We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An Old Lady let it down!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grand Hotel Scarborough
Ranked #28 of 28 Hotels in Scarborough
accrington
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“An Old Lady let it down!!”
Reviewed November 4, 2012

One of Scarborough most famous landmarks.It stand on a superb location overlooking the harbour and the beach,and the first impression wenn you enter and look a the magnific stair case,it give you a most pleasant feeling!! but the rest ...let this Old Lady down,becuse the bed room are very small,and not to clean,the window are dirty(the impression was,that they are not been clean for weecks) and you could not open them! the carpet beside our bed was wet,and was very litle space to move.The food was quite good and clean,the restaurant has a magnific view of the bay,and the service was okay.But the entarteinment was terribil,It was a Bingo for one hour,a young lad singing (very good!) but the rest of the evening(from 10,30 to 1200 it was a orribil lauder music!! considering that the average age was 40-70!! Plus you coul not seat in the big launge (were is the magnific stair case,becouse it was freezing,as the hotel has the main doors open all day.On the end;wuold i go back? maeby just to take fiew Photo!!.

Room Tip: No Idea il guess you must take a chances wenn you arrive,and watch ,becose the reception is very bus...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pizzamaster1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand724, Manager at Grand Hotel Scarborough, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your comments. All your feedback has been passed to the relevant departments for improvements.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,176 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    565
    1,224
    1,262
    958
    2,167
See reviews for
1,330
2,983
150
135
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2,170)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 4, 2012

This is the 5th time I've stopped this year.the hotel is brilliant,its not far from the seaside or town centre.the staff are friendly and helpful.I would recomend this hotel to anyone.the food was nice,and the waiters were friendly.they should have a couple of more porters to help the elderly as I was sitting on the balcony on 1st floor and a old women asked were her room was cause she wasn't told were to go propley so I helped her and she was grateful.the lift next to reception is a service lift but isn't sign posted to say it is.the entertaiment is good.i would stop here again as its a fabulous hotel, I don't know why people complain.there is rooms on -1 , -2 and -3 with no windows but if you get a room like this and don't like it go to reception and say you want to change rooms but don't take it out on the receptionist as its not their fault.I can't wait till I stop here again:-)

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amy_gingex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand724, Manager at Grand Hotel Scarborough, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for your comments.
Looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skegness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2012

We have just had a great time at The Grand Hotel the staff were friendly and helpful. In the restaurant the food was excellent with plenty of choice. The hotel was exceptionaly clean \and our room was large with a four poster bed.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank elkie46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand724, Manager at Grand Hotel Scarborough, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for your comments.
Looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
folkestone
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 3, 2012

I had a 5 night stay at this hotel never again . The actual hotel was full of character and a lovely old building.I was with a coach party ,my room was nice but my friends room was like a broom cupboard .there was a 2ft 6 bed against the wall when you opened the door and a dressing table ,there was no room to undress unless you sat on the bed .when i went to reception there was a que of about 20 people.My friend was offered another room that was down in the dungeons no windows awful place.it smelt .You had to que again for all meals which again was down stairs.The staff were offish everything seemed to be to much trouble ,i would never recommend this hotel ,Fawlty Towers was better run than this place .Avoid room 250 if you suffer with claustrophobia also the dungeons.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank valerie m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand724, Manager at Grand Hotel Scarborough, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your comments. All your feedback has been passed to the relevant departments for improvements.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Scarborough hotels

Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed November 3, 2012

Check in was quick as we were checked in on the coach. Room on the 4th floor was a bit pokey, window wouldn't open but was draughty, room was very clean. Lashings of hot water first day, but only lukewarm for the rest of our stay. Disappointed that there wasn't a shower in the room only a bath and without hot water it was difficult. We did report to reception but nothing was done. Had to ask for loo rolls and milk as these were missed on one daily clean. Food was of a good standard, however the "free for all" at meal times wasn't my particular cuppa, however this can be avoided by having early breakfast and later dinner.

One beef is the lifts...one very rude young employee shouted at an elderly guest for daring to use the "service lift" by the ramp, (there are no notices anywhere to say it is a service lift). The doors wouldn't close, then wouldn't open and they creaked alarmingly.

All in all we got basically what we paid for apart from the hot water and missing loo rolls, but we won't be visiting the tired old Grand again.

Room Tip: Apparently the Terrace rooms are the best ones.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Moonlight340
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand724, Manager at Grand Hotel Scarborough, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your comments. All your feedback has been passed to the relevant departments for improvements.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2012

When we arrived there were long queues at Reception and the Lobby was very cold.It was very difficult to find a parking space near the hotel which cost £6-00 per day to park.The bath water was temperate and the jacuzzi never worked.The meals left a lot to be desired.The Hotel will not accept credit cards for wine parking etc. (how old fashioned).The only plus side was that the rooms were clean.We had Premier DIning , the Hotel management need to get a dictionary to get the definition of the word Premier.

Room Tip: Find another Hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Peter R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand724, Manager at Grand Hotel Scarborough, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your comments. All your feedback has been passed to the relevant departments for improvements.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mummybelle
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2012

just returned from 3 nights at grand hotel, scarborough went on my own its my 4th stop and found everything just as good booked holiday through brittanias own website and as a loyalty crd holder when i checked in i got a 25pound voucher of my next stay. booked a double saver room for single use had a double bed and had a jacuzzi bath with shower overhead. arrived at hotel at 1.30 checked in straight away no problem friendly reception staff. found evening meal and breakfast to be a good choice of foods evening entertainment so as i was travelling alone i didnt have to leave hotel at nights. hotel is central to town centre the beach,lovely walks

Room Tip: i wouldnt go to one of the basement rooms myself as i wouldnt like to not have a window
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mummybelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand724, Manager at Grand Hotel Scarborough, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for your comments.
Looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
0.1 mi away
Royal Hotel Scarborough
Royal Hotel Scarborough
#27 of 28 in Scarborough
3.0 of 5 bubbles 2,327 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#6 of 28 in Scarborough
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,752 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Clifton Hotel - Scarborough
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Park Manor Hotel
Park Manor Hotel
#4 of 28 in Scarborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 817 reviews
0.1 mi away
Premier Inn Scarborough Hotel
0.2 mi away
The Esplanade Hotel
The Esplanade Hotel
#19 of 28 in Scarborough
3.5 of 5 bubbles 325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Scarborough? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Scarborough

Property: Grand Hotel Scarborough
Address: St. Nicholas Cliff, Scarborough YO11 2ET, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Scarborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Hotel Scarborough 3*
Number of rooms: 413
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the Town Centre, the Grand Scarborough Hotel takes pride of place overlooking the town's harbour and South Bay. One of the town's landmark features and instantly recognisable on the skyline. Our location is ideal in Scarborough from which to enjoy beautiful sandy beaches, promenade walks and all that Scarborough has to offer, all within a short stroll away. LIVE entertainment is available every night with our dazzling cabaret shows featuring professional dancers and entertainers dressed in stunning costumes. We offer free wifi with all of our public spaces, along with dedicated PC terminals (small charge) for customers who do not bring their own computer. We have a range of meeting rooms, conference space with break out area and our stunning Palm Court Ballroom with majestic views of the south bay for hire, including weddings (ceremony & function). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Grand Hotel Scarborough reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scarborough Grand Hotel
Grand Scarborough
The Grand Hotel Scarborough

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing