We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Grand Hotel Scarborough
Nearby Hotels
The Grainary(Scarborough)
$96
$91
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Rivelyn Hotel(Scarborough)
$60
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Palm Court Hotel(Scarborough)
$167
$116
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Esplanade Hotel(Scarborough)
$103
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Wrea Head Hall(Scarborough)
$144
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$98
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Crown Spa Hotel(Scarborough)
$558
$85
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$172
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Ambassador Hotel(Scarborough)
$77
$74
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$90
PremierInn.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (7,020)
Filter reviews
7,021 results
Traveler rating
642
1,355
1,405
1,096
2,523
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
642
1,355
1,405
1,096
2,523
See what travelers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
4,978 - 4,983 of 7,021 reviews
Reviewed March 26, 2013

Towering above the beautiful Victorian seaside resort of Scarborough is The Grand Hotel with its magnificent grand staircase welcoming visitors since 1868. It’s one of the buildings that defines Scarborough and as a child I would look at it and wonder what it was like to stay in.

Sadly I found out.

Welcomed by parking spaces covered in broken glass where thieves had been breaking into cars and no space to park, we had to find a parking space in a neighbouring hotel at the cost of £10 per night.

A picket line of drunken smokers flicking cigarette ends into the wind from the steps of the hotel welcomed us to The Grand Hotel.

After collecting out key began the challenge of finding the room, the direction signage was poor and after many wrong lifts and doors we returned back to reception for more directions.

We finally found the lift that was to take us down 2 floors into the basement of the hotel and to find out room. Wandering the dirty corridors littered with dirty laundry we eventually found our room.

Our room could be better described as a cell with no natural light, the mirror falling off the battered wall with a small double bed too big for the room so you could not walk around it.
It was freezing and the heating was broken. The bathroom made a noise of an industrial pumping station if you flushed the toilet. The bath was broken and a cable tie had been attached to allow you to select shower or bath, this did not work and water sprayed from both. The water was cold both in the evening and the morning so no shower or bath was possible.
Around the hotel they had hand washing stations at every corner like a hospital and a letter on our bed explained that it was guests who bring in viruses to the hotel.

In the morning we attempted breakfast, the first challenge was to find the way out of the basement. With no signage to help you have to navigate the endless corridors until you find your way. We collected more lost guests and hunted as a pack searching for the exit.
Breakfast was closed. It was only 8am but they served breakfast in a tiny room so small people has to share tables with other guests and it was full.

Back to the cell to collect our things, we can now find our way by navigating using the dirty laundry still there from the night before. Right at the pile of towels, left at the brown stained sheets and down the corridor with the supermarket bag of rubbish.

Goodbye Scarborough, we leave a little sad that this once grand hotel has fallen.

Room Tip: Stay away!
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NorfolkVoice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand724, Manager at Grand Hotel Scarborough, responded to this reviewResponded May 26, 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your comments. Please know that your feedback is extremely valuable to us and we will utilise your response by continuing to focus on making each and every guest experience the best it can be.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2013

A visit to Scarborough to see family was planned, so checked out other hotels before deciding on The Grand.......Blown away by the winds, not the state of the hotel. On arrival the receptionist was pleasant (so unlike the one when checking out) directed to the lift which would take us up to the 6th floor (lift arrived we entered it took 9/10 attempts for the door to shut) so got out and walked.........The room was quite pleasant until we checked some minor details, dirty and worn towels in the bathroom,hand rail fell off, only tepid water when showering (there was a note saying they had boiler problems) and then the bed..............old, no support, squeaky, lumpy. The weather outside windy and icy cold, the room very warm. Went down to breakfast at 8am, i have never seen such a dirty, messy restaurant, we where directed to one side of the room (you could sit anywhere) the cutlery on the table looked like it had not been washed, 3 out of 4 cups stained. Table marked with stains from previous diners and lumps of food on the floor under the table.......not a nice place to eat at all, so up we got, and found a lovely cafe and had our breakfast. The Grand is such a beautiful building, it is such a shame the inside does not live up to it's name.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank 6Suet6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand724, Manager at Grand Hotel Scarborough, responded to this reviewResponded May 26, 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your comments. Please know that your feedback is extremely valuable to us and we will utilise your response by continuing to focus on making each and every guest experience the best it can be.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2013

Please do not waste your money going here me and my family a party of 10 in total have just come back from grand hotel in Scarborough firstly we got to our rooms and they were freezing we stood at the mucky windows in our bedroom to be gusted by wind the windows are so old when they are closed you get wind swept the room was freezing my son has a bath and his lips were blue when he got out the beds are so uncomfortable and the radiator was not working it was probably minus 2 in our bedroom after asking 3 times for a heater we got this little pathetic one which did not help the dinners were nice and the waiter was lovely the decor was something from the 1940s and the management had no customer service skills what so ever. The games room was pathetic the pool tables were broken so I helped myself to the balls instead on paying but there was no white ball. The entertainer looked like him Carey but not funny the staff just didn't care it's a bit sad when you have to wear your hat and jacket whilst eating dinner oh and the shower was freezing no hot water it's defiantly not grand please do not waste your money on going to this hotel I feel sorry for all the oaps spending there money on the hotel I cannot mention not 1 thing about the hotel that was good on the last day we had a £6 voucher to use for lunch I ordered a cheese burger it was full of grizzle and didn't look no way near like the picture right think that's it please do not go listen to us and other people that have written reviews the management do not care whether your cold there just bothered about getting your money oh just remembered 1out of 2 lifts was broken so me and my partner had to grab the lift door and slam it shut to be able to use it or wait half a hour for the other lift

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Sarahstanley605
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand724, Manager at Grand Hotel Scarborough, responded to this reviewResponded May 26, 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your comments. Please know that your feedback is extremely valuable to us and we will utilise your response by continuing to focus on making each and every guest experience the best it can be.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2013

I have used and always enjoyed Britannia hotels before in spite of the somewhat ageing decor which is often part of the charm, eg at the Adelphi in Liverpool, but have never experienced such erratic service as at the Grand. My companion and I, travelling independently, booked two double rooms for single occupation for 5 nights. We finally got them after having to spend our first night in single rooms then being allocated allegedly adjacent doubles of which one proved to be already occupied, so after a bit of a tussle with the duty manager (who was busy checking in a coach party and really didn't want to be bothered with us) we ended up on different floors unable to communicate with one another as there are no telephones in the rooms.

Having said that, the rooms themselves were very clean, the beds comfortable and the duvets warm. But the hot water wasn't hot enough in either room for more than a very quick and uncomfortable bath or shower, and the very limited range of television channels (plus no programme guide) quite astonishing in this day and age.

The cooked breakfast offering was the same every day with no fried eggs as noted by others, and the scrambled version so watery and tasteless we avoided it after day one. The very good quality bacon and reasonable (for a hotel) sausages were largely spoilt by overcooking, which also applied to the roast potatoes at dinner. But the range of main courses was generally good and the portioning generous.

We enjoyed Scarborough and the surrounding country very much but on balance would probably not choose the Grand again.

Room Tip: Check the options carefully when you book and insist on getting what you asked for!
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hermy157
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand724, Manager at Grand Hotel Scarborough, responded to this reviewResponded May 26, 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your comments. Please know that your feedback is extremely valuable to us and we will utilise your response by continuing to focus on making each and every guest experience the best it can be.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2013

Our party of ten aged between 40 and 92, on a three day trip with national holidays . we were welcomed by our hosts as the national rep was not available , the duty manager was very helpful and polite. Our rooms were quite satisfactory considering the price we paid. As a Head Chef i found the food to be sufficiently hot and given the amount of people they had to feed at one go , a good choice and very nice. There was a hiccup with our return journey on the Sunday and i would like to praise ALL the staff at the Grand as they were most kind and caring and even offered everyone a meal and tried their best to resolve our situation as best they could, even though our problem had nothing to do with the hotel . i would highly recommend this hotel and staff to anyone who is prepared to accept a good old knees up in a lovely hotel with real people for staff at an excellent price. WELL DONE .We all loved being your guests I will be returning with another party of freinds to once more have a Great time at The Grand

Room Tip: 0024 , a very large room ,sea view, large and jacuzzi
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michelle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand724, Manager at Grand Hotel Scarborough, responded to this reviewResponded June 3, 2014

Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for your comments.
Looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews