We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hotel From Hell”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grand Hotel Scarborough
Ranked #28 of 28 Hotels in Scarborough
lancashire
1 review
“Hotel From Hell”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2013

Booked a Twixmas Break with National Coaches along with Two other couples, upon arrival was met on the coach by a very rude Lady who explained everything that fast no one could keep up with her. Must admit our check in was very fast once in the main Reception,The rooms was clean and warm but very out of date needs a lot of Money spending on the decorating work.The Bar Manager was very rude and Talked to people like we where School children making us stand in line and was over heard saying if anyone said anything do not serve them the bar staff was not much better mannered neither.The Restaurant was a bit like a Butlins type Buffett but the food was quite good and plentiful
My advise to anyone thinking of staying there don`t.

Room Tip: Book into another Hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mjm102Lancashire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand724, Manager at Grand Hotel Scarborough, responded to this review, June 28, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your comments. All your feedback has been passed to the relevant departments for improvements.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,110 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    559
    1,210
    1,250
    947
    2,144
See reviews for
1,311
2,946
147
135
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2,142)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2012

In spite of its problems the Grand still has a certain character about it which made us return for a Coach Party Twixmas Break. We upgraded to a Premier room and dining facilities after reading previous reviews. The room was fine with a lovely view, nice furniture though it could have done with bedside lamps. I ended up reading my book with a torch! The bed was very comfortable and we both slept well. The radiator made a racket if it was above a certain temperature, and had to be turned down.We were pleased with the room...........until we went down for dinner. We had to queue for quite a while every night. We found the food okay. The dining room felt like a school canteen. Unfortunately like the rest of the hotel it was understaffed.The staff were nice and managed to get through the problem. Some people said that the Harbour Lights Restuarant had less problems than the premier.
All over the hotel people were looking for help to find rooms, and there was no one there to help them. Some of the staff did not have a clue, probably due to lack of training.

I dont think we shall be returning next twixmas.

Room Tip: ask for a room with a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank peter b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand724, Manager at Grand Hotel Scarborough, responded to this review, June 28, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your comments. All your feedback has been passed to the relevant departments for improvements.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2012

Just arrived back from a twixmas break at the Grand,never again .On arrival we were given a room two floors below the ground floor ,we too experienced the stench coming from dirty linen that was lying around in cages in the corridor.When we eventually found our room it was already occupied by other guests,so we went back to reception after having had to carry our luggage up two floors ,none of the lifts were working.The receptionist offered us a room one floor below ground next door to the kitchen and the food storage rooms .I requested a room change even offered to pay for an upgrade but no chance.The air con in the room couldnt be regulated so the room was quite cold ,noise from the kitchen was plentiful and where there was carpet outside the room it was filthy.All that remains for me to say is never again!!!

Room Tip: Check your room location before booking
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andi n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand724, Manager at Grand Hotel Scarborough, responded to this review, June 28, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your comments. All your feedback has been passed to the relevant departments for improvements.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Scarborough hotels

Newcastle, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2012

This was meant to be a special (PREMIER) short break but was a complete disappointment sadly. The worst of it being that I emailed the hotel Operations Manager while I was still resident at the hotel on the 29th December. It is now the 31st and he still has not even acknowledged my email let alone responded to the complaints in it - maybe he thinks a 10% refund is the end of the matter!

I will NOT return to this or any other Britannia hotel - I should have given my money to charity!

In brief :- draughty windows (gaffa taped), leaking roof, queing to eat in premier dining room, cold room, lack of hot water, staff shortages, unhygenic practises and unmanaged staff!

I dread to think what the non-premier experience would be like!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank I C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand724, Manager at Grand Hotel Scarborough, responded to this review, June 28, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your comments. All your feedback has been passed to the relevant departments for improvements.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2012

Stayed for a Twixmas break through local coach company. As it was for 1 night and very in-expensive I was not expecting much but did hope to get a room with windows, I requested a room with a view when booking. At check in even the representative was surprised we had been allocated a turret room! Very nice, quiet, two bedrooms and great views.The bed was very comfortable, firm, but we like that and everything was spotless. Only negative there was a smell of stale smoke.
The service and food was more than adequate and the staff were friendly and efficient, evening entertainment was provided. We were there to witness the bingo fiasco, but that added to the fun seeing people ranting over a game! All in all a good experience particularly as the hotel appeared to be absolutely packed. Would return again as location great.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cazal_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand724, Manager at Grand Hotel Scarborough, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for your comments.
Looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burton Latimer
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2012

Just returned from a Twixmas break and were very disappointed.We booked Premier at greater cost to hopefully get better service, but what a mistake ! The room was very dated and the beds very old and uncomfortable.We did have a sea view and spa bath with luke warm water but that is as far as the difference between Premier and standard goes.On checking in we were told we couldn't have dinner until 19.30 hrs,which we were not happy with so we decided to eat at the other restaurant.We were told we might be able to change our sitting for the next day by asking at breakfast in the Premier restaurant .After dinner on the Thursday evening we just about managed to find a seat in the ballroom for the entertainment.We sat from 18.30 hrs until 21.45 until the entertainment came on.This was a male singer whos act lasted for 45 mins and that was it for the night.(He was ok)
On Friday morning we went down for breakfast at 09.15 am and were not happy when we found that we had to queue for a table in the Premier restaurant as it was full !!! Which was hardly surprising when we found out that it only holds 50 people and tables were not being reset quick enough !!! WHAT A JOKE ! Eventually we were found a table at about 09.40 am we then found hardly anything left to eat so again we were not impressed.When we asked about changing sitting for the Friday evening we were told there would be 3 sitting 17.30/18.45 and 20.00.We came down for dinner at 18.35 to find a queue outside the Premier restaurant which was directly outside the Lifts causing more mayhem ! We waited thinking only for 10mins,but ended up waiting in the queue for 25mins and were told when we were let in that the restaurant sitting did not start til 19.00 ?Again we were not impressed.Then came the evening entertainment ,once again we struggled to find a seat as we were later finishing dinner,but we succceeded eventually.As we got bored the previous night whilst the Bingo was being played we bought some tickets to join in prior to the cabaret.This ended up being another Farce because the bingo machine was not checked by the operator and we played Bingo with it set to 80 instead of 90 which when the mistake eventually was noticed it caused an almighty uproar and funnily enough probably added to the somewhat lacking entertainment,watching on while the staff tried to appease everyone by offering to reset the machine to 90 and play the last flier again whilst ignoring the fact that the other 7 games had been played with only 80 numbers in the machine ! The only answer was to refund everones ticket money.
Again on Saturday morning we had to queue to get into the Premier restaurant and once inside had to wait for 10 mins for some fried eggs to appear from the downstairs kitchens and when they did arrive they were hard not runny! On Saturday evening we booked the first sitting for dinner at 6pm.We still had to queue to get in but when we did the food was very good.The entertainment for Saturday evening was advertised as a male singer on the noticeboard but was strangely removed and C.J. from the entertainment team put on an act which was quite clearly not rehearsed as he was working from a piece of paper !(Although i must say was a very good singer).This seemed strange as they did not explain why the advertised act was not on ? One explanation could possibly be that because of the saga of the Bingo machine on the Friday night the money that would have paid for the Saturday night artiste had been returned to the guests so this had to be covered up. Or the act may not have turned up ?
Sunday morning arrived and we had to be checked out by 10.00 am.We went down for breakfast at 08.45 and again it was full we were told we would have put our names on a list of reserves and sit and wait to be summoned ! This was the the final straw so once again we went downstairs to the other restaurant and had our breakfast before we had to check out. HOORAY NEVER AGAIN !.

Room Tip: Don't go
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank malcmaria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand724, Manager at Grand Hotel Scarborough, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your comments. All your feedback has been passed to the relevant departments for improvements.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2012

This is a long one but it's definitely worth a read!!

In its time I'm sure this was once a grand hotel. However, now it is more reminiscent of a dingy B&B.
Now we only paid £24 for a twin room with breakfast (none of which I ate) so I am a little reluctant to complain, however for those of you wishing to book here I suggest paying that bit extra if you are looking for a relaxing stay.
Some friends and I first arrived around 4pm and were greeted with a rather daunting queue of disgruntled looking guests at the reception desk. Initially we thought we had arrived at a popular time but as we drew closer to the reception desk all became clear. Most of the people in the line were waiting to complain - with quite a variety of issues!
So we finally got allocated our room and keys, which were in fact five floors apart. Not ideal for our reunion from teacher training days.
We had no idea how to get to our rooms and wandered aimlessly back and forth across the lobby. Luckily, we were rescued by an elderly gentleman who had experienced this problem himself and was heroically assisting new guests and other damsels in distress.

The service lift down to the second basement floor didn't exactly instil a sense of security and we slowly descended, hoping that the door would eventually open.
The first thing that hit us as we stepped out of the lift was the nauseating smell of damp. It was unbearable so we were eager to get into our room. Key in, door unlocked and pushed open to reveal not chocolates on the bed but guests under the covers! As you can imagine we were absolutely horrified and embarrassed and sure the people we disturbed felt equally so.

When we returned to the reception desk to explain, the lady behind the desk didn't even seem shocked. In fact, the reaction was so nonchalant I assume this has happened frequently. Eventually an apology was muttered however we were quite gobsmacked with the lack of courtesy shown to us.

Our room was fine. Clean sheets. Relatively clean bathroom. Radiators worked and warmed the room well but hot water was luke warm at best.
No mobile phone signal or wifi access on this level and no phone in room. Not ideal.

Breakfast was entertaining. As I approached the tea and coffee 'self-serve' area I was accosted by a lady who advised me that drinking the coffee was comparable to drain water and if I needed a drink I should go for the tea, but use two tea bags because they were so weak.
Food was standard but less than appetising. As a sausage lover myself I was extremely disappointed when slicing into one to find a mushy pink centre. I tried some of the baked beans but they were rather charred.

All in all an entertaining experience but not for the right reasons. But for the money, can I complain?

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Ktelizabeth85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand724, Manager at Grand Hotel Scarborough, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your comments. All your feedback has been passed to the relevant departments for improvements.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
0.1 mi away
Royal Hotel Scarborough
Royal Hotel Scarborough
#27 of 28 in Scarborough
3.0 of 5 bubbles 2,304 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#6 of 28 in Scarborough
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,624 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Clifton Hotel - Scarborough
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Park Manor Hotel
Park Manor Hotel
#4 of 28 in Scarborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 800 reviews
0.1 mi away
Premier Inn Scarborough Hotel
0.2 mi away
The Esplanade Hotel
The Esplanade Hotel
#19 of 28 in Scarborough
3.5 of 5 bubbles 321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Scarborough? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Scarborough

Property: Grand Hotel Scarborough
Address: St. Nicholas Cliff, Scarborough YO11 2ET, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Scarborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Hotel Scarborough 3*
Number of rooms: 413
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the Town Centre, the Grand Scarborough Hotel takes pride of place overlooking the town's harbour and South Bay. One of the town's landmark features and instantly recognisable on the skyline. Our location is ideal in Scarborough from which to enjoy beautiful sandy beaches, promenade walks and all that Scarborough has to offer, all within a short stroll away. LIVE entertainment is available every night with our dazzling cabaret shows featuring professional dancers and entertainers dressed in stunning costumes. We offer free wifi with all of our public spaces, along with dedicated PC terminals (small charge) for customers who do not bring their own computer. We have a range of meeting rooms, conference space with break out area and our stunning Palm Court Ballroom with majestic views of the south bay for hire, including weddings (ceremony & function). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Hotel Scarborough reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scarborough Grand Hotel
Grand Scarborough
The Grand Hotel Scarborough

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing