We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Craft fair at the Grand”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grand Hotel Scarborough
Ranked #26 of 26 Hotels in Scarborough
Reviewed October 27, 2013

Attended the craft fair held in the Grand raising funds for a local charity. Lots of jewellery and handbags a craft fair does not make. The cup cakes were very nice, the lace boxes were beautiful and very popular, confectionery, handmade aprons and towels and a very talented nail artist. Something different followed by latte on the terrace overlooking the bay....wonderful.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chandrah874
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand724, Manager at Grand Hotel Scarborough, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2013

Dear valued guest,
Thank you for your comments.
Looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (6,749)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

4,102 - 4,108 of 6,749 reviews

Reviewed October 27, 2013

In mid-October my wife & I took advantage of a 2-night bargain break which offered 2 nights BBEM and a bottle of wine for a very reasonable rate, which we found on the Brittannia Hotel Group website. The Group has 3 hotels in Scarborough, but this particular offer was confined to the Grand. This large hotel retains its original Victorian splendour, with room and facilities to match, all in reasonable repair. Our meals were self-service, but good quality, with a good choice. The staff were all friendly, in spite of coping with dozens of guests, many of them fairly elderly. It enjoys a commanding position overlooking the bay, and the main restaurant has a good view. We didn't use any of the lounges, but there always seemed to be something going on. We would gladly go again.

Room Tip: Sea view rooms usually cost more, but you can be lucky as we were, even with a bargain break. Our ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank godronb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand724, Manager at Grand Hotel Scarborough, responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to rate our hotel in regards to your recent stay.
Looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2013

We booked this for what I thought was a cheap deal, but clearly we were robbed! We checked in at 4pm and was disappointed when we saw our room! It was very small with dated furniture and dirty carpets. No bedside cabinets, a chair one side of the bed and the window was stuck open. Luckily it was a warm night but would be freezing if cold. I got a bad feeling when reading a notice on the bed warning of norovirus! Apparently all staff are trained in dealing with symptoms but strangely no soap in the bathroom to wash hands. The bathroom was not too bad, reasonably clean but the shower just a trickle! The bed was very uncomfortable with flat pillows but at least sheets were clean!

We went for our evening meal at 5.30 as the restaurant opened and got a seat near the window which was a pleasant view. The food not so pleasant, very bland tasting, just about edible.

We were going out for the evening and on our return there were no car parking spaces available! We had to park in another car park quite a walk away, but we had to put our parking pass on our car before 9am the next morning and they couldn't sell us one for the next day even though you only scratch off the day and time!!

We decided to risk it and have breakfast thinking how can they get bacon and eggs wrong! How wrong were we. Horrible cheap sausages and beans, scrambled egg watery looked disgusting. We left most of it and thankfully escaped the norovirus!!!

Next time we will stay at the travelogdge opposite looked much nicer! I would advise anyone to avoid no matter how cheap a deal!

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
5  Thank juliestrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand724, Manager at Grand Hotel Scarborough, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to rate our Hotel in regards to your recent stay.
In relation to the information leaflet regarding Noro-Virus this is there for guests information and to ensure all guests are fully aware of the Virus, this Virus is vary common in large hotels, Cruise ships and Hospitals. We are very pleased to confirm there have been no outbreaks in the hotel due to our approach to educating customers and increased levels of sanitizers around the hotel.
Due to the location of the hotel and when the hotel was built we have no car parking. We do sell car parking permits for £3.00 for a number of pay and display bays within the local area next to the hotel.
In relation to your dining experience this feedback has been passed onto our Restaurant Team.
We thank you for your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2013

Got to say after reading some of the reviews on this web site we were a little concerned about what to expect from The Grand Hotel.However I really think it was far better than people lead us to believe.Maybe we were lucky I wouldn't like to say, but in all honesty we had a great weekend,our room was spacious spotlessly clean and the staff couldn't have been more helpful,the dining room was a bit daunting and the food perhaps could be improved but all in all a great time was had by the four of us.I think most of us are spoiled these days and expect hotels to be like our holidays hotels abroad which in our case are 4 star but please if you are not happy let them know they will help if they can,Thank you Grand hotel for a lovely weekend.

Room Tip: we had a lovely room looking out over the sea.Try for room 414
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BettyToole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand724, Manager at Grand Hotel Scarborough, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2013

Dear value guest.
We thank you for your comments and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2013 via mobile

Booked a double room for 2 nights.
First thing parking. Drop your cases off and drive a mile to the multi storey car park. Dam closed at 8.30pm. Had to leave the car on a small unlit short stay and get up before 9am to walk back to the car to get a ticket.
The room. Shoebox size in the basement. The bed is a large single smelling of damp. Back up to reception to complain. Bad staff attitude at reception but did change our room after some arguing. Still down further into the basement. A nightmare finding the bloody room. Bigger room double bed and nice clean bathroom with spa bath.
Very noisey air con duct. And cold.
Gave breakfast a miss and now sat in the coffee lounge on the scruffy furniture. Can t get a coffee because the coffee bar is closed. Bars are closed. Its poor when you can t even get a brew in the morning. Off out I think!

Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
1  Thank Andy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand724, Manager at Grand Hotel Scarborough, responded to this reviewResponded November 15, 2013

Dear Guest,
Due to the location of the hotel and when the hotel was built we have no car parking, we do sell car parking permits for £3 for a number of pay and display bays within the local area next to the hotel. The room which you stayed in was one of value rooms, these rooms are our newest additions to the hotel, offering good value for money, all our value rooms contain Air Cooling with the addition of Fan for your comfort,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2013

I was nervous about staying at hotel after reading some of the reviews about the grand, but we were treated with courtesy from booking in to leaving. a porter helped us with our luggage and we were lucky enough to be given rooms with a sea view the bathroom was bigger than our dining room at home,we upgraded our dining to premier and it was well worth the 7 pounds per night,soup ,fish course (whole fresh salmon prawns,tuna and various salads) meat course had a choice of 3 meats and 1 fish. choice of deserts, cheese and biscuits, coffee or tea altogether with a pleasant décor and atmosphere a very enjoyable experience on both nights,after a comfortable nights sleep the breakfast was just as acceptable. we cant wait to go back again. we had a mix of weather but it didn't mar our holiday at all.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Marilyn O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand724, Manager at Grand Hotel Scarborough, responded to this reviewResponded October 25, 2013

Dear valued guest,

I'm so pleased to hear your enjoyed your stay with us and very much appreciate you taking the time to review our hotel.

We are very proud of our hard working team and we continue to look for new ways to improve our service for our guests.

We do look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2013

We stayed here in late October.
The room was good, after getting the room we booked for.
We need a bath and booked the room, but on check in they allocated one with shower.
The room was in the turret, big room, clean, and just needs a few updates, like newer TV stand as my hubby could not see the TV from his side of bed.
The few problems we had were rectified quickly, not enough towels and tea bags.
They supplied these things as quick as we mentioned them, no problems at all.
The evening meal , well mass catering for the coach crowd, but we both found enough to eat.
I always like the breakfast at this hotel, the fried bread is so good.
We would like to see this hotel get a complete refurb, but then maybe it will then cater for a different type of person.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank divaGateshead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand724, Manager at Grand Hotel Scarborough, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for your comments. Looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
0.7 mi away
The Clifton Hotel - Scarborough
0.1 mi away
Royal Hotel Scarborough
Royal Hotel Scarborough
#25 of 26 in Scarborough
2,495 reviews
0.3 mi away
Marine Residence
Marine Residence
#16 of 26 in Scarborough
132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#6 of 26 in Scarborough
4,962 reviews
0 mi away
Travelodge Scarborough St Nicholas Hotel
0.6 mi away
Ambassador Hotel
Ambassador Hotel
#22 of 26 in Scarborough
1,285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Scarborough? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Scarborough

Address: St. Nicholas Cliff, Scarborough YO11 2ET, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Scarborough
Price Range: $36 - $107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Hotel Scarborough 3*
Number of rooms: 413
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the Town Centre, the Grand Scarborough Hotel takes pride of place overlooking the town's harbour and South Bay. One of the town's landmark features and instantly recognisable on the skyline. Our location is ideal in Scarborough from which to enjoy beautiful sandy beaches, promenade walks and all that Scarborough has to offer, all within a short stroll away. LIVE entertainment is available every night with our dazzling cabaret shows featuring professional dancers and entertainers dressed in stunning costumes. We offer free wifi with all of our public spaces, along with dedicated PC terminals (small charge) for customers who do not bring their own computer. We have a range of meeting rooms, conference space with break out area and our stunning Palm Court Ballroom with majestic views of the south bay for hire, including weddings (ceremony & function). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Grand Hotel Scarborough reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scarborough Grand Hotel
Grand Scarborough
The Grand Hotel Scarborough

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing