We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Total Rubbish”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Grand Hotel Scarborough
Ranked #26 of 26 Hotels in Scarborough
Reviewed April 30, 2013

Its such a shame that such a nice hotel has gotten into such a bad state of repair, and the staff don't seem to care. It took us 2 hours to book in and when we finally got to the reception desk they had no record of us. How glad was I that I brought my booking details with me. We were put on the first floor. There was stained walls and ceilings in our room, miss matching wallpaper and paint and paint hanging from the ceiling. It was as though nothing had been done in the last 20 years, I would of thought the floors that the public would see first would have been decorated as well as the upper floors. The noise from the lobby area and ballroom was horrendous, and thought the night you could hear the night staff talking and they also had a radio on. The dining room that we used was also very run down with cracked pains of glass and the dirtiest windows I have ever seen. But the breakfast was OK. NEVER AGAIN.

Room Tip: Do Not Book
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andrew T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand724, Manager at Grand Hotel Scarborough, responded to this reviewResponded May 6, 2014

Dear Guest,
There are currently a number of refurbishment projects due to commence over the coming year within the hotel, which will rectify a number of areas.
Thank you for your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (6,644)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

4,504 - 4,510 of 6,644 reviews

Reviewed April 30, 2013

Had a long weekend break here, the hotel is a bit tired and dated but the views are lovely, the staff are very pleasant and helpful, the food is good, plenty of it, get a table by the window in the dining room, great view out to sea.
Impressive stair case inside the building, rooms need a re-vamp, but for somewhere to lay your head and relax it meets the bill.

Room Tip: Top floors facing out to sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand724, Manager at Grand Hotel Scarborough, responded to this reviewResponded May 6, 2014

Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for your comments.
Looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2013

this is the worst hotel we have ever stayed in. We were in the basement next door to the kitchen, there were no windows and kitchen staff started at 04.30. I asked if we could move to a room with a window but after waiting at reception for half an hour she said no. I wish I had seen the room prior to paying (£108.00) for 2 nights. Lots of other residents were complaining about hot water, heating and plug sockets that didn't work. Be very wary when booking this hotel, ask to see room before paying. This is from somebody who has never complained before.

Room Tip: make sure your room is above ground level if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Simwill663
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand724, Manager at Grand Hotel Scarborough, responded to this reviewResponded May 6, 2014

Dear Guest,

As you have posted directly to a review site I cannot contact you directly to discuss your experience. Our management team are available 24 hours a day to assist with anything you are concerned about during your stay. Please do feel free to contact us direct.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2013

Had a city room, £24 for a couple B&B, cannot fault it. Room inside the hotel with no window, alright for one night, perfectly clean and appeared to have been very recently refurbished to a good standard. I have stayed at a number of Britannia Hotels and have got to know what to expect, if you want the ultimate in luxury then look elsewhere, if you prefer a bargain then come on in!
Initially finding the room was a little confusing, I think that the refurbishment is still ongoing so the lift sign to room numbers doesn't work yet, a temporary sign would help greatly!
Buffet breakfast was made with cheap and cheerful ingredients, but perfectly wholesome and cooked well. Parking can be a pain around here, but the hotel goes to the trouble of displaying a large sign informing you of alternatives and costs; others should follow.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rosiv D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand724, Manager at Grand Hotel Scarborough, responded to this reviewResponded May 6, 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your comments. Please know that your feedback is extremely valuable to us and we will utilise your response by continuing to focus on making each and every guest experience the best it can be. Looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2013

I had read so many bad reviews of this hotel. We travelled there with ‘Just go’ holidays.
The good things are: -
1. The spectacle of the hotel, both inside and out. The public rooms were very good, comfortable and pleasant to sit.
2. The views from the terrace. I would think the hotel is situated in the best position on the whole east coast.
3. Proximity to the beach and the town. Bus stop within 100m for the circular and others are up to 0.5 km away in the direction of the station.
4. The level of service, which I found excellent apart from the receptionist at that time on arrival failing to tell us where the room was. Coming out of the lift there is no signage and this is a very big hotel.
5. The food was served at a buffet and was good, with a reasonable choice, although there was margin for improvement but I have had far far worse.
The bad points are: -
1. The bedroom was clean but was never hoovered in the five days we were there. It certainly wasn’t comfortable. It was furnished by second hand furniture with a small wardrobe. The room had no shower so if you need one then request one. The room door required some strength to open; two hands are always needed. The bedroom needed upgrading – decorating, furnishing and the big sash windows didn’t work properly. No chance of seeing through the dirt either.
2. The hotel needed sprucing up, especially weeds growing above the grand entrance. All windows needed cleaning; most hadn’t been cleaned in many years, so the outstanding view from the restaurant was always masked.
3. The servery layout fro the buffet was very compact and a bit chaotic.
4. No nominated seating in the dining room so there was a bit of a scramble at mealtimes.
5. The lift to the bedrooms was filthy and hadn’t been cleaned in many years.
6. The lifts are very slow and can’t cope with the number of guests.
7. For what we got, the price was very high and comparing with a visit to Majorca in March was very poor value for money although this could be the mark-up from ‘Just go’ holidays.
8. The entertainment seemed to please many people but wasn’t my taste – bingo, quiz and a show every night.
9. The ladies toilet in the hall was filthy. Careless customers were at fault but do staff never check.
The hotel seemed to run on the goodwill of the staff without any management control. Basics were missing everywhere as if this was the first attempt at managing such a building. Did no one ever do a tour to ensure things are right or at least getting there? There were bold statements regarding Novovirus control but this seemed to be contradicted by the standard of cleanliness in the place.
Certainly the hotel is not as bad as many reviewers point out. This is a budget hotel and that must be the criteria for any comment and we paid a lot through ‘Just go’. Book the hotel on-line and travel by taxi its so much cheaper that way. I marked the hotel down because of the price since it wasn’t worth what we paid.
I would make clear the pros and cons of this hotel before recommending it but the internet price gives very good value for money.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BensonDorset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand724, Manager at Grand Hotel Scarborough, responded to this reviewResponded May 6, 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your comments. Please know that your feedback is extremely valuable to us and we will utilise your response by continuing to focus on making each and every guest experience the best it can be.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2013

Having checked with some peoples reviews on Trip Advisor and after having booked a weekend break i was tempted to have myself inoculated against typhoid, malaria and bring a suitcase full of disinfectant hand gel.......... how wrong would i have been.
The coach trip was pleasant and relaxing arriving at what must have been a grand, architecturally impressive and imposing hotel with some of the best views (we asked for a sea view on booking) in Scarborough.
The hallway and grand staircase offered a window into a bygone era of luxury and as for the staff, over our stay any staff that we spoke to were courteous,informative and great ambassadors for the hotel.
The room was fine, clean, damp smell free, new-ish beds with spotlessly clean white linen bed sheets. If i had to be critical the there were signs that the room had previously been tired but had been updated on a budget at some time.
The food excelled our expectations, a varied menu of four courses (including salmon) in what had previously been a grand dining room and was certainly the biggest i had been in. On the Saturday evening we had decided to eat out at a local restaurant as part of our break but having sampled the meal on the previous evening, we made our way back to the hotel.....again it was good. The only small detail that i would have changed was to have the windows washed to enhance the spectacular sea views (but i understand they are 150ft up from the kerb).
If you normally holiday in the Bahamas or only at a sandals resort this is not for you, as for the rest of us.... all the above and a day trip to the magnificent city of York for £89............. Brilliant

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Philip B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand724, Manager at Grand Hotel Scarborough, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2014

Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for your comments.
Looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2013

I was rather worried about having booked this hotel, after reading some of the reviews (even though it was a bargain break), but how pleasantly surprised I was with our room, the food and the friendliness of the staff. I had not expected a good room as we had our dog with us, but we had a lovely, well decorated room with a sea view and nice bathroom (the shower was exceptional!). We had booked half-board and each day both the buffet breakfast and dinner were good - plenty of well-cooked food and a good choice (NB I had the beef stroganoff one day and it was delicious - no gristle in sight!). I think some of the comments are unfair - especially the man who complained about having a basement room - there are 3 floors below reception level (and we were on one of them), but the hotel is built on a cliff, so they are not basements, they are still well above the promenade level and most have side or front sea views.The restaurant is open for several hours and you only have to queue if you go at, say, 5.30pm for the dinner, when it opens. We went at about 6.30pm and had no problems with queues. We did have to queue for a few minutes when checking in and I would expect that when a coach party arrives, there will be long queues, but when we got to the front of the queus, we were dealt with quickly, pleasantly and efficiently. The hotel is a bit run down in parts, but it is very big and would be very difficult to have everything done at once. The reception area, the grand staircase and the ballroom are magnificent.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ChrisyF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand724, Manager at Grand Hotel Scarborough, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2014

Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for your comments.
Looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
0.1 mi away
Royal Hotel Scarborough
Royal Hotel Scarborough
#25 of 26 in Scarborough
2,455 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Clifton Hotel - Scarborough
0.0 mi away
Travelodge Scarborough St Nicholas Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#6 of 26 in Scarborough
4,928 reviews
0.3 mi away
Marine Residence
Marine Residence
#16 of 26 in Scarborough
122 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ambassador Hotel
Ambassador Hotel
#22 of 26 in Scarborough
1,267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Scarborough? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Scarborough

Address: St. Nicholas Cliff, Scarborough YO11 2ET, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Scarborough
Price Range: $43 - $111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Hotel Scarborough 3*
Number of rooms: 413
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the Town Centre, the Grand Scarborough Hotel takes pride of place overlooking the town's harbour and South Bay. One of the town's landmark features and instantly recognisable on the skyline. Our location is ideal in Scarborough from which to enjoy beautiful sandy beaches, promenade walks and all that Scarborough has to offer, all within a short stroll away. LIVE entertainment is available every night with our dazzling cabaret shows featuring professional dancers and entertainers dressed in stunning costumes. We offer free wifi with all of our public spaces, along with dedicated PC terminals (small charge) for customers who do not bring their own computer. We have a range of meeting rooms, conference space with break out area and our stunning Palm Court Ballroom with majestic views of the south bay for hire, including weddings (ceremony & function). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Grand Hotel Scarborough reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scarborough Grand Hotel
Grand Scarborough
The Grand Hotel Scarborough

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing