We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly owner, perfect for a weekend break.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Derwent House Hotel
Ranked #42 of 182 Scarborough B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Friendly owner, perfect for a weekend break.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2013

We went on a little impromptu weekend break to Scarborough and booked the Derwent about 6 hours before we packed our bags. The hotel is in a good location, it's a short walk to the sea front and there are some nice pubs and restaurants within rolling distance.
The owner was really nice and accommodating, rooms were basic but clean and had everything you'd want for a short break.Breakfast was spot on with a perfect poached egg on toast being delivered about 3 minutes after ordering. What more do you want for £96 for two people for two nights. £24 per person per night!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank LastV8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

236 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    163
    44
    21
    4
    4
See reviews for
66
110
12
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2013

stayed 2 nights carol and keith were lovely people we would go back again the honesty bar was a brilliant idea the room was great the breackfast was great we could not fault anything the views were spectacular the bars and restaurants also great will and jenny

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jennifer l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2013

This was out first overnight stay in scarborough and chose this hotel because of good reviews and it didn't disappoint. Really good value for money. Just the one night stay had everything we needed, comfy bed and good ensuite facilities. The lady owner was nice and served us a great full English and plenty of coffee. Would be happy to stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Bolanfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northallerton,United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2013

Stayed here for 1 night - which this guest house offers compared to the many in Scarborough which make you stay for a minimum of 2 nights. We had a a big family room (Room11) on the top floor with lovely views of North Bay.It was a wild and windy February day and the waves were amazing to look at. The room was spacious, clean and comfy with an extra oil filed radiator (found in the wardrobe) to use on chilly nights and had lovely fresh,clean bed linen on all the beds.Good ensuite shower room. We liked the honesty bar and it was well stocked with a good selection. Great idea! The hotel itself was well situated for shops and seafront. Breakfast was good and plentiful with a good choice. Service was great and very friendly, given full set of keys for all the doors to the hotel and there were no rules to abide by. The owner was very friendly and welcoming and issued us with a free on street car permit for 2 days once checked in and let us find our own way to our room which we liked.I would recommend this guest house and will hopefully return in the future.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view - great views Ask for a top floor room too as nobody above you and hardly anyon...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Caroline R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Easingwold, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2013

Stayed for 2 nights between xmas and new year with my wife and 2 teenage boys and got a really cheap price. Couldnt fault the hotel. The owner was lovely and nothing was too much trouble. The rooms we booked were spacious and nicely decorated, The breakfasts were outstanding and plentiful. Really nice touch was the large lounge and honesty bar serving cold beer and crisps sweets pop etc which our boys loved. Great location and we had a great bargain break. Would recommend the Tikka Tikka Indian restaurant nearby also superb! Many thanks and will use again.

Room Tip: 1 attic room is a bit small..
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
14 Thank DarrenChild
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
milton keynes
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2012

We have just come back from a 2 night stay at the Derwent House Hotel. We had a family room, with a wonderful sea view, which our 3 year old grandson couldnt stop looking at!! Our room was room 8 and was clean and tidy with a spacious en suite, again very clean. The lady who ran this establishment was very kind and welcoming from the moment we checked in till we left. Breakfast was delicious and plentiful. We would definitely stay again and highly recommend this bed and breakfast.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank julieandglen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2012

I have stopped here twice now and intend to go back again. Our room was lovely with fantastic views over North bay. The bathroom was very spacious and all very clean.
The hosts were great & very welcoming. The breakfast is freshly cooked and plenty of it. It's in easy walking distance of any of Scraboroughs attractions, I would highly recommend you stay here.

Room Tip: I would definitely have room 8
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank Sharron H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
0.0 mi away
Miricia
Miricia
#39 of 182 in Scarborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 210 reviews
0.1 mi away
La Baia Hotel
La Baia Hotel
#7 of 182 in Scarborough
5.0 of 5 bubbles 526 reviews
0.3 mi away
Airedale Guest House
Airedale Guest House
#71 of 182 in Scarborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Villa Marina
Villa Marina
#31 of 182 in Scarborough
5.0 of 5 bubbles 97 reviews
0.1 mi away
Selomar Hotel
Selomar Hotel
#29 of 182 in Scarborough
5.0 of 5 bubbles 447 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Paragon
The Paragon
#66 of 182 in Scarborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Derwent House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Derwent House Hotel

Property: Derwent House Hotel
Address: Queens Parade | Queens Parade, Scarborough YO12 7JB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Casino and Gambling Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 182 B&Bs / Inns in Scarborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Derwent House Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Book Direct Rooms, Travelocity and HotelQuickly so you can book your Derwent House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing