We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A lovely experience” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Emma's coffee lounge

Emma's coffee lounge
Ranked #5 of 30 Coffee & Tea in Scarborough
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cafe, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A lovely experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2014

As a teen, I tend to spend lots of my time in coffee shops, mainly the big chains like Costa, and while I was wandering round Scarborough on a short break with my family and was begging for a coffee. Costa's was really packed, so it was suggested that we find somewhere else, and as fate had it, we found Emma's coffee lounge! As soon as I walked in I loved it! The place was beautifully decorated, the service was lovely and my caramel latte was delicious!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank RobynMW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sophia3011, Owner at Emma's coffee lounge, responded to this review, August 29, 2014
Oh what a lovely review and one up for all us independents who try so hard! To win over a young person like yourself makes all the staff very proud. Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    81
    20
    3
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Scarborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Emma's Coffee Lounge My Shopping Break ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2014 via mobile

This is my regular break from shopping in Scarborough. The staff are always very friendly and the service is quick. Lovely coffee with a toasted tea cake.

Helpful?
1 Thank Laphroiag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sophia3011, Owner at Emma's coffee lounge, responded to this review, September 3, 2014
Sorry I seem to have missed replying to your review and as you say we are your regular shopping break no doubt you have visited us since your review. Hope all is still well with our service and you are still enjoying the coffee and teacake.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Very friendly”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2014

As a family we have been going to Emmas for over 18 years and have always been met with a warm greeting the food is excellent jacket potatoes are oven baked not microwaved cakes apple pies and such like all baked on the premises sandwiches made to order so if you visit scarborough call at Emmas you won't be disappointed

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Irene B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sophia3011, Owner at Emma's coffee lounge, responded to this review, January 23, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review Emma's, we must be getting something right if you have been visiting us for 18 years! Is that a record? We are always pleased when people enjoy our food and service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“are saturdays at emmas restaurant by dereck and val”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2014

me and my wife visit emmas every saturday and the food is excellent the staff are very friendly we have been visiting emmas for the last 20 years and me and my wife have to disagree with the last review but i suppose you all ways get one but if you want a grate cup of coffee our tea and something to eat then you must go to emmas you will not be disappointed

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank michael t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sophia3011, Owner at Emma's coffee lounge, responded to this review, January 23, 2014
Thank you for your kind words we love to see people each week and catch up on all their news, and we are pleased you enjoy our company!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Excellent food and service :-)”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2014 via mobile

We visited this coffee shop for a quick snack in January. My son who is a rather fussy eater cleaned his plate. I had the the home made soup which was lovely and perfect warmer for a cold day. I found the staff very warm and friendly. I have to disagree with the last review but I suppose you can't please everyone!!

Helpful?
Thank siphoenix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sophia3011, Owner at Emma's coffee lounge, responded to this review, January 23, 2014
Thank you, it is good to hear that we can get it right some of the time. We are pleased your son enjoyed his meal, children can be our the greatest critics of food, so we are especially pleased to have his response!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Emma's coffee lounge also viewed

Scarborough, Scarborough District
Scarborough, Scarborough District
 
Scarborough, Scarborough District
Scarborough, Scarborough District
 

Been to Emma's coffee lounge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing