely valuable to us and we will utilise your response by continuing to focus on making each and every guest experience the best it can be. We hope to be of service to you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2013

beautiful building in an ideal spot overlooking the bay, but the hotel once inside was a major let-down!! very tired & dated constant "stale" smell around the hotel, after taking forever to check_in the keys were handed over & told it`s` the fourth floor...next.. the room was small, dark, and again smelled stale...bed was terrible, creaky, & a very cheap spring mattress meant a sleepless night!!
shower was ok thank god! breakfast was ok, spent 2 nights there and to be honest was glad to get out of there, a real shame because its very run-down .. but could be lovely, will NEVER stay here again!!

Room Tip: dont go by the photo`s!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank richgill2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand724, Manager at Grand Hotel Scarborough, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
Dear Guest,
As you have posted directly to a review site I cannot contact you directly to discuss your experience, our management team are available 24 hours a day to assist with anything you are concerned about during your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Scarborough hotels

uk
Level Contributor
118 reviews
110 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2013

A big hotel with a big name, and I am sure it was once very Grand indeed – but I suspect that this was a long time ago. To be fair the entrance hall is spectacular and there are fantastic views over the sweeping Scarborough Bay, but that’s where it all ends!

For a large hotel the tiny reception is totally overwhelmed resulting in long queues. There are no real car parking spaces (a number of on street spaces outside the hotel, but totally inadequate), resulting in some very animated discussions at the reception desk with frustrated guests who had arrived by car.

I know singles always seem to get a raw deal, but my room was incredibly small, stained carpets, sagging net curtains and cracked ceiling. The shower-room was very tiny- just enough room for a small shower, toilet and wash basin, which was small and at a very low level(only just above knee level). Tiny bathroom towels and a really miniature, old fashioned, t.v. Incredibly hard bed and old furniture completed a not very positive experience. I stood patiently in line at reception for some time to ask for something better – but alas I was already on the best floor, although there were a small number of rooms in the basement which I declined.

Breakfast was just about passable, but only just. A 20 minute wait in a queue just to get in on a Sunday morning was not very good! Large room (desperate for a redecoration) with nice views, although the windows didn’t look as if they had been cleaned for some time. Small selection of food – not food seemed to have been around for a while – hard bacon, watery scrambled eggs. Orange juice not fresh, long queues for teas and coffee.

I am sure there are worse hotels than The Grand…. The fact that it was nearly full seemed down to coach parties and ,most likely its past reputation. It’s a very large hotel which as just not seen any investment for many a year – and it shows. From my bedroom window I looked across to the Travel Lodge which seemed to me a rather grander affair. If it wasn’t for the fact that the hotel insisted on full payment upfront on arrival (what sort of clients do they normally get?) I would have walked across the road!

Room Tip: Choose somewhere else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank severus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand724, Manager at Grand Hotel Scarborough, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
Dear Guest
Due to the location of the hotel and when the hotel was built we have no car parking, we do sell car parking permits for £3 for a number of pay and display bays within the local area next to the hotel.Over the coming year a number of refurbishment programmes are planned to rectify the areas you have highlighted. Thank you for taking the time to rate our hotel in regards to your recent stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirkby-in-Ashfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
504 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 201 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2013

Attended the craft fair held in the Grand raising funds for a local charity. Lots of jewellery and handbags a craft fair does not make. The cup cakes were very nice, the lace boxes were beautiful and very popular, confectionery, handmade aprons and towels and a very talented nail artist. Something different followed by latte on the terrace overlooking the bay....wonderful.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chandra H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand724, Manager at Grand Hotel Scarborough, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Dear valued guest,
Thank you for your comments.
Looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2013

In mid-October my wife & I took advantage of a 2-night bargain break which offered 2 nights BBEM and a bottle of wine for a very reasonable rate, which we found on the Brittannia Hotel Group website. The Group has 3 hotels in Scarborough, but this particular offer was confined to the Grand. This large hotel retains its original Victorian splendour, with room and facilities to match, all in reasonable repair. Our meals were self-service, but good quality, with a good choice. The staff were all friendly, in spite of coping with dozens of guests, many of them fairly elderly. It enjoys a commanding position overlooking the bay, and the main restaurant has a good view. We didn't use any of the lounges, but there always seemed to be something going on. We would gladly go again.

Room Tip: Sea view rooms usually cost more, but you can be lucky as we were, even with a bargain break. Our ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank godronb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand724, Manager at Grand Hotel Scarborough, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to rate our hotel in regards to your recent stay.
Looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beverley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2013 via mobile

We booked this for what I thought was a cheap deal, but clearly we were robbed! We checked in at 4pm and was disappointed when we saw our room! It was very small with dated furniture and dirty carpets. No bedside cabinets, a chair one side of the bed and the window was stuck open. Luckily it was a warm night but would be freezing if cold. I got a bad feeling when reading a notice on the bed warning of norovirus! Apparently all staff are trained in dealing with symptoms but strangely no soap in the bathroom to wash hands. The bathroom was not too bad, reasonably clean but the shower just a trickle! The bed was very uncomfortable with flat pillows but at least sheets were clean!

We went for our evening meal at 5.30 as the restaurant opened and got a seat near the window which was a pleasant view. The food not so pleasant, very bland tasting, just about edible.

We were going out for the evening and on our return there were no car parking spaces available! We had to park in another car park quite a walk away, but we had to put our parking pass on our car before 9am the next morning and they couldn't sell us one for the next day even though you only scratch off the day and time!!

We decided to risk it and have breakfast thinking how can they get bacon and eggs wrong! How wrong were we. Horrible cheap sausages and beans, scrambled egg watery looked disgusting. We left most of it and thankfully escaped the norovirus!!!

Next time we will stay at the travelogdge opposite looked much nicer! I would advise anyone to avoid no matter how cheap a deal!

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank juliestrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand724, Manager at Grand Hotel Scarborough, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to rate our Hotel in regards to your recent stay.
In relation to the information leaflet regarding Noro-Virus this is there for guests information and to ensure all guests are fully aware of the Virus, this Virus is vary common in large hotels, Cruise ships and Hospitals. We are very pleased to confirm there have been no outbreaks in the hotel due to our approach to educating customers and increased levels of sanitizers around the hotel.
Due to the location of the hotel and when the hotel was built we have no car parking. We do sell car parking permits for £3.00 for a number of pay and display bays within the local area next to the hotel.
In relation to your dining experience this feedback has been passed onto our Restaurant Team.
We thank you for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
0.1 mi away
Royal Hotel Scarborough
Royal Hotel Scarborough
#27 of 28 in Scarborough
3.0 of 5 bubbles 2,306 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#6 of 28 in Scarborough
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,623 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Clifton Hotel - Scarborough
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Park Manor Hotel
Park Manor Hotel
#4 of 28 in Scarborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 800 reviews
0.1 mi away
Premier Inn Scarborough Hotel
0.2 mi away
The Esplanade Hotel
The Esplanade Hotel
#19 of 28 in Scarborough
3.5 of 5 bubbles 321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Scarborough? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Scarborough

Property: Grand Hotel Scarborough
Address: St. Nicholas Cliff, Scarborough YO11 2ET, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Scarborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Hotel Scarborough 3*
Number of rooms: 413
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the Town Centre, the Grand Scarborough Hotel takes pride of place overlooking the town's harbour and South Bay. One of the town's landmark features and instantly recognisable on the skyline. Our location is ideal in Scarborough from which to enjoy beautiful sandy beaches, promenade walks and all that Scarborough has to offer, all within a short stroll away. LIVE entertainment is available every night with our dazzling cabaret shows featuring professional dancers and entertainers dressed in stunning costumes. We offer free wifi with all of our public spaces, along with dedicated PC terminals (small charge) for customers who do not bring their own computer. We have a range of meeting rooms, conference space with break out area and our stunning Palm Court Ballroom with majestic views of the south bay for hire, including weddings (ceremony & function). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Hotel Scarborough reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scarborough Grand Hotel
Grand Scarborough
The Grand Hotel Scarborough

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing