We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“a disappointment” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grand Hotel Scarborough

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Grand Hotel Scarborough
Ranked #28 of 28 Hotels in Scarborough
Midlands
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“a disappointment”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2013

We booked to stay here a week in advance. When we arrived we went to check in and the receptionist searched for our booking on the computer. She said to take a seat while they sort a room out so i waited nearly an hour at reception with out anyone coming up to me to explain what was happening. I asked a few times at the desk what was going on but they said they were sorting it out!?! in the end after me asking again, she explained to me that we were double booked and she had managed to book us in at another hotel the other side of the town! Whilst i was waiting nearly everyone who approached the reception desk had a complaint and the duty manager seemed rushed off her feet dealing with it all! Very disappointed by the customer service there. Kind of relieved we didnt end up staying there from the first impressions we got. Very doubtful i would book to stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pops22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand724, Manager at Grand Hotel Scarborough, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Dear Guest,

As you have posted directly to a review site I cannot contact you directly to discuss your experience. Our management team are available 24 hours a day to assist with anything you are concerned about during your stay. Please do feel free to contact us direct.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,027 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    554
    1,200
    1,230
    933
    2,110
See reviews for
1,279
2,916
146
130
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2,115)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
241 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2013 via mobile

I Always stay at the grand hotel when visiting Scarborough its improving slowly . Still a bit ropey in places its Now got free Wi-Fi in public area's and works well which is a big plus. We had a water leak in our bathroom coming from the ceiling light . We were told by the handyman it had been fix. (It still dripped) it never got resolved after complaining at reception. Having said that the place is still value for money and it wouldn't put me off staying again. PS the guy checking you in for meals is brilliant fun. ( another improvement)

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bryan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand724, Manager at Grand Hotel Scarborough, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for your comments.
Looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
west yorkshire
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2013

arrived and waited nearly 2 hours to check in the queing was hurrendous was 2 receptionist on the 1 disapeared ! nearly died when got to room small dusty room no window stuffy was a fan but the fan was thick with dust so darent turn on ! went to reception qued again to see if could change to a room with a window receptionist said fully booked but to go see them the next morn. slept all night with a light on next morn went for breakfast had to que again to be seated the coffee had no taste ! the breakfast was terrible cheap products ! Qued again to see about another room was asked to call back at afternoon for keys and paid £10 to up grade Qued another 2 hrs to collect keys for room on 5th floor was better but basic ! whilst in que a family of 4 booked in when they got to their room there was only 3 beds and bedding for 3 so they had to que AGAIN to complain well iv tried the Grand but wont be staying again the only thing grand was the Grand stair case we didnt even bother going down for breakfast the second morning !!!

Room Tip: make sure you put on booking a room with a window please !
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank karen m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand724, Manager at Grand Hotel Scarborough, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments. The room which you stayed in was one of our value rooms, these rooms are the newest additions to the hotel, offering good value for money, all of our value rooms contain air cooling with the addition of a fan for your comfort. To guarantee a room with a window it is advisable to upgrade to an executive room which have sea views.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Scarborough hotels

Newark-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2013

The Outside of the building looks delightful as you approach, but this must not fool you, as you enter a smell of must and bad food hits you and the interior looks drab and dirty. Although the room had a sea view the furniture is part Brocken and out dated and looks as though it needs chucking. The décor leaves much to be desired, the best thing that can be said for it, is that I am sure soon it will fall off, saving future guests the pain of looking at it. Never Have I tasted such overcooked and salty food, truly the worst food I have tasted. I have a peanut allergy and no one knew what and what didn't have it in. Terrible all of it. Avoid at all Costs. The staff for the most part where lovely and helpful that was its only saving grace.

Room Tip: Lower rooms have nice high celling's.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alex C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand724, Manager at Grand Hotel Scarborough, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Dear Guest,

As you have posted directly to a review site I cannot contact you directly to discuss your experience. Our management team are available 24 hours a day to assist with anything you are concerned about during your stay. Please do feel free to contact us direct.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2013

the staff are rude and uncaring, they have no interest in helping anyone even customers with a disability are scoffed at. the rooms are simply windowless boxes set in a maze of corridors and steps. not one club room has any form of ventilation or natural light yet the advert does not clearly say this it simply states internal room. we checked in at 4pm and the room was disgusting, when I told reception the ignorant girl on reception told me they were busy and would clean it when they could fit it in, (why don't you go for a walk) I check into hotels to freshen up and have fun not walk around hoping they will clean it??. the amount of people complaining was ridiculous. the only positive was the breakfast was quite nice. this hotel was once grand and now it is a disgrace. probably the worst hotel I have every stayed in.

Room Tip: to be honest if you book a room here your mad but if you book the highest priced room in the hotel i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PaulAtkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand724, Manager at Grand Hotel Scarborough, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Dear Guest,

As you have posted directly to a review site I cannot contact you directly to discuss your experience. Our management team are available 24 hours a day to assist with anything you are concerned about during your stay. Please do feel free to contact us direct.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2013

stayed at the Grand two days,4th,5th,August 2013 with National coach holidays. The room we had was dirty,damp,,we could write on table surfaces etc.Carpet wet in places. We could not see out of dirty windows,and the fungus growing inside! No use complaining,nothing done.We also waited 40 mins on staircase queqe to find leftovers for meal,which was uneatable!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank william s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand724, Manager at Grand Hotel Scarborough, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Dear Guest,

As you have posted directly to a review site I cannot contact you directly to discuss your experience. Our management team are available 24 hours a day to assist with anything you are concerned about during your stay. Please do feel free to contact us direct.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leeds
Level Contributor
32 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for one night as part of a national break. We had a decent room with a partial sea view the windows were that filthy we could not see out,our bathroom was clean with clean fresh towelsthe bed linen was also clean and fresh.As for the restaurant we were on the early serving for evening meal &also breakfasts otherwise we would have been in a massive line of people waiting for our meals.We had the Sunday carvery the roast beef was well cooked &very tender also all the food was hot.The breakfast nxt day was ok that sausage and bacon were a bit over cooked and that was at 7-30 when the restaurant first opened would not liked to have seen it later on.The hotel is very large but the entertainment was good and we found the staff friendly for what we paid it was ok have stayed in worse brittania hotels.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kyraLEEDS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand724, Manager at Grand Hotel Scarborough, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your comments. In relation to your dining experience this feedback has been passed on to our catering department.
We look forward to welcoming you back in future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
0.1 mi away
Royal Hotel Scarborough
Royal Hotel Scarborough
#27 of 28 in Scarborough
3.0 of 5 bubbles 2,274 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#6 of 28 in Scarborough
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,496 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Clifton Hotel - Scarborough
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Park Manor Hotel
Park Manor Hotel
#4 of 28 in Scarborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 780 reviews
0.1 mi away
Premier Inn Scarborough Hotel
0.3 mi away
The Esplanade Hotel
The Esplanade Hotel
#19 of 28 in Scarborough
3.5 of 5 bubbles 311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Scarborough? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Scarborough

Property: Grand Hotel Scarborough
Address: St. Nicholas Cliff, Scarborough YO11 2ET, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Scarborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Hotel Scarborough 3*
Number of rooms: 413
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the Town Centre, the Grand Scarborough Hotel takes pride of place overlooking the town's harbour and South Bay. One of the town's landmark features and instantly recognisable on the skyline. Our location is ideal in Scarborough from which to enjoy beautiful sandy beaches, promenade walks and all that Scarborough has to offer, all within a short stroll away. LIVE entertainment is available every night with our dazzling cabaret shows featuring professional dancers and entertainers dressed in stunning costumes. We offer free wifi with all of our public spaces, along with dedicated PC terminals (small charge) for customers who do not bring their own computer. We have a range of meeting rooms, conference space with break out area and our stunning Palm Court Ballroom with majestic views of the south bay for hire, including weddings (ceremony & function). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Grand Hotel Scarborough reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scarborough Grand Hotel
Grand Scarborough
The Grand Hotel Scarborough

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing